We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottage in the Loire”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Abbaye Cottage

Master Bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Master Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Master Bedroom
Stone staircase
Welcome Pack on Arrival
Fine Dining
Comfortable and Spacious Lounge
Afternoon Tea
Comfortable lounge
Alfresco Lounging
Terrace
Private walled garden
Village Restaurants
Fontevraud Square
Alfresco Dining
Abbaye Entrance
Bakery
Fontevraud Abbaye
Countryside views
Fontevraud
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Fontevraud-l'Abbaye, Maine et Loire, Pays de la Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
garymirvi...
Woking, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful cottage in the Loire”
Reviewed 10 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Loved it here, everything was perfect, the cottage was beautiful, garden really peaceful yet right in the centre of the village and brilliant location.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Aug 2017
Thanks for your lovely words, we are so pleased you enjoyed your holiday. Hope to see you again x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
01PLN01
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Luxury In The Loire”
Reviewed 25 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

What a gem! Abbaye Cottage in the Loire Valley village of Fontevraud L'Abbaye absolutely deserves its 'luxury' tag. We stayed for a week and should have booked to stay longer.
First, the village: Nestled among fields of sunflowers, Fontevraud is a film-set-perfect collection of higgledy-piggledy white stone houses fanning from a central, cobbled square dotted with restaurants, boulangerie, biscuiterie etc. It's everything you'd imagine a sun-baked French village to be, where the pastime of choice is sitting at a cafe table, sipping a coffee or cooling down by running the condensation from a cool glass of utterly superb Loire wine along your arm. That and, of course, strolling across the square to the abbey that is one of the world's great treasures...and the awe-inspiring burial place of Richard the Lionheart and Henry ll, along with more assorted royalty than you'd expect to find anywhere outside Westminster Abbey.
Better still, Fontevraud is superbly placed for the prime sights of the Loire valley. The city of Samur is less than 20 minutes away, while there are more fairytale chateaux nearby than you can shake a stick at. Especially the ultimate fairytale castle, Chateau d'Usse, where Charles Perrault was inspired to write Sleeping Beauty.
Now the cottage: Set behind walls, literally just seconds from the glorious Abbey is Abbaye Cottage. Built in the same creamy-white tuffeau stone it is an oasis of cool and chic. The owners have thought of everything...bubbly, cakes and fresh bread on the kitchen table to greet you, Egyptian cotton sheets on the beds and even wonderfully scented soap in the two ensuite bathrooms. There were just the two of us, but there's plenty of space for four...including in the hot tub in an unoverlooked garden where you hear only the faint hum of bees in the lavender.
For quiet nights in, there are UK channels on the TV, but we spent most evenings exploring the lovely restaurants in and around the village.
Downsides? We couldn't find any. Maybe the village square could have done with a little music in the night but, on the other hand, that might destroy the perfect peace of the place. We've never come home from a holiday so relaxed, or so determined to go back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2017
Thanks for your really kind words. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we sincerely hope you come back to visit us again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francomam...
Ojai, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Exceeded All Our Expectations!”
Reviewed 22 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We booked this lovely vacation rental after reading many glowing reviews, so our expectations were already very high, but even so, upon arrival, the accommodations were even better than expected. The entire rental process, from inquiry to departure, was made even more seamless due to the attention and diligence of the friendly and knowledgable owner, Lucy. She made every effort to prepare for our visit, and sent us a great deal of helpful information prior to our visit, so we could make the most of our time in the area. The cottage itself is very well located,and was easy to find with Lucy's directions. She was there to greet us and answer any questions on arrival, and was available throughout our stay to help. The village is small and adorable, with several good options for dining, and a small store for provisions, along with a boulangerie about 2 minutes away. We enjoyed spending time at the Abbey wandering the grounds in both day and evening, and had a spectacular last dinner at the Michellin starred restaurant there. A great value for the quality and service we experienced. The cottage is decorated to a very high standard, including high quality linens, fluffy white towels, and beautiful interior decor. The two bedrooms are equipped with their own private bathrooms, and the mattresses are exceptionally comfortable. The bedrooms are exactly as advertised, and are beautifully decorated. Every effort has been taken to ensure a comfortable and enjoyable week. We loved the private and beautiful garden, and spent many peaceful hours there, having meals and playing cards. We even experienced a thunder and lightning storm, so we moved the table inside and started a cozy fire in the living room. The jacuzzi was also a welcome amenity. The extraordinary privacy and peacefulness of the location really added to the enjoyment of our vacation. I would caution anyone with mobility issues that there are a number of stairs to negotiate to reach the bedrooms/bathrooms, so one might want to inquire with Lucy specifically if you think anyone in your group might have difficulty. Having said that, the tradeoff of steep stairs was quite worth it to spend a week in this beautiful and historic property.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 May 2017
It was an absolute pleasure having you stay and we would love to welcome you back another time to continue your french adventures. It was great to meet you all, and appreciate you looking after everything during your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karin C
1 review
“A lovely place to come home to”
Reviewed 28 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Abbey Cottage. The cottage is very cosy, excellently equipped and close to many interesting sights. An ideal place to spend a relaxed holiday.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2016
Thanks for your lovely comments. It was a pleasure having you to stay, thank you for looking after the cottage and leaving everywhere so clean and tidy. You are perfect guests!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen C
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What a Little Gem!”
Reviewed 27 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We had a wonderful holiday at Abbeye Cottage which is equipped to a very high standard, and we felt very at home. Lucy was very helpful in the run up to our holiday, providing lots of local information and even arranged an appointment at the local vet for our dogs to have their passports sorted for our return to England.

Lucy left us a lovely welcome pack which included home made scones, bread, jam etc, together with a bottle of fizz chilling in the fridge! She even left biscuits for the dogs and had a bowl of water waiting for them.

The cottage and garden are beautiful and we enjoyed relaxing in the hot tub at night.

The village is very quaint and there's a good selection of places to eat and drink, and is also ideally located for visiting the surrounding area.

We will definitely return, but next time it will be for longer than a week!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful location, yet close to all amenities and the fact that it was such a beautiful house
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2016
It was great to meet you and your gorgeous boys! We are so glad that you enjoyed Abbaye Cottage and plan to return, we will really look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: The bed was to comfortable it was hard to get out of
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 Apr 2016
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time at Abbaye Cottage. We will look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 Apr 2016
Thanks for this great review. We really enjoyed having you stay a second time, and hope that you will come again too!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$211
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing