We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, excellent service”
Review of Le coq hardi

Le coq hardi
Ranked #1,006 of 2,106 Restaurants in Toulouse
Price range: US$23 - US$41
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Saint Rome
Reviewed August 20, 2014

We ended up at Coq Hardi after an unpleasant experience with a restaurant that, despite having accepted our reservation, couldn't let go of the waiters' free time (sitting outside eating or smoking) and kept telling us to come later, and later, and later...
We were warmly welcomed at Coq Hardi, with a smile and a joke. The food was very good, the portions generous. The restaurant couldn't arrange for good weather, so we almost got soaked. In 5 seconds, all our food and belongings were transferred inside, nothing overlooked, nothing mixed up. Real professionals. We really had fun that night. Many thanks to the gentleman who served us and opened his eyes widely at my husband's request for sausages, after actually having finished the dinner!

Date of visit: August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MirellaMenglide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 54 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2014

I had a 3 course menu, and everything was very good. The house wine was also good.
The waiters were very helpful and friendly.
A very enjoyable dinner at a reasonable price.

Date of visit: May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cjoliveira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We went there for lunch, and it was quite busy (but no need to book though). There are 3 different menus, 4 choices for every category, which shows that the food is fresh. The beef was brilliant, and the dessert really nice. The staff there is really helpful.

Date of visit: December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 153helenek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 17, 2013

If you are going to be in Toulouse, do yourself a favour and go to this restaurant. It is down a side alley in the old part of town, so a little hard to find. But, it is well worth it. They advertise as using only top quality local produce, and I must say that food of this quality at the prices they charge is some of the best value I have ever come across. They were offering a menu of the day which consisted of a full 3 course meal for 16.50€. It was so good, my wife and I kept going back. We tried all sorts of things, and it was all consistently good. What sticks in my mind was the steak we had the first time we went. Cooked exactly as we wanted. This might not sound like a big deal, but a good test of a restaurant is the quality of the meat and how it is cooked. Honestly, this was the best steak I have ever eaten in France. If you are going for lunch try to get there just before 12 or after 2 as it gets packed out with locals.

Date of visit: November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PaulD49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We had a three course meal here.

The service was great here - really accomodating and the food was exceptional.

No complaints and would definitely recommend.

The Cafe gourmand was very special.

Date of visit: September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CKUK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le coq hardi also viewed

Toulouse, Haute-Garonne
Toulouse, Haute-Garonne
 
Toulouse, Haute-Garonne
Toulouse, Haute-Garonne
 
Toulouse, Haute-Garonne
Toulouse, Haute-Garonne
 

Been to Le coq hardi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing