We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Superb hotel, highly recommended.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Spa Le Calendal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Spa Le Calendal
Ranked #2 of 56 Hotels in Arles
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Superb hotel, highly recommended.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

Difficult to overpraise. Superbly located hotel in the old town next to the Roman theatres, simply coming out of the front door was an experience. The staff are friendly and heplful, for example, we had booked parking in a local carpark in advance, and a member of staff got into our car when we arrived to navigate us to and from the carpark, safe and just five minutes walk away.. The rooms are comfortable and we had some of the best nights sleep we have ever had in quiet dark rooms with comfy mattresses and pillows. The hotel offers a fine buffet breakfast and also has a great cafe for smaller breakfasts. It is also open into the evening for drinks and light meals. There are three computers for guest use. The decor is adventurous, there are travel books available to browse, a small tourist shop, and the whole place had a lively buzz. Our one regret is the restaurant was not open in February for meals, since it has a good reputation.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    714
    423
    81
    23
    9
See reviews for
247
648
67
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yarmouth Port, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
89 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Spent two nights here in December 2011. Room was large with bright Provencal decor, clean, and comfortable. The lounge area was a great place to unwind, check email, and have a coffee. Location, across from the arena, a UNESCO heritage site, was perfect, but driving to it takes nerves of steel, given the narrow, one-way streets of Arles. When my bag was stolen during our visit, the staff was very helpful and sympathetic. The "spa" is not really a spa, but there is a pool to sit in and relax, after a hard day of walking, and we had it to ourselves. Breakfast is not included, but it's easy to find a less expensive breakfast in the area.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leslie372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

We were travelling through Provence, staying at four different places. We booked Le Calendal in advance from reviews on Trip Advisor. This hotel ticked all the boxes, it was possibly the best location in Arles, All the staff were friendly and helpful. The lounge area was very comfortable, a place to spend hours just reading and drinking. Our room was clean, comfortable and spacious. Breakfast was a good buffet with all we wanted.
We did not try the spa, that would have been a bonus.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

I highly recommend this hotel and want to come back again. What a pleasant surprise we had when we came to this hotel. It is located right next to the roman arena, shopping, restaurants, and just a great value. We had a two bedroom which had a large double bed with two twins in the second room. The bathroom is large. The entire place is very clean and just charming. Everyone at the hotel is incredibly hospitable and the hotel cafe is a great place to have a cafe, wine, or to eat breakfast or lunch. We stayed in room three (must try room four next time). Room three has a balcony but it just overlooks some roofs.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crawley33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LE CALENDAL H, Gérant at Hotel Spa Le Calendal, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for posting your commentary as well as pictures.

Let me take the time to remind further guests that all rooms at the Calendal are different in size color view... !!!

Your commentaries are always a great help to further guests that can imagine the general atmosphere of our house.

regards Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulon, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

There isn't much to say here that has not already been said, except for this one little critical point which was a huge bonus to us. It's not just kid friendly, they are well stocked with games, toys, books and dvd's for kids of all ages. My so was so happy he was content to pass the time in the hotel's cafe area. In addition, 150 paces (I counted them) from the front door is a lovely park for young children. Another bonus for us.

I cannot thank the hotel enough for offering this to it's guests. It's rare indeed to find. For the price, the location and offerings were generous, including ammenities in the room which is also not very common. The staff was helpful and friendly and appeared to speak a multitude of languages. Some reviewers have complained of the rooms being dated, the beds uncomfortable and walls too thin. I can say the beds weren't the best, the rooms are dated and there is some street noise, but that wouldn't stop us from returning. As European travelers now, this is typical of the region and we just accept it. Perhaps the hotel will considering updating the beds soon. The walls and noise, well...that's different. Hotel spa was a great visit for us as well. We went early in the morning and had the place to ourselves. It's small but service was great. Will go again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank French-American-fam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LE CALENDAL H, General Manager at Hotel Spa Le Calendal, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Hello Dear guest,

Thank you in your detailed commentary !

Yes the hotel aims to be kid friendly with games , playing cards books .... to spend time in a family atmosphere ! Maybe the reason to this is that the hotel proprietors are a family of 6 and search these services when traveling themselves ?

As to our decor , the rooms can seam outdated if you are looking for a design modern place. We consider ourselves as traditional Provence for our room decor.

Thank you again and hope to see you in a near future .
Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

We have stayed at the Hotel Calendal 3 times now and can't wait to return. Discovered it thru a Rick Steve's travel tv show and fell in love! We have had Room No 4 with the balcony overlooking the Antic Theatre twice and last Fall stayed in a back room with a rooftop terrace overlooking the garden and outdoor restaurant and spa. No 4 is still our favorite because it was the first time we went to Arles, but I dont think there is a bad room in this hotel, its lovely, the breakfasts are wonderful, but its the location that is impossible to beat! I have no problem recommending this hotel, have done so many times and cant wait to return. Hello to the wonderful staff at the Hotel Calendal!!!

Room Tip: Room No 4 has a lovely big, sunny balcony. It can be noisy at night but is worth it for the view fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BettyBoopWinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LE CALENDAL H, General Manager at Hotel Spa Le Calendal, responded to this review, 17 January 2012
Thank you for posting your review. It's always nice to see guests coming again !!! and enjoying it again. Hope to see you soon in 2012 !! in room 4 of course !!

Happy new year to you and your family !!!

THE CALENDAL STAFF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
102 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

Just in fron on the Old Theatre, Le Calendal is a very charming hotel in the Arles Centre. Structure of the hotel is quite strange, it looks like a labyrinth (I lost myself several times...), Our room was in Provence Style, on the small garder, closed due to winter period. Room very clean, the same for the toilet. Linked to the hotel there is also a bar offering very good sandwiches. Hotel has an agreement with the Public Parking, as 10 minutes walk from the hotel. Staff will help you to find the parking and cross the pedestrian area.
There is also a SPA, pay attention you have to be at least 18 to be admitted. Some PC available at the lobby.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emafalc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LE CALENDAL H, General Manager at Hotel Spa Le Calendal, responded to this review, 12 January 2012
Thank you for your time in reviewing our property.

Yes THE CALENDAL is a real labyrinth as the hotel property is originally a large 17th century building that added 6 typical Arlesiens houses . The garden terrace is in the middle of the 6 houses and we have the advantage of having as you described A CENTRAL LOCATION between Arena and Antic Theater.

Rooms are to be expected smaller that your traditional modern hotel due to this location and old building .
The general atmosphere of the OLIPAN café as well as the downstairs lobby is modern (with free computers for guests travelling without their own)
while the hotel decor as you described is more traditional and Provence style , with colour.

Parking is yes a factor that should be organised before arriving when possible ! Our staff can organise the 8 euros deal with the local closed municipal parking.

Finally , thank you for specifying that future HOTEL GUESTS that wish to use the SPA facilities must be 18 years old .!

Again thank you for all your details !

THE MANAGEMENT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arles hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel De L'Amphitheatre
0.2 km away
Hotel & Spa Jules Cesar Arles MGallery by Sofitel
0.2 km away
Logis Hotel de la Muette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel du Cloitre
Hotel du Cloitre
#9 of 56 in Arles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Atrium Arles
8.5 km away
Villa Regalido
Villa Regalido
#1 of 8 in Fontvieille
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spa Le Calendal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spa Le Calendal

Property: Hotel Spa Le Calendal
Address: 5 rue Porte de Laure, 13200, Arles, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Arles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Arles
#1 Family Hotel in Arles
#1 Business Hotel in Arles
#4 Romantic Hotel in Arles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Spa Le Calendal 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The HOTEL SPA LE Calendal in Arles ideally located between the Antic Theater and Amphitheater, in historical center. A charming hotel, comfortable and stylish. The Comptoir du Calendal is the perfect place to have simple homemade soups salads quiches gratins .... and wonderful organic bread sandwiches some even available for vegetarians. The Spa Aux Bains du Calendal offers roman baths and roman ambiance (adults only +18 years old). Hot Bath - massage shower and Hammam. Large variety of massages also available . Home away from home ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Hotel Spa Le Calendal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Calendal Hotel
Le Calendal Arles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing