We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and friendly staff”
Review of Hotel L'Univers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel L'Univers
Ranked #20 of 41 Hotels in Caen
Bergen, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location and friendly staff”
Reviewed 7 June 2011

I was in Caen on a study-/businesstrip, and I stayed at hotel L'Univers for two weeks. This is a simple hotel with no extras, but if you really get what you pay for; the location is very good, the rooms ok and clean, and the staff are very helpful and nice and welcoming people. I will really recomend it - espesially if you are traveling on a limited budget.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tsh1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    40
    20
    10
    5
See reviews for
14
39
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2011

As in many other cities in France, the service in the hotel makes you forgive them some other things. Nikolas advised us everything we need and even exceeded our expectations in his hospitality and willing to communicate in good English. Seems we had the smallest room (203 if I am not mistaken), but with biggest bathroom (we've rechecked on evacuation plan). Everything was veeery simple, but clean and cosy, the price is fair. The street wasn't too noisy, hence I slept well for 2 nights we spent there, that is very important. WiFi worked well. Breakfast was tasty.

Important for drivers - parking is NOT private and can't be reserved. It is in front of the hotel, but public and between 3 and 10 pm it can be really hard to find a place. But you should just "hunt" it for 5-10 minutes and most probably somebody will leave. There are other parkings in 5 minutes: open near marina and also underground under chateau, but I don't know the price.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khenaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2010

We were quite satisfied with Hotel L'Univers. Typically small room, of course, but the bathroom was bigger than I expected (still small, but not terribly so), and quite modern and clean. Good friendly and helpful service at the front desk. Excellent location downtown. Recommended!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schnagel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside, New York
1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2010

The owner of this hotel is absolutely terrific. He goes out of his way to do anything he can to make your stay a positive experience. He recommends restaurants in the area and the location is centrally located to all attractions. Our only complaint was our room was over a Irish Pub & thus was very noisy until closing. The owner was more than happy to change our room. Also, please be aware that since this hotel is under new ownership, some of the rooms have been refurbished & others have not. Would definitely recommend that you request a refurbished room & one that is not over the "Pub". Also, keep in mind there are 4 floors and no elevator. All in all, we would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ikeeandb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2010

Our room clearly a recent refurb to a high standard. Hotel recently under new management (excellent English spoken) who are trying very hard. Breakfast is no-frills but perfectly adequate. Free parking overnight in the adjacent town square.
We had a room on the corner of the building which gave a lovely view down the harbourside. But - the hotel is sited over a fairly busy road crossing, so there is some traffic noise unless you keep the windows closed. The higher you go the better, probably. Hence only 3 stars for location.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricouni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2009

I reserved a couple of months in advance, and although they asked for my credit card number, they advised me that they wouldn't charge a deposit. I just had to pay when I got there, and 57 euro for a room with a queen bed, bathroom with a nice tub and a great view of the port, is a pretty good deal! Plus, you could also get a decent breakfast for 6 euro. You had to ask for it in advance, since it was prepared by the receptionist, who brought along the croissants each morning! The lack of an elevator wasn't a problem, since my room was in the second floor. If you are one of those travelers that spends most of the time outside the hotel, checking out the area, then this hotel is definitely worth it! Among other positive aspects, it's very well located, really close to the shops and the Chateau de Caen.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Majarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2009

Great location. We were there a week. No elevator, and we were on the fifth floor at first, but the landlord moved us to 2nd floor. First room had only a plastic curtain between the bedroom and the WC. Our second room had separate shower and toilet - handy. M. Malherbe the landlord did not speak English but was friendly and helpful. Many good places to eat in the area and we walked everywhere. It is clean and very basic. Better for students and young travelers than for older tourists.

  • Stayed March 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LPLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caen hotels
0.1 km away
Ibis Caen Centre
Ibis Caen Centre
#7 of 41 in Caen
555 reviews
0.1 km away
Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance
0.4 km away
Hotel La Fontaine Caen Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel Francois d'O
Hotel Francois d'O
#14 of 41 in Caen
76 reviews
0.8 km away
Ibis Styles Caen Centre Gare
0.5 km away
Royal Hotel Caen Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Univers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Univers

Property: Hotel L'Univers
Address: 12 quai Vendeuvre, 14000 Caen, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Caen
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 41 Hotels in Caen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel L'Univers 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel L'Univers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing