We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish hotel in the centre of Avignon”
Review of Hotel de l'Horloge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel de l'Horloge
Ranked #6 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Stylish hotel in the centre of Avignon”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We had a privilege double room for three nights at the beginning of April, we booked direct and got a very good rate. The room was a comfortable size, tastefully decorated and furnished with some thoughtful finishing touches. We overlooked the main Place de L'Horloge and you could see the Palais des Papes in the background - stunning. We found it slightly noisy but then we live in the country and are not used to being woken up at 6 a.m. by the street cleaning vehicles and rubbish collections. Because it was April the air conditioning had not been switched on but it was very warm so we slept with the window open which probably didn't help. The staff were helpful and courteous but not really friendly. However, our biggest single complaint has to be the cost of the breakfast. Whilst not uncommon I cannot see how you can justify 14 euros for breakfast - we went elsewhere which was a shame as we would have liked to have sat in the pretty breakfast room to have a leisurely breakfast. The hotel is, of course, extremely well located and for a first visit to this beautiful town I would recommend it.

Room Tip: Unless you want to look out over the Place de L'Horloge then ask for a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lazydays11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    512
    630
    226
    63
    25
See reviews for
197
884
91
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I was smitten with this small hotel the minute I walked in the door and was greeted by the hotel personnel! I booked a room for myself and and another room for my adult daughter. We have a wonderful time! The Hotel is right in the center of Avignon. My daughter lives close by but joined me in the city for a visit, some shopping and dinning and walking. What a lovely hotel. Recently renovated and beautiful appointed this hotel is not fancy but is done with ease and grace. Decor is calming, the bathrooms are super. A grand bath for relaxing with some French bath salts which are left in the room for you.
The hotel is ideal. There are cafes close by for breakfast, lunch, dinner or you can have a bountiful breakfast in the hotel. Shopping is quite good too whether looking for a typically French souvenir or an upscale outfit from Facconable. Everything is here. There is a market close by within walking distance. The train at Avignon Centre is about an 8 minute walk. This is a welcome home away from home while in Avignon. As Americans we often don't understand the way the French have certain things set up, understandable, but at this hotel you will be at ease and comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main shopping street.....it was a bit noisy on Saturday night as there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suzanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
110 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Stayed with friends in April. Location was fabulous, in centre of town and within walking distance to shops, main attractions and tons of restaurants.
Staff were friendly. Room was compact but spotlessly clean. Bathroom was well appointed with shower / bath and nice soaps etc. 2 lovely sitting rooms on 2nd floor for reading. Breakfast was included in our package and was excellent - fresh fruits, cereals, yoghurt, cold meats, cheese and some cooked foods. Lots of fresh baked goods, tea selection and coffee.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with toilet incorporated with shower/bath. We had them separated which is awkward.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 455kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
136 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed here for two evenings during our holiday in Provence - once at the start of the trip and then again on the way back to Paris. The hotel is really ideally located for exploring Avignon - just off the main square and easy walking distance to the sites, shops and restaurants. The front desk staff and cleaning staff were also very helpful in making us dinner reservations and accommodating our last minute request for twin beds (rather than a double). We had the continental breakfast one morning - it was decent, but I wouldn't recommend paying extra for it if it is not included in your room rate.

The taxi from the TGV station ranged from 12 Euro to 23 Euro depending on traffic, luggage, and if it was prebooked.

The only downside to the room was the bathroom - the shower/sink is separate from the toilet (common with many of the hotels we stayed at in Provence), but the shower room had a bit of a smell to it - as though it didn't get enough ongoing circulation.

I would stay here again and certainly recommend it. Also ask reception to make a booking for you at La Fourchette - just around the corner and wonderful food!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anchmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis MN
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We enjoyed our two day stay at the Hotel de l'Horloge. Our room and bathroom was very nice and we had one of the top floor rooms with a terrace/balcony. The balcony looked over the back of the building and towards the Pope's Palace. It was appointed with a table and two chairs which we used in the evening for wine we had purchased earlier with a variety of French cheeses and crackers before going out for dinner. It was a pretty view overlooking the many tiled roof tops of old Avignon. We chose this room for its terrace/balcony and we were not disappointed.

The breakfast was good and was similar to a full American breakfast buffet. The breakfast was 14 euros and served in a nice room on the first floor. There was elevator service but the elevator was small and hard to fit all of our suitcases and us in it. They did provide a room to store your suitcases after you had checked in or out of the hotel which was greatly appreciated.

It was an older building in the heart of Avignon, but it was beautifully decorated and clean. The staff spoke English and were helpful. The location was perfect and close to the historical sights of the Pope's Palace and there were many restaurants to choose from nearby/short walking distance.

It was a good choice for us except the walk from the train station is a ways to pull your suitcases. The train station is just on the other side of the walls of Avignon although it is a straight stretch to the hotel with no twists or turns. I would suggest a cab if you are coming in by local train unless you are in good shape and enjoy the walk and seeing the old city. The TGV station has to be reached by cab as it is too far to walk to the hotel. The hotel staff called us a cab when we checked out early in the morning and a cab to the TGV was there within a very short period of time. We only wish we would have had more time in Avignon to stay another day at this hotel. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: For a little more money you can get a nice room with a balcony/terrace. It is worth it to watch the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mrsgilly8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Excellent location, in the old town, on the edge of the main square with lots of cafes and restaurants and near the Palais des Papes. Easy walk to train and bus stations.

Small hotel with pleasant rooms and the breakfasts are very good.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FWandGW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012 via mobile

Lovely hotel; fantastic location-just a joy. Friendly, knowledgeable and helpful staff. Rooms clean, good size and nicely done. Breakfasts were good. We had a room overlooking the square and it was fabulous...during the day. In the early hours of the morning, long after restaurants had closed, there was a little elf whose job it was to clean, which required moving hundreds of chairs on cobblestones. The noise was terrible, and woke us each night of our stay. So: take ear plugs. Nevertheless, this hotel is an absolute gem in a beautiful location and we would stay there again tomorrow...in a flash!

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank jaycar98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
764 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel d'Europe
Hotel d'Europe
#3 of 69 in Avignon
743 reviews
0.8 km away
Novotel Avignon Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Avignon Grand Hotel
Avignon Grand Hotel
#13 of 69 in Avignon
752 reviews
5.7 km away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
#1 of 10 in Le Pontet
929 reviews
0.2 km away
La Mirande Hotel
La Mirande Hotel
#8 of 69 in Avignon
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Horloge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Horloge

Property: Hotel de l'Horloge
Address: Entree 1 1 rue Felicien David | Place de l'Horloge, 84000, Avignon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Avignon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de l'Horloge 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Today, the Hotel de l'Horloge is a 4-star hotel with character. This beautiful 19th century stone building is in a prime location, with its doors opening directly onto the Place de l'Horloge in Avignon. From this base in the city's historic and touristic centre, you'll be able to enjoy an unforgettable break and the gentle elegance of the various rooms. Avignon and its rich and varied heritage awaits you: its legendary Bridge from where you'll be able to admire the panorama of the medieval town dominated by the Pope's Palace, and also the squares, museums, magnificent town houses, antique shops and galleries that will make your stay even more memorable. Also suitable for a business trip, the Hotel de l'Horloge offers One-Night Stopovers as well as a light, well-equipped meeting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Priceline, ACCOR, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel de l'Horloge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l Horloge Hotel
Hotel De l Horloge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing