We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hotel”
Review of Hotel de l'Horloge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel de l'Horloge
Ranked #5 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Victoria
Level Contributor
287 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel”
Reviewed 6 May 2012 via mobile

This is a great hotel in the middle of the historic centre of Avignon. The desk staff are extremely helpful and will steer you away from the tourist oriented restaurants in the nearby square. The rooms are clean, bright and well appointed. We have booked for another night on our way back to Paris.

Stayed May 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Yago1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    497
    622
    222
    61
    25
See reviews for
194
867
88
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

I had a brief get-away in Avignon while staying in Paris, very easy to do on the TGV train ..... left Paris at 7am, got to Avignon around 10am.
The hotel is easy to find and well appointed. My room faced the square and had large windows that could be opened wide to let in the breeze (as others have mentioned, that was necessary due to the room being too hot).
Compact bathroom and tiny shower - but all newly renovated and very clean - with good toiletries.
I appreciated the tea/coffee/cookies in the room after pounding the cobblestones all day, it was a blessing to have a quiet 'cuppa' while winding down.
The breakfast was superb - I think that €14 was a reasonable price given that it was limitless and included hot options, continental options and freshly squeezed OJ. (just a croissant, an OJ and a small coffee would have cost €6 at one of the small cafes in town)
The free WiFi was indeed very patchy but accessible enough to be able to pick up my mail. However, there is a computer available in the sitting area if all else fails.
The front-of-house team are friendly and very helpful; as are the house-keeping and breakfast room staff that I had contact with. All are welcoming and polite.
I would certainly stay there in future.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tour_Leader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Mateo, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012 via mobile

This was a short breakaway trip for me from the romantic Paris. I wanted to have a taste of the infamous Avignon, Provence. It took me a couple of hours of going through Trip Advisors reviews(thank you contributors) and recommendations that i decided on this hotel one day prior to departure. The photos helped too.

I was able to find my way to the hotel very easily from the bus stop. It's tucked away just a few meters from the main square and is within walking distance from the Opéra-théâtre d'Avignon & Palais des Papes.

The hotel staff spoke good English and was very helpful especially the Front Office Manager. He went out of his way to help find my reservation as there was none to be found. After two hours of calling the online travel sites, they found my prepaid reservation! Thank God, it wasn't a bogus web site! Having bad experiences in France years ago, this was a pleasant surprise for someone like me who spoke very little French, received help!

Although it's a small hotel it had a small lift. However, if you are travelling with more than one lugguage(heavy/large), try to get a room that is on the same level as the lift because some rooms are located on floors that have spilt levels (just a few steps that can be an inconvenience). Due to the layout of the hotel, there maybe pockets of wifi reception in the rooms if that's a priority for you.

I had a corner room which is tastefully furnished, bright and clean(very impt). The bed was comfortable and had a soft feathered duvet to sleep in. I was also impressed that they had high end guest toiletries too. Wished i had more time to enjoy my stay there.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank btayanchor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012 via mobile

I would highly recommend this hotel.

Excellent hotel. Friendly staff. Clean and spacious rooms. Good quality for money.very centrally located and overlooking the square. Lively and animated.

Excellent choice for a vacation stay.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AcLy000987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

I stayed 6 days in the Hotel d'Horloge on a business trip. The staff was helpful and friendly. The breakfast was excellent (!) and the breakfast room was really nice. The room was small but clean and comfortable. Wifi was free but it was sometimes not possible to login. The location of the hotel is perfect, right next to the town hall, many good restaurants and near to the pope's palace. I fully recommend the hotel, if a reliable wifi connection is not a high priority.

Room Tip: Some people reported about noise from outside in the early morning. My room (302) was quiet all the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank OliFer82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weybridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

This is an excellently situated hotel; just off the busy Place de L'horloge and so easy to walk everywhere. The hotel is very well-equipped and our (double) bedroom was clean and nicely furnished with a v comfortable bed, excellent bathroom and separate loo. It all was newly furnished and decorated. BUT - as for "cat-swinging" not very good! The room was exceptionally small, with the smallest hanging cupboard (hardly could be called a wardrobe) and nowhere with drawers to put underwear, socks etc. (we left ours in the cases). We had selected the second level of price and so I imagine that the basic room had to be miniscule!
The breakfast was excellent - hot options available and all else you could possibly want - a huge options of coffees, breads and pastries, fresh juices etc. And, most impressively, they never ran out - everything was regularly replenished. The small light in our room was not repaired during our stay although we reported its malfunction as we settled in; the lift was out of action one morning - a problem as we were on the 4th floor! But despite these minor "minuses", we would recommend it to you if you would like to stay in a high quality 3 star hotel in the centre of Avignon.

Room Tip: Maybe look at their "better" rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BMBoyd08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Falls, Va
Level Contributor
97 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We were upgraded and stayed in a room overlooking the plaza. The room was large and nicely decorated, the bath was very nice with a separate toilet room. The staff was very helpful and polite and even made dinner reservations for us. The rates were the best in town for a 3 star hotel.

Room Tip: It's a bit noisy overlooking the Place de L'Horloge but the view is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
0.8 km away
Novotel Avignon Centre
0.2 km away
Hotel d'Europe
Hotel d'Europe
#3 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Avignon Grand Hotel
Avignon Grand Hotel
#9 of 69 in Avignon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
5.7 km away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
#1 of 10 in Le Pontet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
0.5 km away
Mercure Pont d'Avignon Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Horloge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Horloge

Property: Hotel de l'Horloge
Address: Entree 1 1 rue Felicien David | Place de l'Horloge, 84000, Avignon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Avignon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de l'Horloge 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Today, the Hotel de l'Horloge is a 4-star hotel with character. This beautiful 19th century stone building is in a prime location, with its doors opening directly onto the Place de l'Horloge in Avignon. From this base in the city's historic and touristic centre, you'll be able to enjoy an unforgettable break and the gentle elegance of the various rooms. Avignon and its rich and varied heritage awaits you: its legendary Bridge from where you'll be able to admire the panorama of the medieval town dominated by the Pope's Palace, and also the squares, museums, magnificent town houses, antique shops and galleries that will make your stay even more memorable. Also suitable for a business trip, the Hotel de l'Horloge offers One-Night Stopovers as well as a light, well-equipped meeting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel de l'Horloge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l Horloge Hotel
Hotel De l Horloge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing