We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Worth the Visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Musee de la Tapisserie de Bayeux

Musee de la Tapisserie de Bayeux
Book In Advance
More Info
US$99.96*
and up
Private Tour to Bayeux, Honfleur and Pays d' Auge from Caen
Ranked #1 of 33 things to do in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: This museum houses the famous Bayeux Tapestry, a 70-m long piece of embroidery that graphically tells the story of the 1066 Battle of Hastings.Listed UNESCO Memory of the World. Duration of visit about 1h30.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
316 reviews
196 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Worth the Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

If you are of English decent , this is a must. Records the battle in 1066 at Hastings for the throne of England. Great to see especially if you have been to battle abbey in Hastings and seen the battlefeild.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,693
    1,306
    216
    33
    13
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Museum of the Bayeux Tapestry”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

This was one of the best audio tours I have ever listened to. The narrators brought the drama depicted in the tapestry to life.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank runnergirl416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cocoa beach, florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Men will love it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013

I had to drag my husband to see this and for all the guys out there......he loved it. When we heard about the tapestry, we thought it was just a big hanging on the wall. We were really surprised. It is a very long, detailed, pictorial history of the conquest of England by William the Conqueror, and while that sounds boring, believe me, it's not. There were quite a few visitors that day. We did have to stop now and then to wait for others to move, but it was no problem because you can stop or rewind the recording if you missed something. It seems like some of the previous reviewers missed that information. The recording was absolutely superb. It pointed out so many details within the tapestry that were neat. Just this week, in TIME magazine, they referred to a section of the tapestry that shows astrologers announcing the appearance of a comet during the 11th century. That's what I love about bits of information you glean from traveling. They're tiny connectors in lifelong learning: aha moments. My husband's favorite purchase in France is his 20 foot long replica of the tapestry.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank orchidpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tumbulgum, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“OMG - Don't visit Bayeux without seeing this!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

The Bayeux Tapestry is a must see for any visitor to the area. Not only is the tapestry presented wonderfully (considering its size) but entry to the museum is very reasonable, and includes audio commentary in your language. There is an excellent gift shop with an amazing selection of gifts to accommodate all - including kids. An absolutely amazing time.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eyeball09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy Point, NL, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

Exceptionally well presented with many options to discover the history of this amazing, almost two thousand years old, piece of work.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Musee de la Tapisserie de Bayeux also viewed

 
Saint-Laurent-sur-Mer, Calvados
 

Been to Musee de la Tapisserie de Bayeux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing