We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the old town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Demeure Saint Louis
Ranked #28 of 53 Carcassonne B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 August 2016

We stayed one night on our way home. The house is beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean.IThe main selling point for us was its proximity to the mediaeval city (10 minute walk) and also close to the footbridge across the river to the rest of Carcassonne. Our bedroom had a great view of the city, spectacularly illuminated at night. The proprietor, Bernard, was really helpful signposting us to a good restaurant. We'd certainly return

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2016 via mobile

I'm surprised by some of the negative reviews I've read re this place as our own experience was very positive. In fact my daughters favourite place to stay so far on our trip to France.

The place is ideally located - a short walk up hill to the medieval village and only 5-10 mins as well from the Bastide.

The gardens are very tranquil which is nice to come back to after a number of hours walking and exploring.

The host was very helpful in suggesting both restaurants as well as places to visit during our stay.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2016

Room was just lovely. Very big. Bathroom excellent. Great Wi-fi. Breakfast was included in tariff and gave good choices for a continental style breakfast, served in the dining room. But the location was superb, only 10 minutes from the medieval city and 10 minutes from the centre of Carcassonne. Very easy to walk. Market day in the central square is a must! Bernard, our host, was very welcoming (despite the fact that we were nearly three hours late due to our train being delayed), friendly and helpful. Only small problem was having to pay for our stay in cash.

Room Tip: Our room was downsfairs, facing the garden so very quiet. Other rooms upstairs have stunning views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Robyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2016

The design, decoration and soft furnishings in our jumbo room were a delight and made it a cosy base after a day's exploring.
The large and sunny rear garden was a great place to relax
Bernard was full of helpful advice and his restaurant recommendations were spot on.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2016

First visit to Carcassonne flying direct from Glasgow. I visit inspired by playing the board game Carcassonne for five years. Beautiful renovated old house. Lovely garden which we were encouraged to use.
Quite charming. Very warm and hospitable host agree with last reviewer helpful but descrete. Old world elegance with furniture and ornaments, and lovely china. House in perfect location between medieval city and via footbridge to old/ modern town. Host very helpful with maps, pointing out good places to visit and eat. An overall lovely stay with a charming helpful professional host.

Stayed: April 2016
1  Thank SmithysHaddington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2016

We were made to feel really welcome when we arrived at this fantastic B&B. I booked a family room with 2 bedrooms which was very impressive. The car was safe in their locked car park which meant I didn't have to worry about the box on the top. It was a 5 min walk to the old Cite and 5 minute walk to the new town. I will definitely book in again when we visit the region and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The family room was really comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adrian-Derbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2015 via mobile

This was our first trip to Carcassonne and we were just staying the one night. The house is exquisit, and in a fantastic location close to the Medieval City. M.Bernard was a wonderful host, extremely welcoming and a true gentleman. He gave us some great recommendations for restaurants and was the perfect mix of helpful and discrete. Truly can't understand the negative reviews on here. Rooms are spacious and beautifully appointed, beds lovely and comfortable and communal areas lovely. Would fully recommend to anyone who can appreciate fine taste, comfort, and an overall lovely stay.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank jesshowell440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
3.0 km away
Le Domaine d'Auriac
Le Domaine d'Auriac
#5 of 39 in Carcassonne
349 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#10 of 39 in Carcassonne
804 reviews
3.3 km away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
0.5 km away
Best Western Hotel Le Donjon
0.2 km away
Maison Vieille B&B
Maison Vieille B&B
#27 of 53 in Carcassonne
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Demeure Saint Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Demeure Saint Louis

Address: 2 rue Michel Sabatier, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Carcassonne
Price Range: $131 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Demeure Saint Louis 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Demeure Saint-Louis, in Carcassonne, is a guest house of charm in the Aude, at the foot of the city of Carcassonne and 5 min from downtown. Stylish 19th-century Master's House, entirely renovated; the residence retains the charm of old houses. "Sabatier," "Side Garden" and "Troubadour," three rooms of great standing, are at your disposal with 160 cm beds, bathroom and WC, color TV, internet access, air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Demeure Saint Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing