We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, good food, lots of flies & surly staff! A waste of a view.”
Review of Le Belvedere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Belvedere
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Rocamadour
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We stayed here for a night in September with our baby son. When we checked in, the receptionist had no idea where our room was located. When we discovered that there was no light in the bathroom. When I pointed it out, I was told that the bulb had blown and as it was Sunday they could not get a new one. A while later, however, 2 people appeared to change the bulb! We had eaten here before and the food was good. So we booked to stay half board. What a mistake. We were given menus then they were swiftly removed when we said we were halfboard. We felt like we economy class!! The waitress rattled off the menu - duck, duck and a nut cake. No choice at all and pretty disappointing when you do not really like duck. We had no choice but to have it served. The starter was ok-ish, the main course, despite our dislike of duck, was pretty good! The meal was spoiled by flies everywhere. I killed 5 during dinner. Breakfast was good but flies again spoiled things. The view was excellent, as was the hot air balloon we saw at breakfast. Also, they have a highchair. The room was not perfectly clean, an essential in my view, regardless of star rating.Air conditioning would help too. I found crumbs on the floor and mould in the shower. The staff were far from helpful and not overly pleasant. Such a pity!

Room Tip: The view made things a bit more bearable! No lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Izzywizz_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (250)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 250 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2011

I am surprised to see any good reviews of this hotel. the service was poor and sometimes aggressive. The translations into english were a joke and obviously written by a comedian. The toilet paper was the cheapest in the world. No information was in the room telling us if there was a code or what time the meals took place. when we came up for breakfast 20 minutes early into reception we had to knock at the door to reception as we didn't know there was a code and the surly member of staff gave us a lecture. The room was incredibly noisy above us (dining room) and outside and we couldn't get to sleep when we wanted but much later when the staff had finished. I had the feeling this room used to be for the horses!
It was clean but bleak bleak bleak. I am sure there are better hotels in Rocamadour.

Room Tip: go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tired186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We just wanted somewhere with a nice view of Rocamadour for a family lunch before a visit to the Gouffre de Padirac and Le Belvedere is actually in L'Hospitalet and is in a beautiful location with stunning views to Rocamadour itself. We sat out on the shady terrace and had a lunch which was much better than I had expected in, what in August is a rather touristy location. However, the food was very good and initially the service was very good with a friendly waiter. It did, however, take quite some time to catch his eye at the end of the meal to get the bill.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tropicopter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

We booked this hotel through Logis de France and it was very good value. Our room was clean and pretty with an excellent view over the medieval city of Rocamadour. the staff were friendly and welcoming and we had an excellent meal in the modern restaurant overlooking La Cite. Would definitely recommend if staying in Rocamadour.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of La Cite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueB254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

Without reservations, we got a very reasonable room at the Belvedere. It proved to be a great location to explore Rocamadour. Foremost, the location was very car friendly, there is convenient free parking behind the hotel.
It's a 10 minute downhill walk to the lower level of Rocamadour, when you finish walking to the upper level and the chateau, you have a level walk back to the hotel.
The rooms were clean, beds ok, nice shower. When we checked in, reception gave us a choice of several room to pick from letting us see them in advance. We opted for the slightly smaller room with a little less view, it was 10 euros less. Free wifi!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2008

The hotel isn't as flash as their web photos indicate but it is a very nice place to stay for one or two nights. It is located on the top of the valley and overlooks the old city on the other side. To enjoy the gorgeous view, book a room with a view to the old city. It costs extra but is well worth it. It's gorgeous at night too when the old city is lit. The restaurant - food, service, location, was excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roomaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Fora da época de calor, hotel é perfeito!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RaphaelaCh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rocamadour hotels
0.8 km away
Best Western Beau Site Notre Dame
0.2 km away
Amadour Hotel
Amadour Hotel
#5 of 17 in Rocamadour
351 reviews
1.1 km away
Le Troubadour
Le Troubadour
#1 of 17 in Rocamadour
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Les Esclargies
Hotel Les Esclargies
#2 of 17 in Rocamadour
482 reviews
0.9 km away
Relais Amadourien
Relais Amadourien
#3 of 17 in Rocamadour
219 reviews
0.3 km away
Le BellaRoc
Le BellaRoc
#14 of 17 in Rocamadour
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Belvedere

Address: | L'Hospitalet, 46500 Rocamadour, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Lot > Rocamadour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Rocamadour
Price Range: $86 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Belvedere 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Belvedere, a 2-star hotel, Logis de France, overlooking Rocamadour Medieval Village, offers lovely new en-suite rooms with plasma tv. We welcome you in our Traditionnal restaurant "Côté Vallée" and during the summer season in our pizzeria brasserie, too. Private swimming pool at 300m at the second hotel The Bellaroc ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Belvedere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing