We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Pleasantly surprised” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Adagio Access Avignon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Adagio Access Avignon
Ranked #36 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
N. Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

I stayed here for 6 nights in September. This is not the type of hotel I normally use, preferring small family run hotels with lots of age and French character. I chose this hotel because of its proximity to the TGV station and the self catering facilities. It was a good choice. The blandness of the place is outweighed by the ability to do ones own cooking. I'm not a great fan of French food. There is a LIDL supermarket just 5min. walk away across the field opposite the hotel. Busses into town are frequent and cheap. Free wired internet access in the rooms is reliable and reasonably fast. If I could get all these facilities in an old hotel I would be very happy indeed. Anyone know of any?
Just on moan and it's nothing to do with the hotel. I'm glad I arrived in Avignon by TGV and not by bus. The Gare Routier is a horrible place, dark and poorly marked, the waiting room stinks of urine. It's a disgrace to the city. It would be worth a small increase in fares just to clean this place up.
Overall I enjoyed my trip, the highlight being a trip to the Pont du Gard. Take the bus from the TGV station rather than Gare Routier. Don't forget a trip to Arles and Nimes, both beautiful cities. Avignon is a very nice place but once is enough I think. Next planned trip is to Grenoble where I also plan to stay in Hotel Citea.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ossier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    146
    100
    33
    16
See reviews for
56
139
39
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
rio de janeiro
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

The hotel is at a walking distance from TGV station. The room is clean and has a kitchen with basic stuff. Very pratical. If you have a car, there will be no problem going to Avignon center.It takes no more than 5 minhutes. Besides, they provide parking, laundry space and iron.When I booked the hotel, I got a email with the procedures I should follow in case I arrived after reception closing time( codes to the door and safe to get my key room and the parking lot number). If you are lookin for a nice and clean place to sleep with a kitchen in the room, parking and don't care about other services and don't need further assistance, it's just perfect. But if you want a charming hotel, lots of services and be in Avignon center, it won't match your expectations

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CARLOSRioDeJaneiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruxelles
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

I stayed for 1 night during the Festival d'Avignon and the price was still affordable. Rooms are studio-like, with a kitchenette. Usually, that kind of hotel is far from the center, but in Avignon, the Citea is nearly well located, just at foot distance from the TGV terminal... that allows us to take the TGV shuttle to Avingon center, just in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frubke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

The Citea Avignon is an apartment hotel only a few blocks from the Avignon TGV station. There are washer/driers available and a varied breakfast buffet. There is no restaurant but each room has a stove and microwave. Beds are fairly comfortable. For those with tickets on the TGV and no car this is the ideal hotel.

Room Tip: higher floors have less noise from TGV
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank exit19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2011

This hotel seems to have got a lot of stick, but it was perfectly fine when we were there. We had a very large, well air-conditioned room, with friendly staff on reception.

We didn't realise the TGV station is different to the usual station, but there's a bus outside the Post Office ( just inside the wall, across from the 'usual' station ) which goes directly there ( stop 'La Fleur' ) every ten minutes or so for just over a Euro.

We arrived during the comedy festival, and the bus back to town *was* full - we simply walked down to the TGV station where it first picks up, and got in fine...

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UnCitoyen_DuMonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

Not going to recommend this hotel - important things you should know:
- it's 2/3 miles from old Avignon. There is a fast bus service which stops outside the hotel, but it only runs 2/3 times an hour, doesn't always run to schedule and can be packed
- reception is not open 24 hours. This is important if you want to check in late (have no idea whether the unfortunate American family I let into the lobby one night ever got into their room...) and also means you can't resolve problems or request items at night
- the free internet advertised is not wifi (except in the lobby) and I was unable to access it in my room
- staff at reception didn't bend over backwards to be helpful (sample exchange: "is a taxi the best way to the airport?" "I don't know")
- rooms are adequate but lack some basic items, e.g. hairdryer, and they expect you to empty your own ktichen bin (what?!)
Overall it was a bit on the pricey side given the annoyance of the location and the rather poor facilites and service

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TAUserLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Avignon hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2011

The room was unremarkable but quiet and clean, all we needed. We did not realize that it included a kitchenette, so we were not prepared to use it. The internet connection was via the Ethernet, not Wi-Fi, useless for mobile phones and rather slow. The worst thing was that they attempted to close the breakfast facilities 15 min early as they were running out of food. It was very distressing to watch, as people were done out of something they'd paid for and which it would be an extra hassle to find elsewhere; eventually the management relented and let people in; they should have stuck to the idea that a breakfast with less choice was better than none at all.

Room Tip: Don't be late for breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarySebastian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.3 km away
Kyriad Avignon - Courtine Gare
2.2 km away
Ibis Budget Avignon Centre
2.4 km away
Ibis Avignon Centre Gare
Ibis Avignon Centre Gare
#10 of 69 in Avignon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Hotel Cristol
Hotel Cristol
#30 of 69 in Avignon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
9.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Paradou
5.1 km away
Ibis Avignon Sud
Ibis Avignon Sud
#23 of 69 in Avignon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adagio Access Avignon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adagio Access Avignon

Property: Adagio Access Avignon
Address: 6 avenue de la Gare, 84000, Avignon, France (Formerly Citea Avignon)
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Adagio Access Avignon 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and ACCOR so you can book your Adagio Access Avignon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adagio Access Avignon Hotel Avignon
Citea Hotel Avignon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing