We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WHAT A FIND”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Du Musee

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Du Musee
Ranked #6 of 56 Hotels in Arles
Certificate of Excellence
Montefiascone, Italy
Level Contributor
124 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“WHAT A FIND”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

We were driving in Arles, my husband got a viral flu and thus, we needed to get quickly to a nice comfortable hotel - I had my Lonely Planet book and happened on this gem of a hotel. Public parking close to the hotel - the rooms are quiet, clean and cute. The bed was great too! My husband got better the next day, thus, we continued our trip - but we will definitely be back. Great breakfast in the morning too - and a perfect location!

Room Tip: no elevator - so you have haul your suitcases up the stairs! But otherwise perfect location - we ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yankeerome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    138
    29
    13
    1
See reviews for
51
207
22
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level Contributor
271 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

Our stay was for Sept. 2010

Arrived on a beautiful September morning by train from Lyon. The town of Arles was alive with visitors due to "Feria du Riz" Celebrating the renowned bull fights for the 10th thru 12th.

We walked from the train to our home for the next 4 nights; Hotel du Musee. Met by Laurent and Claude and taken to our room. The room itself was antique in design. A comfy bed, chest of drawers with mirror, and a window seat to sit and look down on the beautiful, well attended to courtyard. The flowers were amazing. The little tables were red checkered and cheery. My husband would sit here with the laptop on loan from Claude and enjoy a glass of wine recommended by him as well. (Cotes du Rhone)

du Musee has a charming breakfast area that serves warm breads, cheeses, great cafe, fruits and actually has a staff to replenish and help you with your seating.

We walked to the Van Gogh Cafe in the square and the place was hopping. The celebration was of Spanish origin. There were huge vats (woks) of paella cooked in the fronts of all the restaurants. The food was outstanding. Wine even better. There was a lively Spanish Jazz band that even played Dixie music. We realize later that the bull was killed this day. Plenty of cheering, eating and drinking today. It was a riot.

Back to our little hotel for the night. It is quiet, and we are able to fling open our shutters and have a soft breeze thru our window. When we woke up the next morning, the town was quiet, the masses were gone, and the town had been cleaned and polished before we woke.

The owners will send you to the best places to eat. Try Au Brin de Thym and Le 16. The duck is, well, a duck lovers dream!

We took the train to Avignon for the day. Had lunch near the Pope's Palace, bought some water colors from an artist in the square, hopped back on the train for our last night in Arles. On to Beaune tomorrow!

Life is good.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ABohemianGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

We booked there for the old-world charm in Van Gogh surroundings and received excellent modern service on both stays. Our huge room with antique bed and chairs was on the top (3rd) floor which was cause for hysterics as we (late 50s) had to drag the baggage upstairs and rest on each lovely landing. Is centrally located one block from river, with all happenings three streets away. Our hired car was parked overnight at end of street free of charge. Breakfast was super value with wonderful coffee, cheese and even freshly boiled eggs. Friendly staff.Joys were walking to the Centre d'Veil (free local music concerts) and through the narrow streets with a surprise of gymnasts, music, open air shops and restaurants towards Cafe la Nuit on Place du Forum, then the Espace Van Gogh and the Roman Les Arenes. South African Rooibos tea served at cafe next to Arenes! Exquisite time.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hofmari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

The room was average sized, but charming with antique furnishings. The location was central for restaurants, transportation, museums, and Roman sites. Their valet parking was a plus for the day trips. The owners and staff were pleasant and accommodating. We stayed five nights and would stay at this hotel as a first choice if we returned to Arles. Arles and this hotel was a pleasant experience and a good value.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank attitudetwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

Our room was modest, and our shower/WC room was quite small, but it was fine for a short visit, and the cost was quite low. The hotel is located in the centre-ville of Arles, so all the touristic sites are within a 5-minute walk. The staff was quite helpful when I made the reservation, and they sent me the code to lower the barriers in the street. I reserved parking with the hotel and was especially grateful that they took the car and parked it for us. Arles is one of my favorite places, but driving in the old city is very difficult because of the very narrow roads and tight turns. The breakfast was better than most; it was self-serve and included fresh fruit, yogurt, and hard-boiled eggs in addition to the usual cereal, baguette, and croissant.
We were leaving on a Saturday and wanted to go to the large Arles market, and they kindly let us leave our luggage with them until we returned from the market.

Room Tip: Because I've had knee replacements, I prefer a shower rather than a tub. I've found a reques...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elizbuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
169 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

Wonderful place in one of our favorite towns in France. Easy walk to train station. Lovely courtyard. Perfectly located in Arles, with nearby restaurants and other amenities. Room was nicely decorated. Wonderful courtyard for a very good breakfast. Quiet at night. Staff are very kind and helpful.
Overall, an exceptional experience and clearly worth the price spent.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rambleyat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Cerrito, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

The Hotel du Musee in Arles is totally charming and worthy of its two-star rating. I think it's the best bargain by far in that town. Loved every minute of my four day stay!

Room Tip: This charming place is a bargain and I highly recommend it. Be aware there are no elevators, but wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arles hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel De L'Amphitheatre
0.3 km away
Hotel Spa Le Calendal
0.1 km away
Logis Hotel de la Muette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hotel Jules Cesar Arles MGallery Collection
0.2 km away
Hotel du Forum
Hotel du Forum
#7 of 56 in Arles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel du Cloitre
Hotel du Cloitre
#9 of 56 in Arles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Du Musee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Du Musee

Property: Hotel Du Musee
Address: 11 rue du grand Prieure, 13200, Arles, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Arles
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Arles
#7 Romantic Hotel in Arles
#9 Family Hotel in Arles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Du Musee 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Hotel Du Musee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Musee Hotel
Du Musee Arles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing