We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (213)
Filter reviews
213 results
Traveller rating
112
83
14
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
112
83
14
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjacuzzi bathbreakfast roomhotel doorsmall hotelwould stay againno elevatorold buildinglounge areawould highly recommend this hotelharbour viewwalk in showermain partlocation is excellenttop floorair conditioningdouble roomfrench hotel
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 213 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2017

This hotel is located right by the harbour at Hinfleur. Despite being on the main thoroughfare it was rarely noisy during our stay, which was at the very end of the French summer break so it was very busy. The hotel is located on two small buildings close to each other and seems to have been recently refurbished to a high standard. It does not do meals other than breakfast. This was a good quality continental breakfast. The hotel is, however, surrounded by good restaurants. The staff that we met were efficient and charming and the room large and well appointed. There is parking for guests but it is a short drive away and it is quite/very tight to park in, depending on the size of your car. Although you get a discounted rate if you use this car park (approx 30%) you may wish to consider leaving your car in the main town car park just around the corner. There is a small residents' lounge with complementary tea and coffee and fruit. We could not fault it in any way during our stay. We think that the larger rooms are in the main part of the building. The other building feels more modern but some rooms have a harbour view.
We ate in a restaurant that is part of the hotel group, there seemed to be three. It was predominantly seafood, delicious and good value.

Room Tip: Some rooms are directly above a restaurant kitchen
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hasthomas49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 13, 2017 via mobile

I stayed with my husband and young son in a family suite and it was fantastic. Loads of space for all of us and it was really luxurious and welcoming. Amazing bathroom and we had loads of spa baths (which were very necessary after our previous week camping!). Really high quality continental breakfast with lots of choice. Perfect location right on the quayside. Great views. Not a single complaint from any of us. Will definitely come back.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank kathybsuffolk99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 10, 2017

We stayed two nights ( Thursday & Friday ) on our way down to Bordeaux.
The L'Absinthe is on the river front, as close to all the bars & restaurants as you can get. We used the secure car parking facility ( charged ) which is a few streets away. Our room was excellent, overlooking the river, with lots a great view. During our stay we did lots of walking and sightseeing in Honfleur. The breakfast both mornings was a very good quality continental, with attentive service from friendly staff.
We would highly recommend to anyone wanting a central base for exploring or just wanting a relaxing holiday.
Thankyou to all at the L' Absinthe for a really enjoyable stay

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Janet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 5, 2017

Such fun! From arrival, our family was greeted kindly and made to feel at home. The room had several small sofa beds that allows each child to have their own bed/space while connected to a main bedroom. The furnishings are perfect for a French hotel. The top-floor windows add to the character. The room is amazingly CLEAN! It is surprising to find such an old, authentic room that is so very clean and maintained. Stayed at a beautiful 5-star hotel in Paris, and this hotel was equally enjoyed!

Breakfast was terrific. There's a laundry mat that is clean just a couple of blocks away. There are also parks with gardens and play structures nearby. Location is amazing!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LocalNewOrleans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 4, 2017

We have stayed at L'Absinthe Hotel 3 times now and have been impressed each time. The first and most recent time we visited we were in the main part of the hotel but on the second visit we were in a room overlooking the harbour. The view was amazing from this bright and airy room. Our room recently did not have the view but was large with a comfortable bed,plenty of seating and a spacious bathroom including a Jacuzzi bath in addition to a shower.
We would have liked tea and coffee making facilities in our room but this is uncommon in Europe and there is free coffee, tea, biscuits and water in the lounge area of the hotel. There is also a small breakfast room where we could help ourselves to a selection of cheese, cold meat, fresh bread, fruit, yogurts and eggs in addition to the delicious orange juice, coffee and selection of croissants and bread that was brought to our table.
There is no bar but nothing is very far away in Honfleur so this was no problem.
The staff were unfailingly polite and helpful - nothing was too much trouble for them.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews