We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Has Potential” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Village Gaulois

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Le Village Gaulois
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Verdun
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Has Potential”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2010

This place certainly has potential. The buildings and grounds are really old and neat with lots of stone. I don't know why we couldn't warm up to this place. Something about it felt odd or unfinished. The owners were very warm and friendly. They didn't speak much if any English, so we didn't talk to them much. Our room was old and had some character, but it didn't feel comfortable. I'm not sure why. The bathroom was not well equiped. We only got one bath towel and two hand towels for two of us, and there was no hairdryer. The location is pretty good. We had no trouble finiding it -- we stopped at the tourist information in the town of Verdun and got a map. Plus there are several signs for the place on the way. It's very quiet and near the sites, but a good 15 minute drive into the town where we had breakfast and dinner.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chm1423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    64
    24
    13
    12
See reviews for
35
53
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Roselle Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2010

We enjoyed our two nights at Le Village Gaulois. We did have a very difficult time finding it, but I blame that on Google maps; if you're going here, map for the town, not the B&B (it's a tiny town; I guarantee you won't miss the B&B!). Problem is that there are several roads that share a number. It's in a perfec$t location for Americans who want to visit the site of the Meuse-Argonne battle (the bloodiest in American history, with more than 26,000 men killed and nearly 96,000 wounded). You also can easily visit the Verdun battlefields and associated sites, bypassing the town and its traffic. The family that runs Le Village Gaulois couldn't be nicer and more helpful, but only the son seems to have any English, so keep that in mind if you don't speak French (our French is limited, and we did just fine, but we did want to make readers aware). We didn't have breakfast there (warning: coffee to go is non-existent in the town!), but we had dinner one night and it was excellent. Prices were on a par with other gourmet-style restaurants; that is, not cheap but good value for money. Food was tasty and copious, with a country twist. We stayed in the same first-floor room occupied by another reviewer. They seem to be working in replacing the mirrored ceiling in the bathroom (a good decision!). We found the B&B different and charming, and would certainly return.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CMKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2010

Located in Marre away from Verdun in a country town. The room was clean and nice, our 11 year old enjoyed the one night stay. The family is friendly and helpful. The hotel provides a quite country stay with a good restaurant. There is very good access to the Verdun battlefield with out going through traffic or large towns. Plenty of parking.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dz221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, Yorkshire
Level Contributor
49 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2008

Family owned village hotel converted from a farm using much stone for walls, pathways and terrace. Gardens with trees, shrubs, flowers, lawns, very peaceful.
Circular stone buildings with slate roofs, styled on village from 'Asterix' books, house the gastronomic restaurant and kitchen. Furniture crafted by the owner.
Good sized individually styled room with beams, arched ceiling, and mirrored bathroom ceiling.
Rooms around 60 euros a night. This is a very individual establishment.

  • Liked — Completely individual hotel with peaceful ambience and good restaurant
  • Disliked — Reception office closed and run from restaurant when off peak season
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank The_Travelling_Tyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, UK
Level Contributor
231 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2006

This is an interesting place, where we spent one enjoyable night.

The rooms appear to be themed and ours, on the ground floor at the front, was pleasantly, if brightly, decorated, with patio doors out onto a driveway.

The rooms was clean and the bathroom was large, although a bit dark and with a slightly off-putting mirrored ceiling. The bathroom was lacking a proper shower and had a hand attachment to the bath taps and no shower curtain.

Dinner and breakfast were served in a flinstone-esque round stone building at the back of the hotel. The food was good and the waitress was very apologetic about the fly underneath the otherwise excellent quiche (these things happen!) and free enormous slices of tarte ensued :o)

Staff overall seemed friendly and, although work seemed to be underway to construct an impressive stone facade, this did not affect our stay.

The location, close to the sights of Verdun and Douamont, was excellent and the road and village were quiet.

There was a slightly tired looking crazy golf course that could be used. I am not sure if this will get tidied up - the owner seems to be redesigning this hotel in a fairly orginal fashion, so we may well return to see what has changed.

  • Liked — novel design, food (apart from the fly)
  • Tips/Secrets — ask for a room on the first floor
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank midlandsmoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Verdun
8.6 km away
Les Jardins du Mess
Les Jardins du Mess
#2 of 10 in Verdun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
8.4 km away
Hotel de Montaulbain
Hotel de Montaulbain
#1 of 10 in Verdun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
10.1 km away
B&B Hotel Verdun
B&B Hotel Verdun
#3 of 10 in Verdun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 km away
Ibis Budget Verdun
Ibis Budget Verdun
#6 of 10 in Verdun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
18.6 km away
Chateau des Monthairons
Chateau des Monthairons
#1 of 1 in Dieue-sur-Meuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
7.6 km away
Hotel du Tigre
Hotel du Tigre
#4 of 10 in Verdun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Village Gaulois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Village Gaulois

Property: Le Village Gaulois
Address: 11, Rue Parge | Marre-par-Charny, 55100 Verdun, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Meuse > Verdun
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Verdun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Village Gaulois 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca and Expedia so you can book your Le Village Gaulois reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Village Gaulois Verdun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing