We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great restaurant and perfect location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eliseo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Eliseo Hotel
Ranked #29 of 185 Hotels in Lourdes
France
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great restaurant and perfect location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

We stayed at this hotel for three nights in June. The hotel is located very centrally in Lourdes, just next to the basilica. We booked a spacious suite, which was quite ok. The rooms looked a little bit dated, but overall it was a nice and clean.

the highlight of the hotel was definitely the restaurant, which had very nice breakfasts and dinners in the evening, as well as very friendly staff.

The only drawback was that they completely messed up the check-out process. On the day we were leaving, we were told by the reception that we had to leave the room at 12, but already around 11 an elderly Italian couple opened the door and started shouting at us asking what we were doing in their room. So they had handed out new keys before we even had returned ours.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Logge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    55
    23
    5
    12
See reviews for
30
28
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2009

Beware....be Very Aware about leaving anyhinhg of value while your not in in your room.
For instance,they stole our tour guide book , birth control pills ,alarm clock . And we know it was the housekeepeers .. You could not pay me enough francs to stay at this dump again ! And the staff are very rude , also it smells like dead animals and is noisy.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank artie1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lourdes hotels

CARDIFF
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2009

Booked via Mancunia and given choice of special diet ie vegetarian, coeliac, vegan. I booked vegan but this hotel did not understand vegetarian, let alone vegan. Some of the restaurant staff did not speak much english and as I did not speak French, it was difficult to explain. They would say vegetarian? and then bring me fish or ham! Could not have breakfast as no soya milk for cereal and only cheese, ham and white rolls. Could not have lunch as this was 3 or 4 courses, the same as the evening meal and they just kept giving me the same: steamed or boiled cucumber & carrots & tomatoes or big plate of green lettuce and tomatoes. One day given galia melon with french dressing on it!!!! On day 3, they actually went out to buy me some rice so we thought things were looking up but all I got was boiled white rice, warm cucumber and carrots. Most of the meals were cold but occasionally the food was warm ie warm cucumber!!. Could not have any deserts either - just a banana every night. Had we not been offered the special diet option then we would have chosen to stay in an apartment not a hotel and take my own food. They had never heard of tofu and I am surprised that a 4 Star hotel chef could not come up with a warm complete meal...all I got was a plate of bits and bobs which often did not go together and certainly did not constitute a meal.

Hotel says there is a slight incline to the entrance but this is too steep for a wheelchair...we managed by going through the garage and then up in the lift. Upon arrival there was no help for us to get cases, wheelchair to the room.. we thought the lady on reception was assisting us but she got us into the lift with he cases and then pushed the buttons and left!!! The room for our disabled traveller was so small that we could barely get the wheelchair in, the shower was in the bath but we could not get wheelchair in the bathroom anyway. We complained and was told that another room would be available for us in 20 mins....a lady with a much lessor disability had been booked into a huge disabled room and was promptly asked to leave...luckily she had not unpacked but they did not offer any assistance to either parties in the swap. Having said that, the 2nd room we had was much improved with huge walk in shower and plenty of room for wheelchair. Hotel is classed as 4 star and the reception area, bar etc are very nice but the rooms are small and a bit jaded. Brochure states fridges in room but these have all been removed. Rooms supposed to be sound proofed and although never heard any other occupants, if your room is at the front of the hotel the noise from the streets is very bad. Had to use ear plugs every night. Rooms at the back of the hotel are very quiet though. Overall, quite dissappointed and our party would not stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BMS27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2009

First of all, it is said that second to Paris, Lourdes has more hotel rooms that any other town in all of France. Hotels are everywhere and on virtually every corner downtown and uptown. Most of the hotels are really bare bones and simply a place a stay at night after a long day at the Lourdes shrine. In Lourdes, hotels are a closely guarded and monopolized industry. Other than the name, the hundreds of hotels in Lourdes are just not that outstanding, exclusive or different from one another. The Eliseo fits this description. It is not a hotel that invites you to stay on the property and hang out. It is simply a nice clean place to stay in Lourdes. It is convenient, but it is certainly not what I associate with a Four-Star Hotel: Rooms are rather small...scratch that, TINY! Beds not that comfortable. Amenities lacking. Shower is weak. This is really a two or at best a weak three star hotel. It is clean and the staff are nice, but the rooms are the proof of a fine hotel's rating, and at the Eliseo, the rooms just are not that nice. I should say that bar downstairs is nice, even if quite expensive. Food average for France.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kanski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southeast
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2008

I have been to Lourdes 5 times; stayed in several different hotels, but have stayed at the Elisio three times. Why? It is a 4-star property so very close to the Grotto. I have stayed in quite nice rooms with bedroom and 'sitting room,' with a little balcony.' Bathroom has both tub and shower. Toilet in separate room. Staff is attentive. Internet: How about FREE in the lobby and bar area - nice. Restaurant food is quite good. Breakfast buffet - at continental level is filling, and the dinners are very good with a variety of entrees - good and plenty! People go to Lourdes for a specific pilgrimage experience. Many are accustomed to a specific level of service. The Elisio delivers an excellent hotel stay, with good food, and a location so very close to the grotto - and the true reason for Lourdes is the pilgrimage!

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank Accidental_Pilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York & Paris
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2007

The Eliseo is NOT a four star hotel... more like a 2star holiday inn. I booked a suite, with salon and terrace (not worth the extra bucks). The towels are thin, no bathrobes, no turn down service, yucky/average soap, no help with luggage, plastic cups, an empty mini fridge on its last legs... Its is clean and well situated... HOWEVER, please note.... The internet advertised is dial up AND [no matter how well you speak french] they WILL NOT SUPPLY you with a cable OR AN ALTERNATE SOLUTION... for that you need to see the tourist bureau [who are EXTREMELY friendly!!].
I met some locals who suggested the Grand Hotel de la Grotte... Also, met other locals who said the pizza at da marco (on rue de la grotte) is tops!!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — No internet access
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank acitizenoftheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antananarivo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2007

This hotel is not four star. We were in an "extra large" room with an upstairs. However, it was cramped and barren. There were not even coffee making facilities and just a few thin towels and very cheap soap. The restaurant was closed whenever we tried to go to it. The staff were cold. The maids knocked every 10 mins even when the "Do not disturb" sign was posted. Quite honestly a 2 star Hotel Campanile is more comfortable and welcoming. Not woth it for half the price.

  • Liked — Proximity to sights
  • Disliked — Monastic room but expensive
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Samworldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lourdes hotels
0.0 km away
Hotel Padoue
Hotel Padoue
#23 of 185 in Lourdes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Roissy
Hotel Roissy
#14 of 185 in Lourdes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.2 km away
Grand Hotel Moderne
Grand Hotel Moderne
#2 of 185 in Lourdes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Agena Hotel
Agena Hotel
#18 of 185 in Lourdes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Chapelle et Parc
Hotel Chapelle et Parc
#6 of 185 in Lourdes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.2 km away
Panorama Hotel
Panorama Hotel
#10 of 185 in Lourdes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eliseo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eliseo Hotel

Property: Eliseo Hotel
Address: 4 rue de la Reine Astrid, 65104, Lourdes, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Hautes-Pyrenees > Lourdes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Lourdes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Eliseo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Eliseo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eliseo Hotel Lourdes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing