We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but not a lace you would like to stay long”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Mercure Montpellier Centre Antigone
Ranked #33 of 93 Hotels in Montpellier
Reviewed 22 February 2017

I spent one night there and despite it is OKish I didn't feel like I want to go back. The atmosphere in the hall and bar is not very cosy (looks like a very sad railway station buffet, not a positive thing in France).
The breakfast was nice, but lack of people (one person only) to clean the tables.
The room far too hot with no ability to change the settings so we had to open the window all night (not very planet friendly) and hooking the lamps and cables to the furniture makes you feel like in jail.
Positive thing is the parking (you have to pay).

Room Tip: Room over the court yard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Didier C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (555)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 555 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2017 via mobile

Location was pretty nice but hotel pretty wearn out, rooms too hot and rather noisy. Breakfast quite standard and other food services not remarkable. Service ok, but not spectacular. Two tramlines and position next to river and on the right side to airport make location ok. Certainly not level of 4-star ranking.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
Thank Pasi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2016

The Mercure hotel is located close to the city center and the shopping mall. It takes 15-20 minutes' walk to the old medical school. Rooms are relatively small. Comfort is basic. Breakfast is rich and of a good quality

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sarasagiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2016

We have visited this Mercure hotel for a week long business trip. It is located right across the street from the final stop of the airport transfer bus and in the Antigone quarter. The hotel makes an overall good impression, while the interior could be updated in some points. The price is around the local average, but in general I would have expected a bit more for the money. This is especially true for the breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fspanier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2016 via mobile

This hotel does not reflect my normal expectations of MERCURE - the hotel is looking tired, with out-of-date decoration, style and services. There is a strange smell in some of the lobby areas which appears to be an attempt to freshen up the carpets

For example, there are no suitable sockets in bedroom for recharging mobile devices - we were given an extension lead by a member of the very helpful and polite staff.

The bedrooms and general areas are acceptable but refurbishment will have to be done soon to keep customers; although the location will always be popular adjacent to the tram and city centre

One suggestion would be to record car registration numbers on booking in to help with any parking problems

Overall for business would use again but I am sure MERCURE would get a good response to any investment in the hotel

Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

Ok its clean, safe and very quiet despite its location on the corner of a busy intersection.

Quite honestly I don't know how these hotel chains survive any longer. This hotel is a typical example of an ageing European stock of below par lodging.

It looks to me like it was last updated in the early 90's. In my room I had a picture of a Matador facing my bed with blood trickling down his costume. I'm not squeamish but I don't want to see that last thing at night and first thing in the morning, not very inspiring.

The air conditioning didn't have any relevant temperature markings only 1, 2 or 3. Does that heat my room or chill my room? I was already too cold to experiment.

The two main table lamps next to the bed could only be turned on or off by a switch on a wall on the opposite side of the room from them. If you use your smart phone as an alarm and need to charge it overnight, forget it the plug points are too far away for the phone to be located next to the bed whilst charging.

The bathroom and toilet looked dated, and the wardrobe had curtains to block the view of your clothes.

Finally, the TV has only CNN or BBC World News as the two English speaking channels. I think that as a chain they need to have more English speaking TV channels for the business traveller.

Would stay somewhere else next time.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
Thank Newinnman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2016

The hotel is in the convenient area, not too close to the old town, quite a walk to there especially if you have small children. But is a very nice and quite walk. There is tram line near by that make easy to go move around.
Hotel is in Ok status but i wouldnt say is a 4 star hotel, maybe a long time ago. the service and the reception very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gabriela O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montpellier hotels
Comédie
Ibis Styles Montpellier Centre Comedie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Suites Montpellier
#38 of 93 in Montpellier
745 reviews
Citadines Montpellier Antigone
#18 of 93 in Montpellier
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mercure Montpellier Centre Antigone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mercure Montpellier Centre Antigone

Address: 285 bld de l'aeroport International-Antigone, 34 000, Montpellier, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Herault > Montpellier
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Montpellier
Price Range: $106 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mercure Montpellier Centre Antigone 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Montpellier city center and close to the beaches, the 4-star Mercure Montpellier Centre Antigone hotel is just a stone's throw away from the Place de la Comédie and the Odysseum leisure center. If on business, you will appreciate the proximity of our hotel to the Corum business district, the conference center and the Arena. Enjoy relaxing on the restaurant patio and sample our tasty menu, combining sophistication and Mediterranean notes. Satisfaction guaranteed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Mercure Montpellier Centre Antigone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Montpellier Antigone Hotel Montpellier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing