We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient, Comfortable, Cozy”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel de l'Horloge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel de l'Horloge
Ranked #5 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Convenient, Comfortable, Cozy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

As others have commented, excellent location. Our room was very small and I mean, very! But we did book a standard room. We are small to average sized people so we managed fine, but if you're a bit larger, you'd definitely need to book an upgraded room. The staff honored our request for a quiet room. It had air conditioning and the bed was very comfortable. Bathroom had modern amenities. The breakfast room was bright and cheery, the selection of foods varied and delicious and the staff was attentive. We benefited from a bed and breakfast deal which was a great value. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank scvtravelers4779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    485
    607
    219
    60
    25
See reviews for
187
847
88
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

I stayed here with my daughter for 4 nights in May and had a great time. The hotel is right in the centre of Avignon, on the square. Walking distance to all places of interest. Our room was very small, but was decorated very nicely and had very high ceilings, which made it appear larger. Bed was comfortable with a fluffy duvet. Bathroom was new and clean with bathtub and shower. The toilet was in a separate room, like many hotels in Europe. Our room had a minibar, safe and double glazed windows. Only criticism I had of the room is that the closet was tiny, not big enough for 2 people. We kept most of our clothes in our suitcase.
The front desk employees were all very friendly and helpful. All spoke fluent English and helped us with directions, restaurant recommendations and reservations.
We had breakfast in the hotel every morning (included in our room rate). There were scrambled eggs, sausages, ham, cheeses, yogurts, breads, croissants, apple sauce, cereals, fresh orange juice, fruit, coffee (regular, espresso etc.) and teas. The only criticism I have of the breakfast is the fruit salad was from a can, not fresh. Although there was fresh kiwi. Other than that, the breakfast was very good.
I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mercedesbenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012 via mobile

Location is excellent. It is in one of the main squares and just a 2 min walk to palais du papes, and has plenty of restaurants in the square.

Hotel is small but nice and cute. Staff are helpful and friendly. The room we had was small but very clean and had everything we expected (wifi, tv, aircon). The one downfall was that you could hear a slight hum of the music from the square, (a disadvantage of being within the main area). although if you are on the other side of the hotel I'm sure you wouldn't hear it. it however was not loud enough to keep me awake.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hayleylouisec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

Hotel located in downtown - near "Le Palais des Papes". The hotel itself is nothing special, in old building, but it is clean and cozy. They have a good breakfest and the staff are pleasant (most of time). Parking is a little far from hotel and it's paid (EU$ 14.00/day).

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LDanczuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
Level Contributor
286 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012 via mobile

This is a great hotel in the middle of the historic centre of Avignon. The desk staff are extremely helpful and will steer you away from the tourist oriented restaurants in the nearby square. The rooms are clean, bright and well appointed. We have booked for another night on our way back to Paris.

Stayed May 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Yago1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

I had a brief get-away in Avignon while staying in Paris, very easy to do on the TGV train ..... left Paris at 7am, got to Avignon around 10am.
The hotel is easy to find and well appointed. My room faced the square and had large windows that could be opened wide to let in the breeze (as others have mentioned, that was necessary due to the room being too hot).
Compact bathroom and tiny shower - but all newly renovated and very clean - with good toiletries.
I appreciated the tea/coffee/cookies in the room after pounding the cobblestones all day, it was a blessing to have a quiet 'cuppa' while winding down.
The breakfast was superb - I think that €14 was a reasonable price given that it was limitless and included hot options, continental options and freshly squeezed OJ. (just a croissant, an OJ and a small coffee would have cost €6 at one of the small cafes in town)
The free WiFi was indeed very patchy but accessible enough to be able to pick up my mail. However, there is a computer available in the sitting area if all else fails.
The front-of-house team are friendly and very helpful; as are the house-keeping and breakfast room staff that I had contact with. All are welcoming and polite.
I would certainly stay there in future.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tour_Leader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Mateo, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012 via mobile

This was a short breakaway trip for me from the romantic Paris. I wanted to have a taste of the infamous Avignon, Provence. It took me a couple of hours of going through Trip Advisors reviews(thank you contributors) and recommendations that i decided on this hotel one day prior to departure. The photos helped too.

I was able to find my way to the hotel very easily from the bus stop. It's tucked away just a few meters from the main square and is within walking distance from the Opéra-théâtre d'Avignon & Palais des Papes.

The hotel staff spoke good English and was very helpful especially the Front Office Manager. He went out of his way to help find my reservation as there was none to be found. After two hours of calling the online travel sites, they found my prepaid reservation! Thank God, it wasn't a bogus web site! Having bad experiences in France years ago, this was a pleasant surprise for someone like me who spoke very little French, received help!

Although it's a small hotel it had a small lift. However, if you are travelling with more than one lugguage(heavy/large), try to get a room that is on the same level as the lift because some rooms are located on floors that have spilt levels (just a few steps that can be an inconvenience). Due to the layout of the hotel, there maybe pockets of wifi reception in the rooms if that's a priority for you.

I had a corner room which is tastefully furnished, bright and clean(very impt). The bed was comfortable and had a soft feathered duvet to sleep in. I was also impressed that they had high end guest toiletries too. Wished i had more time to enjoy my stay there.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank btayanchor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
0.8 km away
Novotel Avignon Centre
0.2 km away
Hotel d'Europe
Hotel d'Europe
#3 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Avignon Grand Hotel
Avignon Grand Hotel
#10 of 69 in Avignon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
5.7 km away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
#1 of 10 in Le Pontet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
0.5 km away
Mercure Pont d'Avignon Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Horloge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Horloge

Property: Hotel de l'Horloge
Address: Entree 1 1 rue Felicien David | Place de l'Horloge, 84000, Avignon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Avignon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de l'Horloge 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Today, the Hotel de l'Horloge is a 4-star hotel with character. This beautiful 19th century stone building is in a prime location, with its doors opening directly onto the Place de l'Horloge in Avignon. From this base in the city's historic and touristic centre, you'll be able to enjoy an unforgettable break and the gentle elegance of the various rooms. Avignon and its rich and varied heritage awaits you: its legendary Bridge from where you'll be able to admire the panorama of the medieval town dominated by the Pope's Palace, and also the squares, museums, magnificent town houses, antique shops and galleries that will make your stay even more memorable. Also suitable for a business trip, the Hotel de l'Horloge offers One-Night Stopovers as well as a light, well-equipped meeting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel de l'Horloge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l Horloge Hotel
Hotel De l Horloge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing