We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Le Petit Promenant

Le Petit Promenant
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Le Petit Promenant
The rear patio
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Le Petit Promenant
The rear patio
Wood burning stove and the original bread oven
The bedroom
Bathroom
Garden
Orchard
View
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Bayeux, Calvados, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Nos6
Level 6 Contributor
409 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“A perfect place to stay”
Reviewed August 25, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the Petit Promenant in June with our eight month old. For a couple or those like ourselves with a baby it couldn't have suited us better. Set down a private lane in rolling French countryside with accompanying views it was as tranquil as you could get. The cottage itself (a converted bakery I think, attached to the currently unused old farmhouse) was small but had everything you needed, decent kitchen, woodburner, reasonable sized bedroom upstairs etc. About a forty minute drive from the ferry at Caen and thirty minutes ish to Bayeaux with decent supermarkets. Of course there's plenty to do as well, aforementioned Bayeaux with its magnificent Cathedral and tapestry and for those with an interest in WW2 the Normandy Beaches. We'd love to go back but unfortunately our daughter will be a little too big to qualify as a babe in arms!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The privacy of the location
Liked least: The lack of light blocking curtain in the bedroom
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kizia21
Midlands
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Perfect retreat”
Reviewed July 28, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed here as a base for discovering Normandy. That we certainly did! Went to DD beaches, Mont St Michael, Pegasus Bridge and the lovely little villages around the cottage. The cottage was lovely to come back to after a day of exploring - it had everything we needed to then sit back and relax. The drive down the track to the cottage made you feel as if you were in your own world away from anyone else. The sounds of the countryside were lovely to wake up to in the morning. Thank you Rebecca for sharing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Arriving
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 16, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: We found nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 2, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and cosiness of cottage
Liked least: we couldnt stay long enough
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Jun 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely review and I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope you visit again soon! Rebecca
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
wmcca
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Snow White's cottage”
Reviewed May 22, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I still get misty eyed when we talk about this wonderful Snow White cottage. It is well designed for two people. A nice well equipped kitchen, good shower, and spacious bedroom with a most comfortable bed. I could go on and on about what a lovely private setting this cottage has, but others already have. They are telling the truth. It is absolutely wonderful.

The nearest village with a bakery and grocer is Balleroy a few miles away. And Bayeaux is a “big” city with everything you might want. It has a farmers’ market on Saturday that is all a market should be. Caen about 40 minutes away has a market on Friday with lower prices.

What can you see in the area? We tried to stay within an hour drive of the cottage. There are a couple real nice fishing villages north along the peninsula. The D-Day beaches and museums are close by. Caem the city William the Conqueror ruled from, is close. The Vire River Valley, Vielldieu-les-Poeles and Falaise where William was born are easy drives A bit further out is Mont Saint Michel, Dinan, and St, Malo.

I was describing this cottage to a person at the coffee shop here, and he stopped me said, “It sounds like you were on your honeymoon.” Been together 34 years, and it made us feel like kids.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Coming home to this cottage after a day out.
Liked least: The day we left.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2015
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and your time in France and hope you will visit again. Rebecca
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Peaceful and idyllic”
Reviewed May 17, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was our third stay in the past year so, I think, that tells you what we think of it. This beautiful cottage provides a perfect 'get away from it all' spot. Well equipped throughout and with the added bonus of no TV. There is a caretaker nearby if needed and with a quick response time. There is nothing to disturb the tranquillity and eating out on the patio in the evening is wonderful. Bayeux and St Lo are less than 30 minutes away where there are abundant supermarkets, The nearest villge is about 3km away where there is a boulangerie and boucher. I cannot recommend Le Petit Promenant enough and my thanks to the owner.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being away from the madding crowd
Liked least: Maybe the drive to/from Bayeux each day
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2015
Thank you again for coming back to stay at Le Petit Promenant and I'm glad you liked it as much as before!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 4, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
14 May 2015
I'm so glad you enjoyed yourselves. Thank you for choosing Le Petit Promenant. Rebecca
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing