We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“no frills hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mediterranee Lourdes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Mediterranee Lourdes
Ranked #25 of 185 Hotels in Lourdes
Certificate of Excellence
United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“no frills hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2009

Disclaimer: we did not go to Lourdes for a pilgrimage, rather we wound up taking a detour in France and this town had plenty of open hotels so we stopped here.

The beds were foam mattresses, which were actually fairly comfortable. The room itself reminded me of a dormitory or nursing home or something else institutional. This is certainly a convenient location for a pilgrimage (which I guess is probably the only reason most people come here), but aside from that the cost seemed high for the quality, and I think I expected a little more based on the reviews. The staff were very nice though, and really we just needed somewhere to sleep so it was fine. No internet.

I'd give this a 2.5 if I could give half ratings... I bumped it up to 3 given the nature of most people's visits to Lourdes.

Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank memoriesandmoments
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    68
    29
    7
    6
See reviews for
45
47
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gudja
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2009

Although the rooms are not very big, they are comfortable and clean. The staff are great, they try really hard to please you and help you. The food is good and if there is something you don't like they will be happy to bring you something different. The hotel is in a very good location, with a view of the river and the mountains and only about 15 minutes away from the grotto. A great stay!

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sha271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mablethorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2008

I had the great pleasure of staying at the Mediterranee for a week, booked through a Joe Walsh pilgrimage group arrangement. It was a very hospitable base for the entire group. The hotel staff were very kind and considerate of the groups' diverse needs, nothing was too much trouble and all were well catered for. The rooms were comfy and very clean, the many and varied common areas were likewise clean, relaxing and inviting. The catering was very well done and made allowances for national preferences (us Irish were given potatoes, whilst Italian guests had pasta) There were plenty of choices and the quality and freshness were exemplary. The bar staff were so friendly and accommodating, they even worked out a Riverdance to honour the Irish guests. Though it is a little bit of a walk to the sanctuary, this hotel is a great base for a pilgrimmage. It certainly added to my amazing time in Lourdes. Well done and many thanks for all the considerations we were shown. I would wholeheartedly reccomend it to anyone going to Lourdes.

  • Liked — The friendly staff and homely atmosphere.
  • Disliked — Nothing, it was all very good.
  • Stayed August 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MemberK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2008

We stayed for 3 nights at the Med through booking for a pilgrimage tour with Tangney Tours UK. We opted for a hotel location near the sanctuary, but only Med had 2 rooms available for our family of 4 adults and 2 kids then. It was a 10-15 minute walk to the sanctuary - a little long for my Mom-in-law who had a bad knee.
We found it a little strange that our triple room WC was in a different cubicle from the main bath. The bath had a little musty smell probably due to the high guest turn-over rate and was just cleaned up without sufficient time to air the room. Beds seem to have lost a little of its firmness but otherwise the rooms were maintained very well and were very clean.
Though it wasn't our first choice hotel at this very first visit to Lourdes, we were not too particular about it because it was still a pilgrimage for us and were happy to be there with rooms to stay in. Furthermore, we just loved the cheerful and hospitable service for all the meals there at the Hotel. The restaurant staffs were wonderful! They were fast in serving meals to the usually large tour groups there, but were also attentive to our family needs as well. They never failed to bring smiles and laughter to our 2 sons (age 2 & 5) whenever we had our meals. Their cheerfulness was really something that made our stay there extra special to us. It may not be fine dining cuisine, as it was just the standard 3-4 course set meals (as part of the tour package), but their joyful and radiant smiles and service just won us over.

  • Liked — Great dining service and cheerfulness of hotel staffs! The best ever experienced!
  • Disliked — Outdated guest room design
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank merryberry73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
co armagh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2008

i have been going two lourdes this last 20 years with the sick this is the first time i have stayed in the mediterranee i must say i enjoyed it staff very friendley at meal times nothing was two much for the dinning room staff if there was something you wanted diffrent not a problim you only only had two ask with in reason well i dident ask for a sirlion food brill

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maryCoArmagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrOoKlyN, NEW YORK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2008

This was an above-average hotel for a pilgrimage. I stayed for 2 nights in May of 2008. It had a nice bar area where large groups of people could gather. It also had nice dining facilities. The food, however, was mediocre. This hotel was about a ten minute walking distance from the sanctuary. At night it felt like it was in a slightly dangerous area. This isn't the greatest hotel for someone with a disability because of the distance one has to walk.

  • Liked — staff. They returned my cell phone.
  • Disliked — charge on slow internet service
  • Stayed May 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bklyngal911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2008

I stay in the Mediterranee hotel every year in September as part of a Pilgrimage I travel with from Ireland. I am a helper and it is great to come to this hotel because it makes our job as a helper much easier. It is fully equipped to suit guests that have special needs or have mobility problems.
The staff are one in a million and make the guests feel so welcome and remember your name year after year. Not to mention putting on a show every night for us. The idea of Lourdes is make people smile and enjoy themselves and the Mediterranee hotel definetly contributes to this.
The rooms are basic but clean and comfortable. The food is served frequently during the day and if you have any problems just tell the staff and they will accomdate you with a smile.
It is not a long walk to the grotto or up the town of Lourdes, over all this is really a great hotel and I would not like to stay anywhere else in Lourdes.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — Sometimes the food can not be great
  • Stayed September 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Eire2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lourdes hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Padoue
Hotel Padoue
#24 of 185 in Lourdes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Alba
Hotel Alba
#16 of 185 in Lourdes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel La Solitude
Hotel La Solitude
#4 of 185 in Lourdes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Saint-Georges
Hotel Saint-Georges
#27 of 185 in Lourdes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Roissy
Hotel Roissy
#14 of 185 in Lourdes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.4 km away
Inter-Hotel Astoria Vatican
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mediterranee Lourdes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mediterranee Lourdes

Property: Hotel Mediterranee Lourdes
Address: 23 avenue du Paradis, 65100, Lourdes, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Hautes-Pyrenees > Lourdes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 185 Hotels in Lourdes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mediterranee Lourdes 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and ACCOR so you can book your Hotel Mediterranee Lourdes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing