We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place to stay”
Review of Aquabella Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aquabella Hotel
Ranked #15 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We had a nice stay here with the staff being accomodating and professional. The Breakfast is standard for Europe, and the parking is close by and sufficiently spacious... (Even for our SUV). The hotel is well situated to visit the historic core of the city via walking, and is a very good value for Aix.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank turtlefly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

360 - 366 of 1,143 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2012

I'd have to agree with many of the other reviews on this hotel. It's a good deal and very nice for a 3 star hotel in Aix. It was on the expensive side and with that extra cost you get some luxuries, like robes and slippers in the room, and some very nice amenities and a lovely room. For me, everything was very well done and very tasteful. The room was very clean and exceptionally nice.

It has a light, airy feeling and a lovely balcony with a view of the roof tops of Aix. It's was really lovely. In addition to the hotel there is a spa which I also visited (I'll review it separately). The food in-room was expensive but such is the case with in room dining. It was very good however and I enjoyed sitting in the sun off the balcony and relaxing. The service was excellent and the staff spoke both English and French.

The hotel has a parking garage out front of the enterance which is convienent and it sits north of the old part of the city so 3 minutes by foot to shopping and 7-8 minutes to everything else.

I'll definitely go again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank French-American-fam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in December 2011. Overall very pleasant stay, clean room, nice spa with complimentary steam room and jacuzzi. Staff was very friendly. Only 5 minute walk to center of town.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AntNYC18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Our stay in at the Aquabella was unusual; it was the off-season (mid-winter) and the spa was closed, so all we did there was sleep. We never ate at the hotel as prices were high and there are so many attractive choices in Aix.

So my review is just of the hotel location and our rooms. The location is fine: at the northern edge of the old city, and 5-10 minutes' walk from anywhere you will want to go. Our rooms were beautiful and comfortable. We had one room for us, and one for our sons (with single beds). The rooms were in their own little suite area, with a door to the hallway and then individual doors to the two rooms. This gave us a lovely combination of privacy (from the rest of the hotel) and communication (between the two rooms).

My one complaint was that there was NO ventilation in the WC, so that if anything smelly happens there, you'll know about it in the main bedroom for several minutes!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewYorkJudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We stayed in this hotel for one night . The staff were extremely helpful except for the young girl in the spa who gave us the towels and then gave me my body scrub. She was very miserable and definitely needs to review her career because dealing with the public was not her forte, she totally lacked inter-personnel skills.
The spa also was quite dirty around the loungers coffee split and not cleaned up. By 6pm there was no coffee left in the pots and I had to go and ask Miss Happy for a cup for the water. overall it was an ok spa.
The rooms were large but not particularly great.
the hotel is definitely more a conference type hotel and I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We stayed at this hotel in April this year. The hotel was quite nice and set in the old part of Aix, which was a real bonus. I was a little disappointed on a number of counts. The room we were assigned was quite basic, although we paid for an upgrade. The balcony overlooked some houses opposite and limited the view. In addition, the walls on the balcony were heavliy stained with water which had flowed from the balcony above. This left green algee marks which detracted from the overall apperance of the hotel.

I also found the reception staff rather aloof and the bar was poorly manned which meant quite often that I had to wait ages or ask reception to fetch someone when I wanted a drink.

There was a bar on the opposite corner and patrons from that establishment were allowed (and encouraged) to use the piazza below our room. This meant, that if you wanted to sit quietly on the balcony in the evening, the noise and hubbub coming from below, made this impossible.

The restaurant was also a bit of a disappointment, so we only ate dinner there on the first evening, choosing instead to eat in nearby restaurants (of which there was an abundance).
Breakfast was a better experience with a good selection.

Overall, the hotel was well located and the grounds were pleasant.

Room Tip: I wouldn't bother to pay for an upgrade for a room with a balcony. The rooms without the balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SmedleyBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We stayed here while Christmas shopping in Aix. It was a great place to stay in cold weather as residents have access to the sauna and jacuzzi. Our room was spacious and hotel staff very friendly and helpful.

Being December, the outside pool was not open, but we had a peek, and that might tempt us to return in the summer. The restaurant area looked perfect for warmer weather too with some tables outside, and some in a marble-tiled area which must be great if trying to escape the heat of the sun.

We flew to Marseille airport, then took the shuttle bus to Aix. It is possible to walk to the hotel from the bus terminus, but not recommended if you have anything other than very light luggage - and certainly not recommended if, like us, you tend to get lost easily (not all roads had names).

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hove123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
0.9 km away
Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Provence Centre - MGallery By Sofitel
Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Prov...
#5 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
904 reviews
0.8 km away
Renaissance Aix-en-Provence Hotel
Renaissance Aix-en-Provence Hote...
#4 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
889 reviews
0.4 km away
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
#6 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
La Maison d'Aix
La Maison d'Aix
#1 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
713 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de France
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de Fr...
#3 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
642 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Cezanne
Hotel Cezanne
#8 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquabella Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquabella Hotel

Address: 2 rue des Etuves, 13100, Aix-en-Provence, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
#8 Romantic Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
#10 Luxury Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range: $176 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aquabella Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Aix en Provence, surrounded by a magnificent Mediterranean garden, you will find the Aquabella Hotel. With 108 comfortable rooms. Our charming hotel, open 24/7 all year round, promises you a unique stay where everything is done with you in mind... Let go and emerge yourself in the serene, contemporary surroundings, taking advantage of the Sensory Spa and heated outdoor pool (open from May to September, weather-dependent). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Cancelon, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aquabella Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquabella Hotel Aix En Provence
Aquabella Aix En Provence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing