We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place”
Review of La Comedie

La Comedie
Ranked #26 of 303 Restaurants in Arles
Price range: US$20 - US$35
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed June 29, 2018

We were walking around Arles, looking for a place to have dinner when we found this place. It was a Thursday evening and there were not so many eaters.
Friendly welcome, efficient service. The food is an interpretation of the local terroir. I.e. they use Mediterranean ingredients but in a different, more creative way than most restaurants.
They have a nice wine list with a lot of wine from local domaines and give good advice with regards to the wine. Wine was in a carafe and at the right temperature.
And last but not least: good value for money.
This is the best place where we had dinner during our vacation.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank edhimal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 51 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2018 via mobile

We went there in the evening and the waitress was very professional and nice. The wine expertise was not lacking and the food absolutely delicious! Very nice presentation of the food and the wine. Even the coffee had a nice quality to it with a perfect temperature.
If you have not been yet, you are missing out of a real pearl!

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank 994jespern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 3, 2018

This restaurant was a surprise find and turned out to be a really wonderful one! It is run by a young couple who took it on earlier this year and who are obviously passionate about what they do and know their stuff.
They make a great and welcoming team, offering friendly expert wine advice front-of-house and a deft, refined and confident hand in the kitchen, using delicious fresh seasonal ingredients and inspired combinations. The menu is also very reasonably priced, given what is on offer.
We shared a marinated salmon with mango and soy mayonnaise, which was delicate yet rich and perfectly balanced, then sea bass with asparagus which honoured both primary ingredients in a sumptuous combination accompanied by a melting gelée au vin cuit. Then followed a strawberry bavarois which was welcomely fresh and not sugary, but perfectly balanced between sharp, sweet and creamy. The wine list is interesting and sources lesser known local wines that are delicious, plus you can also buy a wine to take away with you if you so desire. We also discovered provençal vin cuit refined over a wood fire and a wonderful Provence gin made with local fruits and herbs.
Very happy to have discovered this place, we'll definitely be back; go, you won't be disappointed!

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Annaliese E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: November 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: November 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Comedie also viewed

Arles, Bouches-du-Rhone
Arles, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Arles, Bouches-du-Rhone
Arles, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Arles, Bouches-du-Rhone
Arles, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to La Comedie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing