We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant but pricey”
Review of La Telline

La Telline
Ranked #33 of 303 Restaurants in Arles
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed August 6, 2017 via mobile

Have been before. Went for Telline which was excellent other food of high quality. Rose very tasty but overall very pricey for what it is.

Date of visit: August 2017
1  Thank rosdol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 101 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2016

Had an excellent lunch at La Telline during a cycling trip around the Camargue. Very intimate setting, decorated with beautiful antiques like old radios, bullfighting posters. The cuisine is simple, and masterful - local products like red rice, bull steak, grilled eel (cooked on the fire before our eyes,) and of course, the "telline" clams served in a dish tossed with a thin coating of aioli. Overall, perfect.

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank jlarsen84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 12, 2015

We dined two nights at the very small (5 tables) La Telline while staying at their hotel, Mas de la Forge (separate review - loved it). The menu was the same both nights, and we get the impression that it changes a bit with available fish but otherwise is pretty constant. There are a handful of appetizers, and on the two nights we had the escargots du mer (spiral-shell sea snails), the telline (tiny clams, sweet and amazingly good) and a highly-priced dish of fish eggs which had been pressed, dried and cut into thin slices -- undoubtedly a delicacy but not to our taste. They offer meat, and although we didn't have it the steaks looked massive and smelled good. We stuck with fish, which Jean-Paul cooks over the fire in the dining room (as he does all the dishes). Be aware that when you order fish it is a whole fish. Because of the style of cooking there's no way to cook a half. So if one person wants fish he/she faces (depending on the sizes of the fish that came in that day) a very large and expensive (priced by weight) meal. Our compromise was in one case to split a fish and in another to have a fish and the eel, which could be done in a smaller portion. The fish was all perfectly cooked, moist and delicious. They leave the scales on the fish to keep moisture in in the cooking and then discard the skin, which is not something I've seen before -- but the result was great. Desserts are excellent. The riz au lait (rice pudding) was extraordinary, as was the chocolate gateau. Flan was tasty but mild by comparison to the other two. Wine list is good, and Jean-Paul happily steers you to a vin du pays from the lower end of the price list, something I always respect.

Florence is the bustling heart of the room, taking orders, plating the fish, and generally filling the space with her cheerful conversation and presence. An evening there is warm, comfortable and delicious.

Date of visit: October 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 30, 2015

So pleased we came across this wonderful place on TripAdvisor as we also found out they run a B&B! Which is equally as good!

La Telline was a wonderful experience and had we been staying in the Camargue region for longer we would have LOVED to have eaten here again!

The food was delicious! Simple, well cooked local food from the Camargue region.

We had never had tellines like this before or this type of fish roe before (not sure what they called it but it's a type of botargo) and both these starters were a real treat... delightful flavours! Our fish main was cooked to perfection as was our yummy dessert. Our rosé was wonderful too.

The hosts were lovely! They only speak a little English and I only speak a little French but between us we did just fine.

The restaurant interior is just beautiful it has such a nice feel about it... only wish we had a few of these types of restaurants in the UK.

La Telline is a really special place and I would highly recommend a visit. I hope to go back one day soon!

Really... if you visit this region be sure to pay this little gem of a place a visit for a taste of the Camargue!

Date of visit: September 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CallMeMel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 23, 2015

If you are visiting the Camargue area, you should not miss the experience of this restaurant. It is a tiny home with the restaurant downstairs that serves outstanding food. We all had the Royal Dorade and it was incredible. The fresh fish is brought whole to the table to show you before it is cooked and then the chef puts it on a rack over the hot coals in the dining room fireplace. The taste of a whole fish grilled over wood coals takes fish to a new level of flavour. The chef personally takes your order and answers any questions you may have. He and his wife (we assumed) are very friendly and helpful and the ambience of the small dining area is very cozy. A specialty of this region is the tellines which are like very small clams but the taste is amazing. If this restaurant had been closer to where we were staying in France, we would have gone back several times.

Date of visit: May 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank RobertandSally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Telline also viewed

Arles, Bouches-du-Rhone
Arles, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Arles, Bouches-du-Rhone
Arles, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Arles, Bouches-du-Rhone
Arles, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to La Telline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing