We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal in France!”
Review of Le Fleuron

Le Fleuron
Ranked #10 of 167 Restaurants in Honfleur
Price range: US$20 - US$40
Restaurant details
Reviewed 9 June 2016

What an experience! My husband and I were looking for a nice quiet French meal after arriving in charming Honfleur on a rainy Thursday night. We asked around the square and this place was mentioned. We were early there for a French meal so it looked quiet and empty but the nice young man that waited on us welcomed us and offered us a table outside under the protected awning....what a view! It was so nice and quiet and he made sure we were comfortable....we really wanted to watch the harbor. My entree was asparagus soup.....I have had better.....my husband's smoked salmon and slaw was tasty....but our fish entrees were INCREDIBLE......fresh, flaky, so flavorable! Wish I knew what the chef did to make the baby turnips and beans taste SO GOOD. My strawberry meringue dessert was the best....my husband's chocolate cake and cream he loved as well. The chef's wife waited on us and made certain we were well taken care of. It was as special a night as you would want in this quaint harbor town......a wonderful memory and fantastic meal.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agathain, Manager at Le Fleuron, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2016
Google Translation

Merci pour ce beau commentaire! Nous sommes ravis de vous avoir reçus ici, et nous espérons vous y revoir lors de votre prochain passage?! Thank You!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (289)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2016

Staying overnight in Honfleur we chose this restaurant as it is fairly close to the Mercure hotel. The welcome seemed a bit offhand, not particularly friendly. While my wife's steak was fine and she enjoyed the pear clafoutis, I had the sébaste which was rather bland and tasteless. Average value for money and sadly did not live up to expectations.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank hommelbier2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agathain, Propriétaire at Le Fleuron, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2016
Google Translation

Nous sommes désolés que votre passage ici ne vous ai pas plu... Nous espérons que vous pourrez repasser, et que nous nous rattraperons!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2016 via mobile

We were wandering around in Honfleur on a Saturday evening trying to find a restaurant which wasn't touristy when we spotted this little restaurant. Quickly checked on tripadvisor and although it only had a few reviews they were all very good so we thought we'd give it a try. And what luck that we did.
The restaurant was pretty full (of locals which is a great sign) so we were sat at the bar which was served by two friendly staff. We arrived quite late (past 9pm) and we were presented with the menu board which was chef's suggestion. There were about 7-8 starters, same amount of mains and 4 desserts.
We ordered veal carpaccio and foie gras to start with, followed by flank steak (bavette d'aloyau) and veal ragout. Both presentation and taste were excellent, something you would expect from a top quality restaurant but without the price tag.
We finished off the meal with dessert (chocolate fondant and merengue with strawberries and cream) and again, both were excellent.
The portions are perfect if one goes for a three course meal.
We paid €85 for the whole meal including a small carafe of red wine (1/2 bottle) and large bottle of water which I think is fantastic value for what we had.
Highly recommended, I wouldn't be surprised if this became the top restaurant in Honfleur by the end of the season.
Booking is recommended.

3  Thank Gubanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agathain, Propriétaire at Le Fleuron, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2016
Google Translation

Merci pour votre commentaire, très heureux que votre passage ici vous ai plu! Thank You!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2016 via mobile

I have been twice in this restaurant and it was each time excellent / interesting / all of that at an affordable price. The food is a mix of brasserie and gastronomie, the products are of prime quality. Menu changes every 2 weeks.

2  Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agathain, Propriétaire at Le Fleuron, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2016
Google Translation

Merci pour votre gentil commentaire, revenez quand vous voulez! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2016

Le Fleuron is a brand new restaurant and the first to be opened by Romain Madamet. The interior is tastefully designed. There is a good value menu choice (far superior to the run of the mill average that Honfleur is saturated with). On the carte there are some great choices but the standout must be the Grilled meats - a choice of rib of beef, pork chop or veal chop each of which weighs about a kilo. They are advertised for 2 but could easily feed three. We chose the veal chop which was perfectly cooked and very well presented(see photo) . The wine list is small but very well priced -- in particular the price per glass. There is a fine selection of desserts. The service is professional;the welcome is warm and the food fantastic!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ian k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agathain, Propriétaire at Le Fleuron, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2016
Google Translation

Merci pour votre gentil commentaire, nous serons ravis de vous accueillir à nouveau. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Fleuron also viewed

Honfleur, Calvados
Honfleur, Calvados
 
La Riviere-Saint-Sauveur, Honfleur
Honfleur, Calvados
 
Honfleur, Calvados
 

Been to Le Fleuron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing