We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great place to stay, and eat breakfast!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Axe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Axe Hotel
Ranked #23 of 48 Hotels in La Rochelle
Certificate of Excellence
Ucluelet, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great place to stay, and eat breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

Well, afer reading the other positive reviews I was not sure I could add anything.
Yes, the hotel was nice, the room small but clean and very comfortable. The owner was helpful and friendly. Since my wife is francophone we never tried to speak English so we did not have a problem communicating. Apparently he is of Dutch orgin which may explain the lavish and varied breakfast he serves. Different kinds of bread, cheese, cold cuts, juices, cereals, fruit and I don't remember what else. Funnily enough, it was the only hotel we ate breakfst at while in France for almost 4 weeks! It was just superb. At other times we just had a 'petit cafe' and a croissant somewhere on the terrace of a patisserie. anyweay. We liked La Rochelle and the Axe Hotel. I am sure we will be back.

Room Tip: Not really. In the front close to the bar next door it may be noisier. Usually we were so tired afte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gourmand62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    82
    17
    5
    2
See reviews for
15
77
10
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
west sussex
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

we stayed at the Axe for one night on our way back from the South of France (3 friends) we were later than expected but our room had been saved for us although the hotel was full. Nice room overlooking the main square , double glazed windows kept the noise out but by the evening all was quiet so we were able to leave it open as it was very hot. The location was excellent right by the old harbour, lots of restaurants and cafes all around. The room was clean , the bathroom small but adequate . The owner was very helpful and carried our cases up to the 3rd floor, no lift , this beeing an old house but nicely modernisd. Breakfast was good, continental plus fruit, cold meats, eggs and yogurts and choice of hot drinks.Parking was in a side street or we could havegone in a car park.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anelysa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

This little hotel was fabulous, as was La Rochelle. The room was perfect (we had 4 people and it had two double beds) although small, the bathroom was very nice and the owner so accomadating! He carried our bags up the stairs for us and was as helpful as possible. He spoke very little English, and unfortunately, we spoke very little French, so we did a lot of gesturing and got by. There is no parking but there is a free parking lot a few blocks away that was very convenient once you dropped your bags at the hotel. There is a very good small pastry shop around the corner, although the breakfast that they provide (for a price) is very nice as well. You must not miss the aquarium. The best that we have ever been to and I Iove aquariums. The restaurant there was very nice too with a great view and decent prices. The restaurants that the owner recommended were VERY good as well.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adshansel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2010

We stayed at the Axe hotel for one night on our way back to Spain from the U.K. The hosts were great and even though they could not speak English we got by with Spanish and it was not a problem. The hotel looks as if it has been completely refurbished as everything is fresh and new. The room (triple) was quite small but perfectly adequate (who wants to sit in your room with La Rochelle a few paces away!) The breakfast was lovely. We did not have any problem with noise (as mentioned on a previous review) but there was some work going on in a new "Place" opposite which may be a bit of a problem but did not affect us as it was over a weekend when we were there - it looks like they have nearly finished anyway. All in all we were highly delighted with all aspects of Axe and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank euroblade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2010

We arrived on an early morning flight and found the hotel owners very helpful letting us check into our room as soon as it became available. Unfortunately the room we had been assigned was very small and we asked to change which we were able to do after the first night. We found our room to be very clean and modern. The hotel's location in the old port is excellent but due to its' central location it can become noisy at night time. The double windows do alot to drown out the noise. The hotel owners do not speak any English but will make every effort to communicate. One issue is that there are no English channels on the television but with so much to see around La Rochelle this is not too much of a problem. The hotel also does not have an elevator but overall we would recommend it and enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irish_Couple8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2008

Would definitely NOT advise anyone to stay here. Room well below standard for price - old, very small, inadequate storage for clothes etc. Wallpaper peeling off wall, TV broken. VERY noisy room. Bathroom tiny - shower a mere dribble and lots of black mould in shower cubicle. Had to be out of room by 11.00 am every day. Owner unhelpful when faced with criticism. Did not accept the room was below standard. Definitely NOT worth it's 2 star rating. So uncomfortable had to cut our losses and decamp to IBIS 50 yds away. What a contrast!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — size and cleanliness of room
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RachmanBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2007

Have just returned from a 2 night stay in this hotel. It was a central location which was great but the room was increadibly dated and tiny. It was very clean though. Avoid this hotel if you have babies, they could not provide a cot and when I asked them to heat up my baby food I was told that I must not be in the hotel at 11.00am as it was when they cleaned!! how rude!! - when I also asked if I could leave some baggage as we had a late flight that was also a hastle and the eventually let us keep it there for a few hours

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — dated decor, small, staff sometimes rude
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma_Smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Rochelle hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Le Bord'O
Hotel Le Bord'O
#33 of 48 in La Rochelle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.0 km away
Ibis La Rochelle Vieux Port
Ibis La Rochelle Vieux Port
#14 of 48 in La Rochelle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Saint Jean d'Acre
Hotel Saint Jean d'Acre
#6 of 48 in La Rochelle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel La Marine
Hotel La Marine
#8 of 48 in La Rochelle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.2 km away
Le Yachtman
Le Yachtman
#31 of 48 in La Rochelle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.6 km away
Un Hotel en Ville
Un Hotel en Ville
#24 of 48 in La Rochelle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Axe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Axe Hotel

Property: Axe Hotel
Address: 5 rue de la Fabrique, 17000, La Rochelle, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > La Rochelle
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 48 Hotels in La Rochelle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Axe Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Axe Hotel : Hotel Vieux Port La Rochelle pas cher Hotel Independant et pas cher au coeur de La Rochelle (Vieux Port), France Axe Hotel vous accueille au coeur de La Rochelle, idealement situe sur le vieux port et a deux pas du centre historique, lieu de detente et de decouverte. L'etablissement se trouve a 300 metres environ de la gare et de l'Aquarium, ainsi qu'a environ 500 metres de l'Espace Encan. L'Office de Tourisme se trouve quant a lui a 100 metres de notre etablissement. Que ce soit pour des vacances en famille ou en couple, Axe Hotel est le lieu ideal pour deconnecter et passer un moment relaxant. Les 13 chambres de l'etablissement 2 etoiles, mises a votre disposition, sont fraichement renovees et fournissent un confort de qualite pour un sejour le plus agreable possible. Afin que vous passiez un moment unique vous trouverez une decoration soignee. Nous proposons en plus une connexion wifi securisee selon les dernieres normes dans tout l'hotel ainsi qu'un petit dejeuner complet. Nous attirons votre attention sur le fait que l'enregistrement des arrivees s'effectue de 14h00 a 20H00 (heure de fermeture de la reception). Le parking public du Vieux Port se trouvant a proximite, propose 650 places de stationnement securisees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Axe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing