We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (883)
Filter reviews
883 results
Traveller rating
620
189
50
15
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
620
189
50
15
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful hotel prestige room old world place crillon star hotel lovely courtyard high ceilings within walking distance the hotel's restaurant would highly recommend this hotel large bathroom historic building inner courtyard major attractions pope's palace street noise wonderful stay
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 883 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2018

Since we would be spending our 25th wedding anniversary here, we chose this hotel especially carefully, hoping for Old World charm and being able to walk almost everywhere. In fact, the hotel is indeed charming, with interesting objects and art along the hallways and a bar/casual eating area that is spectacularly beautiful. We were upgraded to a very nice spacious Prestige room with a separate sitting area, two large windows, high ceilings, lovely art, an antique chest, and amazing spacious bathroom, with large beautiful tub, and a separate area with closed door for privacy with very good shower,toilet, and bidet. The one weakness of the room was its lighting system: the room was dark with little light coming in, and needs something both softer and brighter since artificial lighting is needed pretty much all day. Lighting in the bathroom is excellent.
We dined at the hotel's Michelin starred restaurant on our anniversary, where the dining room was elegant, service very good, but where we found the food disappointing. I think this may be attributed to our California-formed Chez Panisse tastes preferring a more simple combination of ingredients rather than to any lack of quality of the restaurant.
We were somewhat disappointed with some aspects of the service: we did not find the level of knowledge and enthusiasm in helping us shape our days here that we have experienced at some of our favorite hotels, and of course. as first time visitors, we were not accorded the same welcome we receive in our "homes" in Genoa, Venice and Yosemite. On the other hand, the rose that I had asked be here for my husband to honor our anniversary, did indeed await us with the note I requested attached.

Date of stay: October 2018
Thank Luca1932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 17, 2018

This hotel is not cheap. In fact, there are two other hotels a few minutes walking distance away that offer the same sort of comfort for far less.

However, should you decide on Hotel d'Europe, then you will be greeted with Valet Parking service, a very nice luxury as this hotel has no parking on site.

Walking through the archway you will find yourself in the most wonderful walled terrace garden area setup for dining. When we visited, the restaurant was closed for several months due to some update or building that was happening but the hotel kitchen was still serving.

The Lobby is very nice and the desk personnel speak very good English, or try their best. We never had a problem with my very little French and Google Translate and my Chinese Husband who doesn't bother with anything other than English.

Continuing your journey to the room, I believe there is a lift should anyone need that service; we were on the 2nd floor and always used the stair. But you miss so much if you take the lift, DO take the stairs and DO explore corridors.

Ascending the stairs throws you into a grand manor house with large portraits and paintings on the walls. Every wall has a curiosity cabinet filled with antiques and things collected from history.

Finally making it to the door of your room, the large, old style key turns with effort and you are greeted with the grandest of rooms.

If you are into modern, glass and metal furnishings with slick, futuristic feel, might be best to avoid this hotel. Personally, I loved every minute of it.

These rooms are huge, and are very tastefully decorated in the classical French Provencal, and pushing into the Louis XVI styles. This coincides with the dates for the hotels history. The Air conditioning worked just about as well as it could for two Americans visiting during the heat of summer. The bed was big and very nice.

The bathroom was very large, and our room had a door to the bed chamber, and one to the hall of the hotel. Closing both the bathroom door and the chamber door meant sleeping husbands need not be woken up for a morning shower!

TOP TIP: Order Breakfast al la carte. You can order breakfast at about 45 euros for two. However, if you order off the menu, you will be able to receive enough food for three people and be just over 30 euros. Its cheaper to order al la carte! The coffee is not recommended.

If you are a history buff, like old world charm, antiques, and excellent service, this is the place for you. It is, for sure, worth the price.

Room tip: All rooms have the same basic view of the building next door. There are no rooms with a view of the river.
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jjsuper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 4, 2018

Nestled just inside the ancient walls of Avignon, this unique hotel offers the best of privacy and access to the old city. Spacious, fully equipped rooms with high ceilings, an inner courtyard for dining and relaxing and an attentive staff ready to assist at a moments notice. The perfect backdrop for your time in Avignon.

Room tip: Each room is different. Select the premier option for the most interesting.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 3, 2018

This is truly a beautiful hotel in a beautiful city. It is proximate (within walking distance) of the Palace of the Popes, highly-rated restaurants and high-end shopping areas. The room was quite comfortable and elegant. No complaints.

The front desk staff and evening concierge were forthcoming and friendly. However, I was totally unimpressed with their follow-through on requests that we made. In at least 3 instances, I asked for assistance and they failed to follow-through, even as they assured me they would take care of my request. (1) When we checked in, we asked for dinner reservations for the two restaurants they recommended. They told me twice they would make the reservations and call me to confirm. They did neither. (2) One evening as we headed out to dinner, I realized I'd left my key in the room. The front desk told me they'd send someone up immediately to retrieve it. We thanked them, went to dinner, and when we returned the key was not at the front desk. As a result, we missed the evening turndown. (3) The evening before we were to check-out, I asked the front desk to order a taxi to take us to the TGV station to catch a train the next morning. She assured me she would do it. I checked with the front desk the next morning and, predictably, nothing had been done.

This was the most expensive hotel we stayed at, of the five, during our 2 1/2 week to France. The service was far and away the worst I experienced. It is highly unlikely I would book the hotel again if I returned to Avignon.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2018

We had a nice stay here; it’s a nice old place in a great location, the staff are efficient, and the car-parking is a dream. Our suite was very comfortable, excellent bed and nice bathroom. It’s a bit tired around the edges, but that doesn’t detract from the overall feeling of comfort.

We didn’t take breakfast or dinner, so can’t comment on that.

100% recommended.

Room tip: Our suite was very nice
Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews