We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (137)
Filter reviews
137 results
Traveller rating
53
62
15
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
53
62
15
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews excellent value catching the ferry value for money motorway cuisin france breakfast museum
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 137 reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2017

Getting into the hotel isn't as obvious as it might be. But once there, the staff are helpful, the rooms basic but clean, and the food unexpectedly good.
We came to Dunkirk to see where my father had left France in 1940. There isn't much to see, and the museum isn't a patch on the Normandy Beach visit.
The town isn't very interesting- but we were there for only 16 hours.
Dinner in the hotel was good. I had snails on a bed of crushed peas followed by deep fried fish in a shrimp sauce. Really much better than it sounds. My wife had a rump steak, and she said it was good. For dessert we shared an upside down crumble dish, with broken biscuit, whipped fresh cream, fruit and a spoon full of sorbet. And some tubes of white chocolate. After that we had to go out for a walk. The evening sunset was beautiful with pinks and oranges.
Would we come back? To the hotel yes, but probably not to the town.
Finally, the price for both the room and the dinner was competitive. The wifi didn't have much bandwidth and was slow.

Room Tip: This is a small hotel with less than 20 rooms. But our room had a double bed and a bath.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dintyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 4, 2017

We used this hotel as an overnight stop before catching the ferry to Dover. It is only 2 minutes from the motorway and 20 minutes from the ferry terminal. The room was small but very clean with an excellent bed. We had an evening meal and breakfast both of which were of high quality. The menu was imaginative. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. We would recommend La Cuisin without reservation. t was outstanding value for money

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 23, 2017

We were only in Dunkirk for one night for a concert and needed somewhere cheap and convenient to stay. This place provided exactly that.
The rooms here are fairly basic but are spotlessly clean. The décor in a mix of brown and fawn doesn't help to raise the ambience it must be said. The beds were really comfortable and the hotel and surrounding area were very quiet for a good night's sleep. Our bathroom was fairly tired looking and in need of a bit of a refurbishment but, again, perfectly clean.
The hotel was easy to get to from J60 of the A16 and there is parking on the street outside. It's about a 20-25 minute walk into the centre of Dunkirk. We didn't eat in the restaurant as we were out for the evening and also didn't take breakfast on the strength of previous reviews. We did look in to the dining area however and it looks very bright and modern.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dakles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 14, 2016

The "double" bedroom we were gived was completrelyt unsuitable for two 70-somethings, small and cramped with only one bedsite table and no bedside lights. the only llumination was a rather poor light high on the wall. We had to get help to open the window for ventilation and had to close it at 3am (on a very hot night) because of extremely loud music being played by young people in the market square outside. This room was certainly not worth the price we paid.

Not sure is something has changed since we were last here bit the food in the restaurant, a main attraction, was not quite up to the standard of the past and the menu had not been updated since we were there in May

Room Tip: Do not use room 12 if you are a couple
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JohnManning42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 19, 2016 via mobile

After a long drive from Burgundy La Cuis'in was spot on for a relaxing night before catching the ferry to Dover the following morning. The rooms are simple but just right for what we were looking for. The same with dinner - great to have a decent meal on the spot!

The hotel is both far enough out of Dunkirk to be quiet and close enough to walk into town and along the sea front.

So often our holidays end with a mad scramble up France, but this year by making a much gentler journey on a weekday and staying at this hotel in Dunkirk it's been a really lovely end to a great three weeks!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank ChCath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews