We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best: its location”
Review of Hotel d'Angleterre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel d'Angleterre
Ranked #84 of 93 Hotels in Montpellier
Reviewed 6 October 2015

Right in the middle of the city, near all attractions, this hotel should not be expected to offer more than the basic: plain room with a private bathroom, but no shower curtain, no hairdryer, no parking nearby. Though at reception you'll read that both Spanish and English are spoken, nobody does, only French!
But it's clean and, above all, greatly situated!!

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rita Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2014 via mobile

A wonderful Hotel close to the Train Station with a magic closeness to everything. Very good Value for the Stay. Listening to radio Nostalgy in the morning after a typical french breakfast served with smiles. What Else ?

  • Stayed: November 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frederic s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2014 via mobile

The main benefit of this hotel is that it's situated 2 mins walk away from the central station.

We were able to check in earlier than the stated time and were greeted by an elderly woman who knew English fairly well. Check in was a breeze and we went up the spiral staircase to find our room.

For the price we paid, the room had everything that we needed besides a hair dryer (which was stated on the website). The bed was pretty small considering it was for two people yet it was fairly comfy and clean. The bathroom was a good size but the bath fitting was pretty poor and the sealant was rotten and could easily cause a leak. On the bright side we were able to have two hot baths.

The room we were given happened to be right next to the laundry room/ top of the stairs so it was impossible to get any sleep. The hallway had no carpet and the noises echoed around the hall. Earplugs would have solved this mind but we weren't prepared for this.

On the whole, we got what we paid for and the short sweet service was good enough for the two of us. Great for a pit stop and plenty of nice restraints near by.

Average all over.

2/5

Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lloyd J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2014

We stayed here as a young couple for 3 nights, and as frequent budget-hotel dwellers, we thought we knew what to expect. Nothing could prepare us for what we were faced with in our room.

Clusters of hair stuck to the walls, damp stains running down the wallpaper, red handprints on the wall and dirt every where. The skirting boards had inches of grime I'm sure even the cleaners wouldn't tackle.

The bed, we discovered as we tucked ourselves in for the night, was broken to the point of collapsing in the middle and you could see the stuffing hanging out of it. Looking under the bed proved a disaster, where the inches of dirt and grime prospered.

I am genuinely surprised that this place has not been shut down by the health and hygiene department.

Breakfast was poor value at €7 for bread and coffee. The shower was simply awful- essentially a leaking tap with a shower head shoved on the end.

The two stars I have given this place overall are simply for the fantastic location in the centre of montpellier and 10 minutes from the train station.

My advice? Stay well clear of here and pay more, simply for your own peace of mind.

  • Stayed: September 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daisy_Leeds7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2014

This hotel is dirty, carpeting disgusting and hotel needs to be visited by the health and cleanliness departments.

Stayed for one night in August 2014. The room that was given to us was so dirty, you did not want to walk on the carpeting without your shoes. Stains and discussing spots everywhere. Bugs and dirty as well in the bar. Wifi never worked. Spend a bit more and stay elsewhere for your own piece of mind. We asked for another room and the hotel was full and they could not move us. First night of holidays in Montpellier disaster and that will not reimburse. That is not the way to treat clients

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ellenwahab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We didn't expect luxury for the price but oh my goodness, cleanliness would have been nice. The toilet and bath were disgusting ground in dirt - beyond the cleaner's best efforts. Walls in the bedroom grubby. Stairs a nightmare and staircase dark. The bed was actually comfortable though! And the window looked new double glazing.
Pity, as the hotel is a few minutes walk from the station and right next to Le Comedie so it could be a little goldmine with some tlc and modernisation. Hotel couple of doors down was cheaper and bright and modern. Shame.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Lena3287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Very central hotel. 45 stairs to the room with large suitcases- a no no. .however we didn't pay for luxury so what can you expect. The room was clean and adequate albeit very tired and shabby.
Staff were helpful and co-operative. 32o made it very hot , but again we could have paid for a better equipped place with air con. Recommended if you are on a budget.

Room Tip: First floor if you have luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montpellier hotels
2.6 km away
Halt Hotel
Halt Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lattes
67 reviews
0.3 km away
Best Western Hotel Eurociel
Best Western Hotel Eurociel
#2 of 93 in Montpellier
879 reviews
3.9 km away
Domaine de Verchant
Domaine de Verchant
#1 of 2 in Castelnau-le-Lez
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 km away
Le Domaine du Golf - Fabregues
12.4 km away
Hotel Disini
Hotel Disini
#1 of 3 in Castries
306 reviews
4.9 km away
Ibis Budget Montpellier sud Lattes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Angleterre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Angleterre

Address: 7 rue Maguelone, 34000, Montpellier, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Herault > Montpellier > Comédie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 93 Hotels in Montpellier
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel d'Angleterre 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel d'Angleterre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d Angleterre Hotel Montpellier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing