We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Les Orchidees
Nearby Hotels
La Dragee Hote(Verdun)(Great Value!)
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
US$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$33
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (172)
Filter reviews
172 results
Traveller rating
11
69
59
29
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
11
69
59
29
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 172 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2015

The hotel is clean and the staff / owner efficient. The rooms are very small and the beds match! Breakfast is average in terms of cost / value. we did not dine here, but this is available. Good parking on site. The hotel is located on the outskirts of Verdun close to an industrial estate. Access to the 14-18 battlefield sites and major roads is easy.

Room Tip: If it is just a bed for a night; fine. Otherwise stay elsewhere
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oakhamscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 14, 2015

Situated just out of the centre of Verdun, the hotel is in a quiet location and has private parking. Facilities include a small swimming pool, trampoline and pétanque to amuse the children. The accommodation is modern and very clean.
The restaurant has a very good menu of the best quality, although on the night of our stay it was undestaffed with only three to serve about forty guests. I hope this was unusual.
One item which requires attention - the ashtrays in the garden which were overflowing with cigarette ends should be emptied at least daily. Perhaps another sign of shortage of staff.
Still the best we have found in Verdun.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 11, 2015

On arrival this looked like a wrong turning but the hotel is nestled in hidden greenery and seems countryside like even though it is surrounded by a small industrial estate. The staff are lovely and the bedrooms are very comfortable. We had breakfast each day - and an evening meal of high quality. All the main WW1 sites are within a 15 minute drive away - so easy to access.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank suzij552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 4, 2015 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights in April. This is a perfect location if visiting the Verdun, St. Mihiel and Argonne battlefields. Hotel was clean and quiet (but busy with tourists and workers). Staff friendly. I will stay there when I return to Verdun.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
Thank P H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 15, 2015

Les Orchidees is a family run hotel located on the outskirts of Verdun.

I chose it as it looked good compared to the other similar hotels available at the time in Verdun.

The second reason I chose it, is that it is located 100m from the road that leads to the battlefield of Verdun-Douaumont, the purpose of our visit to the area.

The hotel car-park was very spacious.

The reception staff were very friendly.

The rooms and bathrooms were of a good size and there was a hairdryer, a much needed item for a woman!

We spent 2 nights and had our evening meals there.

The dining-room was very nice but the atmosphere was may be a little bit too cold, because of the grey colour dominating the decoration.

It was very elegant, but not very cozy.

The menu had a good choice of dishes, A la carte and preset menus, and a decent wine list.

Food was very well prepared, very tasty.

Service was excellent and fast.

The small lounge by the reception was very pleasant.

A couple of armchairs and two sofas were arranged around a fireplace and provided an excellent place for a pre-evening meal drinks, or for checking emails or catching up on news as the hotel provides unlimited free Wi-Fi.

There was also a large TV screen mounted on the wall.

A large basket full of walnuts from the hotel’s garden was available to the customers.

This was a simple touch that made a difference.

Pricing and general quality of the hotel were excellent.

The hotel Les Orchidees is definitively an hotel I would recommend for the quality of its service and its location when touring the WWI battlefields.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet.
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelFranceOnline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews