We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and basic”
Review of Hotel des Arts

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel des Arts
Ranked #54 of 93 Hotels in Montpellier
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice and basic”
Reviewed 3 September 2011

We stayed here at the beginning of August for 3 nights as a base to see Montpellier and surrounds. Whilst the rooms were fairly basic they were clean, the staff were friendly and it was a great location - a 2 minute walk from the main square, train station and city bike hire place.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    42
    25
    8
    5
See reviews for
13
35
11
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Clean, convenient and friendly. Extremely handy for the railway station and the main attractions of a delightful city. Not perhaps a place to stay for any length of time as it is very basic but not in any way wishing to sound over critical as we only spent one night there and it served our purpose as rail travellers perfectly.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dja40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, N.Y.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We stayed here for one night only as we were catching a train the next morning. This hotel is a solid value - no frills but clean and comfortable with free wifi. This hotel worked out very well for our quick stay in Montpellier.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duckpab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barcelona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2010

The hotel is located at the heart of the city, so you can go walking to see all the attractions. Hotel is nice and clean. Staff at hotel is very servicial. You have a hotel parking near hotel ( 300 m) and breakfast is excellent.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robertobarcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2010

If this is your price bracket ( 65 euros) you can't beat this. Free wifi,room slightly bigger than the norm.Very quiet,good airconditioning. Very handy to restaurants, centre of town, train station.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank busterNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2010

I was in Montpellier for a week for a conference. Found this hotel on the internet and chose it based on price, location and online reviews. The hotel is right next to Place de la Comédie, which means it is very centrally located. The room was clean, spacious and bright, had air conditioning, a small balcony, a TV and free wifi. Towels and soap were provided, but I had to bring my own shampoo, which was the only thing I missed. The staff was friendly and helpful. The main train station is a 5 minute walk away and the closest metro stop is 1 minute away. For up to date information on transportation, entertainment, etc, I recommend going to the nearby Tourist Information (on Place de la Comédie).

I had an enjoyable stay and would happily return to Hotel des Arts. Compared to the price I paid (€69/day for a double room), I think I got great value for my money.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindaen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, WI
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2010

The positives:
Good location-close to train station, main square, lots of cafes, restaurants, transportation
had a/c
friendly and helpful staff
cheap

The negatives:
musty smelling room
tiny crusty old bathroom
very squishy beds
no elevator
closed door early at night, so had to enter through a garage with a code in the dark

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank potato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Montpellier hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montpellier hotels
Nova Hotel
#46 of 93 in Montpellier
101 reviews
Comédie
Le Mistral
Le Mistral
#13 of 93 in Montpellier
290 reviews
Royal Hotel
#14 of 93 in Montpellier
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Colisee Verdun
#59 of 93 in Montpellier
82 reviews
Comédie
Ibis Styles Montpellier Centre Comedie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Arts

Property: Hotel des Arts
Address: 6 boulevard Victor Hugo, 34000, Montpellier, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Herault > Montpellier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 93 Hotels in Montpellier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel des Arts 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In our entirely renovated, soundproofed and air conditioned establishment you will be welcomed with great pleasure by our wonderful team in a very family friendly environment.Located in the heart of downtown Montpellier. Within walking distance of the famous place de la comedie, the Theatre, the palais des congres (le corum), the fabre museum.Access to many different types of entertainment including museums, movie, theaters, restaurants and much more. Public transportation consists of train, tramway or bus.Whether your stay is a learning exerience, professional or touristic you will have an exceptional time.You will be perfectly situated for a wonderful visit of old montpellier and its beautiful typical small streets.All our rooms are equiped with either a shower or a bathtub, toilet, flat screen tv, telephone. Free wirless internet in certain rooms and in the reception.Rooms for families available maximum 4 people, free beds available for babies as well on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel des Arts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Arts Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing