We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Hotel needs overhaul!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Mercure Montpellier Centre Antigone
Ranked #31 of 93 Hotels in Montpellier
Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

It has to be said that the location was great for getting around even though we had a car which we parked in the basement at €10 per day.

The staff were friendly and helpful but that was about it.

The hotel's interior was seriously outdated. Examples include cellotape on the walls to mend the wallpaper, lots of dust between surfaces and in corners, a musky smell on the carpet in the corridor, cheap plastic toilet seat on a small toilet, no working ventilation in the toilet, a couple of grubby corners in the bathtub/shower. The bathtub and shower is small for tall people.

The toilet smelt of stale urine because of the old plastic seat and the lack of ventilation - air conditioning in the toilet did not seem to work. The little fridge in the room was barely cold and practically useless. The wardrobe is a corner with railings and a curtain.

Positives included clean sheets and towels. The air conditioning in the main room did work albeit at a set temperature.

I wished I had listened to trip advisor reviews before booking. This hotel is  not of a four star standard and needs a major overhaul. I do not stay in establishments with less than 4 stars and this place in my view is not worth 4 stars of any country's rating!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Family4Holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (581)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 581 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

Absolutely the best location, we took the airport shuttle bus 120 and stop is outside of the hotel. Took us 20 minutes total from the airport to check in. Great rooms, good choice of Breakfast, clean, quiet area. And top location, just walk to old town literally less than 10minutes. Would recommend to anyone.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Zdenico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017 via mobile

Got sent here for a night stop due to a cancelled flight. Was pleasantly surprised with how nice it was for the fact we didn't get to choose. The food was decent, breakfast good too. Good bar with lots of choice and nice spacious air conditioned rooms. Would be happy to stay again if we're in Montpellier.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017 via mobile

Awful. The "yellow room" was the term of endearment we gave our hotel room. Carpet was green & I put on my shoes every time I gad to let me feet touch it. Air conditioning - see photo, 3 options 0, 1, 2 & 3. With a 1970's switch. Bar had no music & terrible selection of beers. Extra for breakfast. I'd say my self boiling eggs are still only warming up 10hrs later. Staff - lots around, none of which helpful or make eye contact. Door handles at least 30 years old and difficult to use. Shower fine if you're 5ft tall and don't mind soaking the floor as there isn't a shower curtain. Didn't try dinner here, was happier & safer eating my crackers in my "yellow room".

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017 via mobile

Stayed here two evenings while on a work course locally. The hotel is rather large, rooms a bit dated and tired looking with regards to decor but perfectly functional. Good king size bed with comfy pillows, tea and coffee making facilities with biscuits. The breakfast for me was the best part, excellent selection of cold and hot food, pastry selection, pancakes, lots of fresh fruit, good herbal tea selection and cooked breakfast if you desired.
Location right in the centre and although we didn't get much chance to explore we did find that there was a fair few restaurants around within walking distance for a bit of variety in the evening

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
Thank LeeLee883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017 via mobile

It's like I've travelled across Europe and ended up somewhere where shops after 6pm are banned.

Arrived at about 11:30, due to the trains deciding not to want to leave on time for no reason, no explanation.
Bar was closed. Restaurant was closed. No shop (or if there was - it was closed) - so couldn't even buy a drink and a packet of crisps after travelling for 12 hours with nothing to eat (no shops open at the train stations I visited, either!). Extremely poorly stocked minibar. Iron that came to my room looked like someone had been ironing treacle.

Wish I'd have booked into the Novotel 100m away.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
Thank 14-anorak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2017

Apart the position, a bit far from the city center (but this is not their fault), the hotel is good, clean, rooms are good and the structure all in all is quite handy. Breakfast was quite expensive and luckly we found a good offer. In that case price was quite reasonable respect to the average!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Antony_MC_06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montpellier hotels
0.1 km away
Novotel Suites Montpellier
Novotel Suites Montpellier
#34 of 93 in Montpellier
776 reviews
0.9 km away
Best Western Hotel Eurociel Centre Comedie
0.9 km away
Ibis Montpellier Centre Comedie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Courtyard Marriott Montpellier
Courtyard Marriott Montpellier
#14 of 93 in Montpellier
493 reviews
2.1 km away
Novotel Montpellier
Novotel Montpellier
#21 of 93 in Montpellier
900 reviews
1.2 km away
Grand Hotel Du Midi
Grand Hotel Du Midi
#6 of 93 in Montpellier
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mercure Montpellier Centre Antigone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mercure Montpellier Centre Antigone

Address: 285 bld de l'aeroport International-Antigone, 34000, Montpellier, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Herault > Montpellier
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Montpellier
Price Range: $129 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mercure Montpellier Centre Antigone 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Montpellier city center and close to the beaches, the 4-star Mercure Montpellier Centre Antigone hotel is just a stone's throw away from the Place de la Comédie and the Odysseum leisure center. If on business, you will appreciate the proximity of our hotel to the Corum business district, the conference center and the Arena. Enjoy relaxing on the restaurant patio and sample our tasty menu, combining sophistication and Mediterranean notes. Satisfaction guaranteed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mercure Montpellier Centre Antigone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Montpellier Antigone Hotel Montpellier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing