We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and Lovely Hotel in Arles”
Review of Hotel Du Musee

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Du Musee
Ranked #6 of 56 Hotels in Arles
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Charming and Lovely Hotel in Arles”
Reviewed 19 May 2012 via mobile

I and my wife had stayed in this hotel 5 years ago and stayed for 5 nights again this time. The hotel is still very charming and we were very satisfatised. We have a room at the second floor facing the internal courtyard. The view can also see the clear sky and bright moon and star in Arles. Room was clean, water pressure was sufficient. Breakfast was delicious, especially when you have them in the courtyard. The courtyard is so lovely that you would like to spend some times seating there and have a lazy tea. The hosts were very helpful and friendly. If you drive, I suggest you to contact the hotel first before enter into Arles because there are some road blocks in the little streets which require passing code. The overall experience was very satisfised and we will come back to this hotel if visit Arles next time.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank chasertv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    142
    30
    13
    1
See reviews for
53
210
24
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poinciana, Florida
Level Contributor
97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We were here for 5 nights while touring Arles and Provence. This was an excellent place - charming and convenient. In the heart of the old town, we were able to walk to all the sites and areas in Arles. The hotel was not elegant, but the staff were friendly and helpful. The courtyard was just as all the photo's captured. I would highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orchidart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed for two nights at the Hotel du Musee in Arles. The room we had was a double with bathtub - bed was comfortable. As seems to be the custom in Provence, the air conditioning was not operational at this time of year (May), but our window opened so it cooled off a bit by evening. The room itself was very spacious, as was the bathroom - decor was spartan.

Their are two internal courtyards leading past the reception/breakfast area to the rooms. They are vegetated with blooming azaleas, etc and are gorgeous. One tree has a nasty aphid problem so best to avoid leaving your iPad open under it (p.s. wifi worked well). Otherwise, it's a relaxing spot to unwind with a glass of wine after a day of sightseeing.

If you have a car, be aware that you may need a code to get to the unloading zone in front of the hotel. The street access is blocked by a set of automated bollards that rise and lower at various times during the day/week. The hotel can provide you with the access code that lowers the bollards. Parking was nearby if you haven't reserved a garage spot with the hotel. We had no issues finding a spot.

If I was to stay in Arles again, I would happily stay at the Hotel du Musee. Price was extremely reasonable, the staff were helpful and breakfast was adequate.

However, next time I'm in Provence in this area, I'd probably opt to stay in Avignon - at this time of year there's a little more going on and available from the larger city (boat trips, daily market, etc).

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank OotyKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

My wife and I stayed at Hotel du Musee for three nights about two weeks ago - based on the strong recommendations of others on TripAdvisor and RickSteves' guidebook. The hotel staff were very kind, helpful and welcoming. In particular, we appreciated the kindness and warmth of Francoise and another lady (Laurent, the owner, I believe) who helped fix a reservation mix-up and took good care of us. (Note: we spoke French - though I sense they'd be the same for non-French speakers). The hotel was beautifully kept. The rooms were clean and very quiet. The courtyard where breakfast is served was beautiful, relaxing and cozy. Seemed like a place out of a rustic painting w/ the flowers and the furnishings. The location is excellent, right by the Rhone river, an ancient Roman ruins spa (Thermes) w/ easy access to the main attractions, the town center, excellent restaurants and pastries. (Make sure to ask Francoise or the staff for recommendations; we were very happy w/ their recommendations). We still talk about this place. We had such a good experience in Arles thanks to the staff and owners here. :-)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Y Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel in Arles. It is about 10-15 minutes walk from the train station along the river, and a few minutes from the town centre and main sites of interest. It is worth noting that there is no lift and it can be hard work to get your luggage up the stairs if you are on the 2nd or 3rd floor. The rooms were clean and simple- it is worth asking for a room that looks onto the courtyard. Some rooms are more spacious than others.
The breakfast was well provided in a very nice area, or in the courtyard if the weather is fine.
We didn't have a car, but I believe that parking is available. The staff were all very helpful. Overall a very pleasant and economical experience.

Room Tip: Rooms on the courtyard side are quieter with a nice outlook. Some rooms only have a shower (no bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieQuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montefiascone, Italy
Level Contributor
124 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We were driving in Arles, my husband got a viral flu and thus, we needed to get quickly to a nice comfortable hotel - I had my Lonely Planet book and happened on this gem of a hotel. Public parking close to the hotel - the rooms are quiet, clean and cute. The bed was great too! My husband got better the next day, thus, we continued our trip - but we will definitely be back. Great breakfast in the morning too - and a perfect location!

Room Tip: no elevator - so you have haul your suitcases up the stairs! But otherwise perfect location - we ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yankeerome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level Contributor
271 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Our stay was for Sept. 2010

Arrived on a beautiful September morning by train from Lyon. The town of Arles was alive with visitors due to "Feria du Riz" Celebrating the renowned bull fights for the 10th thru 12th.

We walked from the train to our home for the next 4 nights; Hotel du Musee. Met by Laurent and Claude and taken to our room. The room itself was antique in design. A comfy bed, chest of drawers with mirror, and a window seat to sit and look down on the beautiful, well attended to courtyard. The flowers were amazing. The little tables were red checkered and cheery. My husband would sit here with the laptop on loan from Claude and enjoy a glass of wine recommended by him as well. (Cotes du Rhone)

du Musee has a charming breakfast area that serves warm breads, cheeses, great cafe, fruits and actually has a staff to replenish and help you with your seating.

We walked to the Van Gogh Cafe in the square and the place was hopping. The celebration was of Spanish origin. There were huge vats (woks) of paella cooked in the fronts of all the restaurants. The food was outstanding. Wine even better. There was a lively Spanish Jazz band that even played Dixie music. We realize later that the bull was killed this day. Plenty of cheering, eating and drinking today. It was a riot.

Back to our little hotel for the night. It is quiet, and we are able to fling open our shutters and have a soft breeze thru our window. When we woke up the next morning, the town was quiet, the masses were gone, and the town had been cleaned and polished before we woke.

The owners will send you to the best places to eat. Try Au Brin de Thym and Le 16. The duck is, well, a duck lovers dream!

We took the train to Avignon for the day. Had lunch near the Pope's Palace, bought some water colors from an artist in the square, hopped back on the train for our last night in Arles. On to Beaune tomorrow!

Life is good.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ABohemianGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arles hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel De L'Amphitheatre
0.3 km away
Hotel Spa Le Calendal
0.2 km away
Hotel du Forum
Hotel du Forum
#7 of 56 in Arles
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Logis Hotel de la Muette
0.5 km away
Hotel Jules Cesar Arles MGallery Collection
0.3 km away
Le Regence
Le Regence
#12 of 56 in Arles
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Du Musee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Du Musee

Property: Hotel Du Musee
Address: 11 rue du grand Prieure, 13200, Arles, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Arles
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Arles
#7 Romantic Hotel in Arles
#9 Family Hotel in Arles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Du Musee 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Hotel Du Musee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Musee Hotel
Du Musee Arles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing