We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a wonderful experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Tour Louise

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Tour Louise
Ranked #4 of 30 Bayeux B&B and Inns
Barrie, Ontario
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

My 14 year old and I were recently visiting Normandy to see the D-Day Landing beaches, museums and cemeteries, and had the absolute pleasure of staying with Will and his family at this wonderful bed and breakfast. I can't say enough great things about our time there. As soon as we booked our stay, Will emailed me to say he was looking forward to meeting us, and to ask if there was anything he could do ahead of time for us. He made reservations for us in Bayeux and even sent us the restaurants website so we could take a look. Once we got to Bayeux, Will could not have been more welcoming. Our room was just lovely and sparking clean. He gave us information about the town, suggested places to eat, and made himself available if we needed anything.
Breakfast was just wonderful, lots of variety of delicious food and the company of the other guests was one of our favourite parts! Will made sure that everyone was comfortable and happy.
The beds were very comfortable and we slept very well!
This was our first experience at a Bed and Breakfast and won't be our last. On our 2 week trip to Europe we visited Belgium, Paris, Amsterdam and Normandy. Bayeux was definitely a highlight!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    22
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
52
187
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester NY
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

We loved this hotel! Very hospitable, intelligent, thoughtful host. Lovely breakfast looking out over walled garden, clean and light room, overlooking the street from one window and perfect close-up view of cathedral from bathroom window. Quiet street but only a brief walk to the famed tapestry as well as to restaurants, shops, post office. Great recommendations from host for restaurants. Beautiful place, great value. And we enjoyed our conversations with host. We'd go back in a flash.

Room Tip: First floor was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bjdRochesterNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Three of us (22, 50+, and 60+ y.o.) stayed recently as a base for seeing the area around Normandy. Our entire experience was A+, from booking throughout our stay. Wil, our host, was very responsive, charming, and helpful with our questions.
This lovely home is quiet, quaint and clean, with modern bathrooms, comfortable beds and personalized touches like fresh flowers and lavender soap in the bathroom.
We stayed in a room on the third floor, with one large bed, and a separate twin in an adjoining room, with a shared bathroom. The smaller room had a small refrigerator (great for storing the tasty cheese we found in town), and bottled water and inroom tea provided by our host.
The view of Bayeux's cathedral from our room was stunning, particularly at night. Breakfast was simple, yet hearty, with diverse choices. There is a lovely courtyard also.
Other pluses: easy parking, several good restaurants close by, and a very picturesque town, spared from bombing during WWII (ask Wil why :).
Book with confidence, and enjoy this pretty, peaceful B&B!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the best view of the cathedral!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank irishmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brazil
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

The location is perfect: right besides the cathedral and side to side to a parking lot where it is possible to leave one's car for free at night (and is also free during the day, but has a 4 hours time limit). Our host (and his family) are really nice and helpful, being also able to provide us with all the necessary information regarding the city and its whereabouts. The room is cozy, spacious and very comfortable. The bathroom is pretty new (or has been recently renovated) and the breakfast is very good.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rlro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Park, Colorado
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

I just returned from a trip to Normandy with my 2 20-something daughters and my 85 year old mother. We were lucky enough to spend 2 wonderful nights in Bayeux in 2 rooms on the top floor of this wonderful house. Our comfy, spacious and clean rooms were right across from each other in this perfect location to view the cathedral at night and to view sights in and around Bayeux. Our gracious host, Wil, was so very accomodating, friendly and helpful. It was our absolute favorite place to stay of a week long trip that also included stops in Rouen and Paris. For the spectacular location, excellent service, exceptional value and over-the-top quality, I highly, highly recommended this charming property to any and all travelers!

Room Tip: Our group numbered 4 grown up ladies and the 2 rooms on the third floor were ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

We stayed for 3 nights at the Le Relais de la Tour Louise and loved it! Will was a gracious host providing a wonderful breakfast and information about the city. The location is great - everything in Bayeux is within walking distance. And even though it is in the city our room was very quiet - not much in the way of noise either from the outside or from within the B&B.

Our room was comfortable, beautifully furnished, and clean; the bathroom is updated and modern.

There was no television or telephone which suited us very well but some might not like that. The WiFi connection was excellent!

We had a great stay!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tisbe52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
292 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 748 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

We spent 3 nights in 2 rooms with Wil and his family at Le Relais de la Tour Louise. The historic and updated house is nice & warm and cozy & clean. What more could you want? Wil was fantastic in picking us up from the train station and delivering us to the car rental facility. Nothing was too much trouble. He's a very personable guy, and we had a great time. I can highly recommend this B&B to perspective Bayeux visitors.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tmynatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#4 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Reine Mathilde
Hotel Reine Mathilde
#3 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
0.3 km away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bayeux
5.0 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Tour Louise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Tour Louise

Property: La Tour Louise
Address: 4 rue Tardif, 14400, Bayeux, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully located 5 minutes away from the Cathedral, La Tour Louise is in the heart of your activities in Bayeux . Sandrine and Laurent will welcome you into their home, where their four guest rooms will offer you all the comfort needed for a wonderful stay . They will be available in this friendly and family atmosphere to give you their best recommendations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Tour Louise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Relais De La Tour Louise Hotel Bayeux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing