We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit rustic”
Review of Hotel du Tigre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel du Tigre
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Verdun
Reviewed 14 October 2011

This hotel was selected for its inclusion in the Citotel guide. We wanted someplace near Verdun. The described amenities and price were right. There was an odor upon entering the hotel, but we acclimated (or it dissipated). The building is concrete and holds the cold. We were there during a cold snap when the temps outside were in the 40s Fahrenheit at night. There was no heat and when we inquired about it, we were only told 'No' and a smile. There were extra blankets if that counts as consolation. The room and bath were clean. The beds were okay, but pillows were worthless. The wi-fi only worked in the lobby or at two of the tables in the breakfast area. It was a poor connection and we wound up getting into the internet on some other network in the area. The manager was very helpful with maps and area information. We would not stay there again - it was a bit too rustic for our tastes, but if you want something inexpensive and don't care about the distance from town, it's an okay place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank historygrams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (321)
There are newer reviews for Hotel du Tigre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 321 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2011

Myself and my partner went to stay at this hotel as it seemed to be reasonably priced, was located near the verdun battlefields of the great war, and was described as "basic" in it's description. This does not accurately describe the facilities provided at the hotel. "basic" implies simple accommodation that is clean and looked after, what we got however was an unclean room and a hotel with great need of updating.
The positives of this hotel are as follows:
Free parking
Free wifi
Reasonably priced
The negatives are:
Unclean rooms
Only two flat pillows provided (despite having asked for more)
Light in bathroom not working
(for two days)
Remote control for the tv not working
Uncomfortable mattress
Paper thin Walls
(the snoring man next door kept us awake most of the first night)
No curtains on the windows
Light not working above bed
Centre of town is a 30 minute walk.

We refused dinner and breakfast in this establishment so I can't comment on those.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lin_zebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

I guess the most honest comment I can make about this hotel is that it matched my expectations. I chose it online for it's price rather than it's location, and I got what I selected. The room was clean and tidy and the bathroom facilities were basic but limited. The main drawback of the Hotel du Tigre is it's location, Bruce Springsteen could su rely have been sitting in my room when he wrote "Darkness On The Edge Of Town". There were no restaurants or indeed, any services in the immediate vicinity and it was about 3 kms to the centre of town to find any restaurants or other services. Overall, if you're looking for a cheap bed and shower, then the Hotel du Tigre will do it for you but be prepared for the isolation.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank terrance_bradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2011

Small rooms. Bath was dirty. Owners rude. Location less than ideal and very far from town centre. Near sewerage plant so smells bad. The only good thing was the free wifi.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 9_t9_t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldutigre, Gérant at Hotel du Tigre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2011

The owners are always respectful, to the respectful customers.
When they find customers sat(based) on the breakfast buffet, they have the right(law) to ask to be well held.
This Australian group of 40 young servicemen was trés noisy has to disturb all other customers. The manager had to make the police
They had a bus to go into town, they preferred to trainer in the hotel all the aprés noon(south)
By economy they ate pizzas etc. in rooms(chambers), aprés to have tried to settle down in the room of breakfast
No, There is no water-treatment plant next to the hotel
I am going to warn the person in charge of the group, who comes to him(her) mensongeux réguliérement in our hotel of this opinion(notice)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2011

Clean rooms. We were charged 75 euro but the posted rate inside the door was 71. We brought our dog and were charged 9 € a night which I find a bit high considering my kennel costs 10€ a night. Breakfast was 7,30€ per person which wasnt worth it. It is the basic food stuffs that most hotels would include. The rooms were clean and our stay overall was ok.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slocor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldutigre, Gérant at Hotel du Tigre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2011

The price(prize) of the room(chamber) is from 71€ (according to the number of persons)
We accept that the small dogs, what was not your case, we made an exception, to do a service to you, 9€ correspond to the work of the cleaning lady for the thorough clean-up of the bedding and the meticulous cleaning of the piéce.
Our breakfast suits trés indeed to the other customers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2010

Luckily we only planned on staying in Verdun one night, because the Hotel Tigre was barely acceptable. Yes, it was mainly clean, the bed was okay, and it was nice to have a parking spot, but in general I would advise avoiding this hotel if at all possible. Verdun could really use a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank splitwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldutigre, Gérant at Hotel du Tigre, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2011

I suspect certain comments false only to hurt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2010

We stayed here with friends whilst touring the Verdun area. We had been warned that the hotel was 'basic' but found it clean, comfortable and good value.
If you are expecting 5 star facilities this is the wrong hotel for you, but if you want a reasonably priced touring base it is just fine.
Breakfast was fresh - cereal, bread and yoghurt, served in the small breakfast area downstairs.
We had a room on the ground floor which was spacious, clean and comfortable, also very quiet. Other members of our party had higher rooms which they were less complimentary about, but we had no complaints.
For evening meals I would recomend travelling a little farther out - the fare at the nearby restaurant was not good, although perhaps worth a visit for the surreal decor. (Think 1970s caravan park disco/eaterie)
However, the bathroom was another story. Yes, it was clean. Yes, there were complimentary toiletries & towels. No, there weren't any curtains. Which is a lttle disconcerting when you face onto a car park......
This is a basic hotel - but it is clean, hospitable and good value. Also, Verdun isn't exactly brimming with hotels and if you are staying short term in the area, perhaps like us on a battlefield tour, then this may be one of your best bets. Just watch out for the bathroom!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lalli_141816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Verdun hotels
3.6 km away
Ibis Budget Verdun
Ibis Budget Verdun
#6 of 10 in Verdun
417 reviews
7.6 km away
Le Village Gaulois
Le Village Gaulois
#5 of 10 in Verdun
155 reviews
2.9 km away
HOTEL B&B VERDUN
HOTEL B&B VERDUN
#3 of 10 in Verdun
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Les Jardins du Mess
Les Jardins du Mess
#2 of 10 in Verdun
214 reviews
1.8 km away
Le Saint Paul
Le Saint Paul
#8 of 10 in Verdun
71 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel Les Colombes
Hotel Les Colombes
#9 of 10 in Verdun
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Tigre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Tigre

Address: 22 avenue de Paris, 55100 Verdun, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Meuse > Verdun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Verdun
Price Range: $80 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Tigre 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel du Tigre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Tigre Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing