We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Royal!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Barriere Le Royal Deauville
Ranked #7 of 27 Hotels in Deauville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2011

The Royal Barriere is by far the best hotel in beautiful Deauville. The hotel is a palace hotel a la francaise with some beautiful contemporary touches. The lobby, bar, and restaurants are wonderful,the atmosphere distuinguished,and the rooms gorgeous. Also the piano player is among the best in any hotel we have been to.
It s a five star luxury hotel all the way with exemplary service and very skilled concierges. We loved the Royal,and Deaville and will definitely be back soon.Its sister hotel Normandy is good as well but the Royal is much better and in a different league.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelfanCapri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDdirection, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Royal Deauville, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2011

Dear TravelfanCapri,

We are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed the hotel and its services! Thank you very much for sharing your impressions.

Thank you very much as well for congratulating the concierge team and Mario our piano player. I have shared your words with them and thanked them for their outstanding service. Personalised service to our guests is very important to us and we are proud that Dominique Ferron, the Head Concierge and his team met these goals.

We are very much looking forward to welcome you back to Deauville and hope that we will see you at the Royal Barrière!

Yours sincerely

Laurent Roussin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 1,283 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2011

Lucky us that we spent only 24hr in your Royal, I cannot imagine what other misfortune would have crossed our way if we’d stay longer…

Arrived on August 1st at12hr, our room wasn’t ready, the reception clerk informed us that check in is at 15:00hr, and she asked for our mobile phone Nr “to alert you when the room will be ready…”

We thought to “wait” in the pool area till the room will be tied, but… it cost €15-30/person to access the pool (not really mentioned on the site… During stays at the Hotel Royal Barriere guests may take advantage of the private pool and the fitness centre, as well as bicycles available to ride round Deauville in complete freedom…

After lunch (14:30hr), we came back; the room wasn’t ready and reception informed us that it will not be ready before 15:30 though, we had been told check-in time was at 15:00 (couldn’t find such basic info on the Web site), lucky us Tiphaine was here, she changed the original room allocation and conducted us immediately to our room, we appreciated that (unique) positive welcoming.
The room 546, is nice, well situated with nice view…
Walking into the bathroom, we were welcomed by several black hairs (my wife is blond) lying on the sink as well as around the bath, and when using the shower the clogged shower system sprinkled all around…
“Enjoying” creaking? it’s the right place, each and every hinges in that room, creaks, unbelievable! The Royal maintenance didn’t hear about the fact that from time to time you need to grease the hinges…

Late afternoon we decided to enjoy a five O’clock coffee in the little garden, good plan, the weather was great and the plan was perfect, but… the waiter service was so amateur, so slow, forgetting the paper- napkins (after a reminder), making two mistakes on the bill and the best was when another waiter came to clean the restaurant windows, spraying his blue smelly liquid almost on our cakes, what a treat!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MDWaysman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDdirection, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Royal Deauville, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2011

Dear MDWaysman

I apologize for the bad experience you had at the Royal Barrière during your stay in Deauville. I am utterly embarrassed about the situation we put you in and apologize for the inconvenience it caused to you.
Following your mail and fax, i sent you an answer to all those unexpected matters and hopefully you will take advantage of the offer I made.
I do hope you will give us the opportunity to show you that these incidents do not reflect the high standards of service we provide.

I am very much looking forward to welcome you back to Deauville,

Sincerely,

Laurent Roussin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Forget about the niggling things like the small room and no a/c because the rest of this magnificent hotel is memorable. The staff and service are 5 star. It is very expensive but worth every penny. A meal for 2 was180 euros with a couple of drinks. Bar snacks start at €23 but to take in the atmosphere of this grand hotel from a bygone age is worth it. I will be back and be sure to upgrade my room. It is central to everything in this hidden gem, Deauville. We even had a basil fawlty moment when my son ordered "eggs florentine" at breakfast. 2 fried eggs turned up then 10 minutes late 1 boiled egg. Everyone laughed because the magnificent surroundings completely make this trivia.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sam95Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDdirection, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Royal Deauville, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2011

Dear Sam95kent,

First of all I would like to thank you for choosing the Royal Barrière during your last stay in Deauville and for taking the time to share your feedback with us on TripAdvisor.

I already forwarded it to the entire team and needless to say that they are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and the service they provided.

We are very much looking forward to welcome you on your next vacation in Deauville,

Sincerely,

Laurent Roussin
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Hotels of the Barriere group, including the Royal together with Normandy and Hotel du Golf, comprise the most prominent luxury accommodation in the chic though somewhat passe resort city of Deauville. On a number of occasions throughout the year the city's top hotels host a wide array of celebrities from prominent politicians to movie starts who come to this city renowned for international summits and film festivals.

The Royal is conveniently located in the heart of the attractive city center overlooking the beach right next to the upscale shopping area and the casino. There is a small outdoor swimming pool with pay per use sunbeds.

However, despite the imposing outside appearance and grand central hall, the interior of the rooms fails to make a lasting impression. Marble bathrooms, substantial beds, views overlooking the beach or the city.. but generally nothing too special to set it apart from most other four/five star hotels. The interior furnishings and decorations of standard rooms are fairly unremarkable. For a top hotel in the region of Normandy, renowned for its architectural and artistic creativity, it would be fair to expect a little more. Standard rooms at the nearby Hotel du Golf are also fairly larger than here.

The restaurant, while upscale and pretentious, also failed to make a striking impression though the quality was certainly not bad.

Overall a good hotel, but strives to represent itself better than it is. Perhaps, as a city of Deauville itself it comes alive on a few occasions in a year when an event takes places and after reverts to its ordinary existence. If travelling by own car it's probably best to stay at Golf Barriere located in the countryside but only few km away.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank constantino3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDdirection, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Royal Deauville, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2011

Dear CONTANTINO 3,

I would like to start by thanking you for taking the time to share your review on Tripadvisor and for the interest you showed in the Hotels of the Barrière group.

Please make sure I have taken your remarks into great consideration and that we continually work with our team to improve day by day the quality of service for our guests.

I hope I will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon at the Royal Barrière.

Sincerely,

Laurent Roussin
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

We arrived in Deauville following the G8 Summit - the Royal Barriere is a grande dame badly in need of a facelift. It has terrific bones, and the staff couldn't be friendlier or more helpful, but the rooms and common areas are quite tired. Also, it's irritating to pay 30 euros for a bowl of cereal because there is no a la carte menu.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tsb90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDdirection, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Royal Deauville, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2011

Dear TSB 90,

First of all I would like to thank you for having chosen us for your last stay in Deauville and for having shared your feedback with us.

I already forwarded your positive comments to my staff: they are our best reward and they strongly encourage us to uphold the level of service you are entitled to expect…

Regarding the rooms and the common areas, I would like to inform you that we already started a renovation in the lobby, the bar and our one-Michelin star restaurant. This winter will start our 2012 renovation campaign in the rooms.

Concerning your breakfast, our restaurant offers a buffet. The “a la carte” breakfast is only available in your room.

I hope this incident will not have had a negative impact on your future visits, and look forward to welcoming you back upon your next stay in Deauville.

Sincerely

Laurent Roussin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2011

We were very pleasantly surprised by the quality of the hotel, professional and friendly service and attention to detail. The hotel exceeded our expectations by far and large, especially after reading some negative comments before the trip. We have stayed in quite a few 5 star hotels before but do not remember the room to be so well prepared for our arrival, considering we booked less than 48 hours before the arrival and notified about the child joining us 24 hours before the arrival - on a busy bank holiday weekend when the hotel was fully booked. Yet when we arrived our room was stocked with sweets for the child, different size sleepers for man and woman (that hadn't happened even in the Ritz Paris where we had stayed as special guests!), child toiletries and handwritten welcome note. Truly excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
Thank Maria_Alexandra17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDdirection, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Royal Deauville, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2011

Dear Maria_Alexandra17,

First of all i would like to thank you for choosing the Royal Barrière and for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

I already forwarded your positive comments to my staff, they are our best reward and they strongly encourage us to uphold the level of excellence you are entitled to expect…

Thank you again and I hope to see you soon in Deauville

Laurent ROUSSIN
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2011

The Royal Barrie is an anachronism that clings tenaciously to the discomforts of a by-gone era. Peeling wallpaper, cracking paint, broken down furniture, she is a tired old matron desperately in need of retirement. Unlike a comparably superior Ibis or La Quinta, the Royal does not provide even the simplest room amenities – no coffee machine, no ironing board, no iron. In lieu of the faddish modern convenience of a shower, the Royal provides a short narrow tub that is itself bisected by an absurdly placed plaster lion’s head-water spigot. The mattress – of marginal quality to begin with – sags from having hosted too many guests for too many years. Room service delivers 10 € pot of coffee lukewarm and with only one cup. A massage begins an hour late and requires that the patron hunt down the masseuse and (afterward) climb six stories back to their room. After all, the Royal cannot have guests in bath-robes riding its one set of elevators! There are, however, certain very regal features at the hotel. The men’s sauna (which does not work) is rather like a drafty throne room. The wait-staff in the bar left us to our thoughts for 30 minutes before selling us a Lipton tea bag and tepid water for 10 €. Breakfast – an uninspired display of soggy eggs and bad coffee – goes for the princely sum of 30 € per person and is charged to your room whether you eat it or not. Very royal indeed!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RadPoutnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDdirection, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Royal Deauville, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2011

Dear RADPOUTNIK,

The feelings of our customers are at the heart of our daily concerns and we thank you for sharing yours.
I am sorry that your stay did not give you full satisfaction. However, I inform you that we already started our renovation campaign by the lobby, the bar and our gastronomic restaurant and the rooms will follow this winter.
I am deeply sorry that the room service and the bar did not meet your expectations. I already sent your comments to our food and beverage Director.
Regaining your trust is essential for us,I hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon,

Sincerely,

Laurent ROUSSIN
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deauville
0.3 km away
Hotel Barriere Le Normandy Deauville
2.2 km away
Hotel Barriere L'Hotel du Golf Deauville
5 km away
Les Manoirs de Tourgeville
Les Manoirs de Tourgeville
#1 of 1 in Tourgeville
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Cures Marines Trouville Hotel Thalasso & Spa
Cures Marines Trouville Hotel Th...
#2 of 15 in Trouville-sur-Mer
1,013 reviews
16.3 km away
Hotel les bains de Cabourg
0.5 km away
Augeval Hotel
Augeval Hotel
#4 of 27 in Deauville
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barriere Le Royal Deauville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barriere Le Royal Deauville

Address: Boulevard Cornuche, 14804, Deauville, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Deauville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Deauville
#3 Romantic Hotel in Deauville
#3 Family Hotel in Deauville
#4 Spa Hotel in Deauville
#5 Luxury Hotel in Deauville
Price Range: $358 - $1,676 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Barriere Le Royal Deauville 5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Majestically overlooking the beach in Deauville, the Hôtel Royal Barrière is an enchanting palace, a wonderful little gem for exceptional stays. Impeccable hospitality, refined decor, subdued ambience, gourmet restaurant... everything here revolves around luxury, peace & quiet and elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Barriere Le Royal Deauville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Barriere Deauville
Royal Barriere Hotel Deauville
Hotel Barriere Le Royal Deauville Normandy, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing