We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (298)
Filter reviews
298 results
Traveller rating
278
16
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
278
16
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews living room yogurt apple tart beautiful house tea and coffee facilities interesting place beautiful breakfast local cheese secure parking b and b short walk d day beaches each morning a wonderful stay separate entrance home from home tarts
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 298 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2017

We had the pleasure of staying at Clos de Bellefontaine twice in September. Even though we arrived early (12 mid day) we received a warm welcome from Carole, as well as Basile the cat and Marcel the dog.
Our accomodations were superb, with the spacious room on the first floor. The outlook over the gardens was beautiful, especially as we were blessed with great weather over our stay.
Our travel arrangements saw us stay for one night then go to Mont St Michel for a night then back to Clos de Bellefontaine for a night. Carole was so understanding of this and provided storage for our bags whilst we were away.
Whilst everything about the residence was very enjoyable for our stays perhaps the highlights were the breakfasts. There was so much food, of high quality and variety, that we didn't know where to start. Each morning we were also greeted with home baked tarts or fruit flans which were just so good.
Carole was very helpful in her dealings with us and provided numerous tips to assist us in our stays. The home is well positioned being within easy walking distance of the centre of Bayeux.
We also loved the interactions with Basile and Marcel as well as tracking the resident hedgehog in their beautiful gardens.
Whilst we recognised we were staying in Carole and Jerome's home at no time did we feel that we did not have privacy. It is a beautiful part of the world and we will have fond memories of our stays.

Room tip: Room on the first floor is very spacious
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Neil E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J M, Gérant at Clos de Bellefontaine, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2017
Google Translation

Merci pour votre beau message.
Quel bonheur et quel joie d'avoir été l'une des étapes de ce grand voyage au travers du Monde !
Merci, merci, à bientôt (via Facebook)
Carole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 8, 2017

We stayed at Clos De Bellefontaine during a short tour of Normandy. Finding this elegant house down one of Bayeux’s small streets was made easier by Madame Carole sending us detailed directions. Once there, we rang the bell at the gate and were given access to the grounds and secure parking immediately.

We stayed in the twin attic room and, whilst it does have limited headroom in some places, the beds have been positioned so that this is unlikely to give any problem (my husband is over 6ft tall). This room is reached via a winding staircase (similar to but larger than a spiral). At the top is your own personal landing with a door to the bedroom and another door to your private bathroom all beautifully decorated and comfortable. Note: Due to sloping ceilings, there is no standing shower but there is a handheld shower spray in the bath.

Everything about this house is beautiful and tasteful. From the lovely welcome by the owner, the enthusiasm to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible and I haven't mentioned the breakfast yet. The breakfast is probably one of the best we have had in any B&B we have stayed in France. All beautifully home made jams and apple cake, fruit, cereals, yogurt, ham, cheese, fresh orange juice, coffee etc - did I mention the apple cake?

So, if you want a quality place to stay with secure parking in the centre of the lovely Bayeux within an easy walk to bars and restaurants then this is a place not to be missed. We would highly recommend and hope to return again for longer stay.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DAZ15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J M, Propriétaire at Clos de Bellefontaine, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2017
Google Translation

Oui ! C'est tellement super de lire de tels commentaires si positifs et si encourageants.
Cela donne envie d'être généreuse !
Je suis ravie que vous ayez apprécié les confitures faites avec les fruits du Clos de Bellefontaine ou du jardin de ma mère. Je le fait dans ce but. C'est réussi. Merci.
A bientôt !
Carole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 14, 2017

A very comfortable B&B which was wonderfully run by Carole the owner. The room was big and spacious with a good size bathroom. Breakfast was prepared by Carole which consisted of local breads, cheeses and preserves with fresh tartlets. We were able to walk into town,about 5 minutes,and see the famous tapestry and the cathedral. There were many restaurants to choose from and with Carole's help we enjoyed the two nights we stayed there.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grahamerichardson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 12, 2017

We have been two nights beginning september to Clos de Bellefontaine in Bayeux.
The house is very nice and very confortable, rooms are wide, very clean with a beautiful decor and there is a beautiful garden too
Madame Carole, the owner of the house, is a very nice and charming person.
She is always ready to give suggestions to visit Bayeux and other places around.
All is managed with elegance and discretion , always not to disturb guests's privacy.
Something fantastic: the breackfast, prepared by madame Carole herself , with very good and healthy things , beautiful home made cakes, and always local cheeses and fresh fruits
Bayeux is a very interesting place. The visit ot the Tapestry is unmissable.
All very recommended.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aquilark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J M, Propriétaire at Clos de Bellefontaine, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2017

Thank you very much for this review.
We are very please to read it and to know your satisfaction about our home of course and lso the area.
You will be always welcome here !
Kind regards
Carole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 17, 2017

My wife and I knew a bit about what we wanted out of our stay but decided not to book any tours beforehand. We came to find out that tours left and right for seeing the D-Day beaches were sold out. Ms. Mallet, our hostess, went well out of her way to call something like 8 tour companies to ensure we were taken care of. Carole is a very warm and kind person. When you stay here, you're treated like family and with a personal consideration. We cannot wait to come back!!!

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 164nicholasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J M, Propriétaire at Clos de Bellefontaine, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2017

Merci mes amis,
It was a pleasure to welcome you and share my home.
I'm very pleased to see how you hzve been satisfied for your stay.
You will be always welcome in Normandy.
Kind regards
Carole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews