We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (885)
Filter reviews
885 results
Traveller rating
621
190
50
15
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
621
190
50
15
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful hotel prestige room old world place crillon star hotel lovely courtyard high ceilings within walking distance would highly recommend this hotel large bathroom historic building inner courtyard major attractions pope's palace street noise wonderful stay the palais des papes
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 885 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2018

This is an amazing hotel in Europe. It predates the civil war but you could never know that from the inside. It is well maintained and has excellent, friendly staff. The rooms are well appointed and the beds are so comfortable. This is my second stay at this hotel and it will be forever my go to in Avignon.
Having said that, I did have one complaint; The front desk person is also working as the concierge Every morning they seemed understaffed and were extremely busy. This is a potential service failure, and it happened with me. We asked for a particular sought after restaurant to be booked for us. I never heard back from the concierge but generally you assume there was not a problem unless they tell you there is. So we show up at the restaurant expecting to be seated and they have no reservation for us. It was embarrassing and here we are, dressed up nicely and nowhere to go but the the tourist restaurant at the Place D'Horloge, the equivalent of putting on a suite to go to a McDonald's. It was pretty upsetting, especially for a hotel of this caliber. The next day, we stopped to complain and wanted to speak with someone. It was after 9:00 am but no manager was on duty. Hmmmm..... Then, we waited for nearly twenty minutes to complain directly to the concierge, but she was handling multiple reservations and requests, as well as walk up inquiries. understaffed again. Rather than waste our time trying to complain, we left for our day activities and never were able to lodge our complaint.

Room tip: Great room layout, with huge bathrooms, sitting rooms and some with balconies!
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank gregjmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 12, 2018

We stayed here for 2 days and were delighted with our choice.
Location is excellent,within the Old walls and walking distance to all the major sights.
The rooms are large,well appointed with beautifully maintained bathrooms.
The bed was huge and very comfortable.
The public area are great but a special mention of the beautiful court yard where breakfast and drinks are servered.
Breakfast was great.
We can't comment on the restaurant as it was closed for the 2 days of our visit.
But there are plenty of choices nearby.
Service is 1st class.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank djhallett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 10, 2018 via mobile

Charming historical hotel in Avignon
A very special place to stay close to the ramparts and next to attractions and tremendous shopping
The check in process the reception staff concierge very helpful
We had a junior suite which was really nice
A special treat place to stay in the hotel business for hundreds of years even Victor Hugo stayed here

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 1210tgho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 3, 2018

The valet at this hotel damaged ($2,210.00) our rental car. The hotel admitted with a written statement by the manager that the valet damaged the car. We were told to enjoy the rest of our vacation and they would pay for the damage to the car. We took a full day out of our vacation to drive back to the rental car station to work out the details. The rental car company said we needed to pay for the damage and then get reimbursed by the hotel. We paid for the damage $2,210.00, and twice emailed the hotel manager at the address provided on their website to arrange for reimbursement, and they will not respond to us. We lost a day out of our vacation and $2,210.00 out of our pocket! We cannot recommend such a dishonest hotel. - D & S, Tampa, FL

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
6  Thank eurotravelers2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 2, 2018 via mobile

Spontaneous decision to stay a night in Avignon , luckily they had a room in this wonderful hotel . Perfect location with great shopping and key sights nearby . Very warm and personal service by all team members - rooms are fresh and newly renovated . A great stay !

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank JanM887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews