We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“That's one off my bucket list...”

Claude Monet's House and Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
US$112.68*
and up
Giverny and Monet's Garden Bike Tour
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Giverny
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: These beautiful gardens inspired Impressionist Claude Monet's most famous work.
Toukley, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“That's one off my bucket list...”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

The highlight for me was the lake area and the placement of that green bridge as well as the boat. Not just an artist, a special person in total understanding and connection with nature, art and life. A wonderful walk through the property and to then see Monet's house will intrigue, inspire and provoke the mind. All of this made the appalling service at the souvenir shop seem trivial. A priviledge and a pleasure to visit - a must see....

Helpful?
1 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,724 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,192
    1,154
    273
    66
    39
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful Giverny”
Reviewed 12 February 2012

So very glad that we went out of our way and took a little day trip to this charming village, it was lovely to be able to walk through the gardens as if stepping into an Impressionist painting. What the gardens look like now still look eerily similar to Monet's paintings from a century ago.

More details and photos:
http://francesbeanp.blogspot.com/2012/02/claude-monets-giverny.html

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank francesbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thibodaux, Louisiana
Level Contributor
456 reviews
169 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Show me the Monet”
Reviewed 11 February 2012

I went on this half-day excursion to Giverny from a local travel agency Paris. I didn’t plan anything ahead of time and booked the trip a few days before. It all worked out well. The house and gardens were definitely worth the trip. You don’t need to spend more than a few hours here. You can truly appreciate the beauty of what Monet saw and later didn’t see in his final years. The pond with the lilies and Japanese Bridge makes you feel like Monet did a poor job of showing the beauty of the place. His house and garden as also well kept as they were in his lifetime and you are given a tour of his house. A great excursion to take from Paris.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank RovingProfessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Brave the Crowds to see the Waterlilies”
Reviewed 5 February 2012

If you are a fan of Monet and are near teh town of Giverny, then do not pass up the opportunity to see the Gardens that were his inspiration. I loved walking around the pond, snapping photos, playing with the light, and imagining what it would be to spend many years painting from different perspectives. That said....it is very, very crowded and there is not much to be seen in the house. It is not a place for leisurely strolling (at least not in August) and there is not a quiet spot to just sit. You are jockying for a place to see and pushed along the entire time. I'm glad I visited but understand that this is not a day in the park!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank kd626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
124 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Paradise Found”
Reviewed 4 February 2012

If you miss this incredible place, then you have never been to France. Simply over the top in beauty, peace, style, you name it. The gardens are beyond belief. The house comes from a storybook. Tranquility surrounds you. You must go. Just go there.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank golden2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Claude Monet's House and Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Claude Monet's House and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing