We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place to Begin our Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Demeure Saint Louis
Reviewed 19 July 2017

Our group booked 5 rooms at this B&B for three nights. Everyone was impressed with the cleanliness and spaciousness of their rooms, as well as with the decor. The rooms were furnished in antique style. Gracious host. Substantial and fresh breakfast. Large cups of coffee. Quiet. Relaxing garden. Quick access to la cite on foot, but away from the tourist frenzy. Enjoyable restaurants one street over. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
Thank thinktravelCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2017

Being a property manager might get old. One might grow tired of the demands of travelers. But bed linens should not be so dusty as to billow dust when pulled back, nor so piled that they feel like sandpaper. The manager was rude and uncooperative. Best part was the garden, and proximity to the old city.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dale H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017

I booked this b&b last minute as i had decided to visit carcassone. The rooms looked amazing from the pics and the price was quite decent and even included breakfast.
Arriving there was quite easy, its quite centrally located only a short walk from the medieval town, check in was pretty easy, the interiors of the house was very beautiful and classic with many antiques. Upon being shown my room, i was very impressed they were even bigger and better than the pictures. Amazing taste for decoration, the bathroom was especially good. Ok, so now bear with me, you have to know one thing about me... i only stay in places with air conditioning as i feel very hot very easily and if i don't feel "cool" enough i cant sleep properly. Well, in the website advertised the place as having air con and there it was the air con, i asked for the owner to explain my how it worked and he said it was already turned on. THERE, there i began to suspect...the room was quite warm and i couldn't hear any noise at all regarding the air con. i stayed in the room for some minutes and the room didn't get any colder, so i tried to fiddle a bit with the wall controller of the air con..and i put it in the max temperature (17 degrees) and still warm room... the temperature outside was 24 degrees which for me its quite warm, so i wanted to be in a colder place. No matter what i did the air con didn't turn on, it didn't make any sounds it was actually working, so i went even further and searched online for the manual for that specific model and i found it...there i got even more angry.... The sign i was seeing in the screen of the controller indicated that my air con unit and all others were being "controlled" by a main controller, so basically what it meant was that no matter what i changed on my controller it wouldn't matter as i didn't have the power to change. So here i get the idea, i am feeling hot i could have actually had an air con to cool myself but the owner of the place felt i didn't need it and basically kept it off. I called him again and he came to my room and said air con was working but again i could't hear not even a noise on the air con, now i would have raised the whole issue with him but he barely spoke any english...so i just left it. But again it was warm, so i had to open the windows to feel decent enough so i could stay in the room. So, i sent a text message in translated french to his phone asking if he could help that my air con wasn't working and i couldn't sleep without a proper cool room but i didn't get even a reply, i sent 3 text messages. After all this i was furious so i tried to see if there was any way to book another place last minute but all other places booked out. so i just left the window opened and prayed at night it would be cooler and some breeze would come in. Thankfully it did so i could sleep decently enough but if it was proper summertime i wouldn't be able to do so as it would be much hotter and if i left the window opened too many insects would come in. Now, i understand it might not be hot for him or maybe for other guests but for me it was and on the website it clearly advertised as having air conditioning so i thought i would be able to use the air conditioning provided. So on all this i felt a bit cheated, as it was clearly false advertising on their part and the lack of empathy and help from the host made the issue that more disappointing. So it became very clear the air con is only turned on when the owner feels its hot enough but hot for him might extremely hot for me and hot for me might be cold for him and so on, each person has their own perception of heat. I had decided i was going to stay an extra day in carcassone, so i booked another place for the next night, as i couldn't possibly stay there. Breakfast was quite good considering, nice to have all the guests sitting on a big table and interacting. but the air con issue just messed the whole thing up for me, don't get me wrong this is an issue so easy to fix, he can just turn his controller off and let everyone to be able to control their air cons. A great place with lot of potential but a big let down. but if for you having an air con is not a big deal and you are satisfied with having the windows open, then thats ok, thats an amazing place. I got a room with a view of the medieval town, amazing view, looks especially nice at night. Their garden is really lovely too. Would have given 5 stars if not for the big let down. (wifi was quite fast). I would have given 3.5 out of 5 stars if i had the option.

Room Tip: get the room with the big red bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rodolpho G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2017

Me and my boyfriend stayed in this lovely B&B back in March of this year. It was our first night after we arrived at Carcassonne Airport. We had a beautiful room with big windows and a view to remember of the pond and greenery. The bathroom was modern and clean, and the shower was just perfect and nearly too good to step out of. The breakfast was great and the staff absolutely accommodating. Could've stayed longer than one night.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2017 via mobile

This place is right out of the story books. High ceilings, beautiful antiquated charm.
Pluses: great breakfast
Perfect location for the castle and the city
In room fridge and safe
PARKING

Minuses: WIFI
Hard horrible bed and lousy pillows. Ancient, threadbare bed linens with an old wool blanket. CLEAN?
No elevator, 2 huge flights of stairs to drag the bags up- no one offered to help. We got the cleaner to hoist 1.
No host to greet us, even tho he insisted on specific checkin times which we met. The cleaner( w/ not much English!) Did an amazing job to get us into the property with the codes for the parking and the hotel. She was stellar. Much friendlier than the actual host and his partner.
EARLY am ( and still dark) , quite LONG garbage collection right outside our windows. Woke us on our second morning.

I don't think there's many options here in Carcassonne for the fab location, great breakfast, and PARKING! It's so worth it just to get the parking. Beware- the GPS doesnt like finding this place. It's exactly on the right over the bridge coming from the main city!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Hafkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2017

We spent three nights at this very comfortable and well appointed B&B. Our room was large, well decorated and though at the front of the house, very quiet. The room had lots of storage, a large bathroom with a bath and shower hose, which we found very convenient. There was also free Wifi, a fridge, mini-bar and room safe.
The house is secure, with coded keypad entry at the front door and to the garden area for parking.
The continental breakfast had a wide selection of bread, croissants, cereals, ham, cheese and yoghourts; it was ample with which to start to the day.
The central location is just five minutes walk from the old bridge, which takes you to the 'newer' part of Carcassonne or turn the other way for a 10 minute walk uphill to the old walled city.
We found Bernard the host to be charming and very helpful with advice regarding places to eat and places to go. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mikey1304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2016

We has 3 fabulous nights at this beautifully restored house. I had the front bedroom with the bath and could not fault the room. It overlooks the main road but I could not here any traffic and the air conditioning meant there was no need to open the windows if it was hot. The window in the huge bathroom was a bonus. The host was very helpful with restaurant recommendations and booking a taxi to the railway station on our day of departure. Great position between The Cite and Ville Basse. Breakfast varied enough to eat different things on each if our mornings. Would love to go back.

Room Tip: Ground floor room with bath us gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Downtotheriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne Center hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
809 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#2 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
520 reviews
5.2 km away
Aux Anges Gardiens
Aux Anges Gardiens
#4 of 52 in Carcassonne Center
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Ecuries de Sainte-Croix
Ecuries de Sainte-Croix
#22 of 52 in Carcassonne Center
126 reviews
0.4 km away
La Demeure de la Cite
La Demeure de la Cite
#30 of 52 in Carcassonne Center
38 reviews
0.2 km away
Bloc G
Bloc G
#24 of 52 in Carcassonne Center
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Demeure Saint Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Demeure Saint Louis

Address: 2 rue Michel Sabatier, 11000 Carcassonne Center, Carcassonne, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne > Carcassonne Center
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Carcassonne Center
Price Range: $139 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Demeure Saint Louis 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Demeure Saint-Louis, in Carcassonne, is a guest house of charm in the Aude, at the foot of the city of Carcassonne and 5 min from downtown. Stylish 19th-century Master's House, entirely renovated; the residence retains the charm of old houses. "Sabatier," "Side Garden" and "Troubadour," three rooms of great standing, are at your disposal with 160 cm beds, bathroom and WC, color TV, internet access, air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Demeure Saint Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing