We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and staff, hotel needed updating & TLC”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel de l'Horloge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel de l'Horloge
Ranked #6 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great location and staff, hotel needed updating & TLC”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in one room at this hotel and then returned for a final night a week later. We stayed in two different rooms. On both stays the staff and the location/noise level was excellent - we loved being by the square. For our first stay our room was less than "nothing special". The design of it was terrible with a long hallway and all the furnishings were drab. On our final night the room was small but had a better layout, and was a bit nicer as far as the furnishings. All in all, we thought the hotel needed lots of updating, but it was clean and in a great location and with a good staff.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank altanta-annie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    485
    604
    219
    60
    25
See reviews for
187
845
87
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

The hotel de l' Horloge in Avignon is situated in one of the most big and crowded squares of Avignon where there is the Hotel de la Ville. It is very nice place, where many people are hunging around all the time and you have the impresion that there is a fest or something.

The hotel is deacent and proper. Our room was a bit small and without much light at it didn't see the square but a secondary little perpendicular street. However this was a goof thing as we avoided all the noice from the outside.

It is also located 5 minutes away from the Palais des Papes, one of the most important siteseeings and in the heart of the old town.

Also the breakfast was very good - extra charged 14 euro per person.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank evi_ole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

This was one of the nicest hotels my daughter and I stayed in in our trip to France and Spain in April.yes, it's true, the rooms are small, but tastefully decorated, and we were pleased to have tea and coffee making facilities which is a rarity in Europe.Very helpful staff who booked us on tours and gave great restaurant recommendations. The hotel's breakfast buffet was sumptuous. and a great location - right in the main square in walking distance to Palais du Papes, Les halles, etc

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

As others have commented, excellent location. Our room was very small and I mean, very! But we did book a standard room. We are small to average sized people so we managed fine, but if you're a bit larger, you'd definitely need to book an upgraded room. The staff honored our request for a quiet room. It had air conditioning and the bed was very comfortable. Bathroom had modern amenities. The breakfast room was bright and cheery, the selection of foods varied and delicious and the staff was attentive. We benefited from a bed and breakfast deal which was a great value. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank scvtravelers4779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

I stayed here with my daughter for 4 nights in May and had a great time. The hotel is right in the centre of Avignon, on the square. Walking distance to all places of interest. Our room was very small, but was decorated very nicely and had very high ceilings, which made it appear larger. Bed was comfortable with a fluffy duvet. Bathroom was new and clean with bathtub and shower. The toilet was in a separate room, like many hotels in Europe. Our room had a minibar, safe and double glazed windows. Only criticism I had of the room is that the closet was tiny, not big enough for 2 people. We kept most of our clothes in our suitcase.
The front desk employees were all very friendly and helpful. All spoke fluent English and helped us with directions, restaurant recommendations and reservations.
We had breakfast in the hotel every morning (included in our room rate). There were scrambled eggs, sausages, ham, cheeses, yogurts, breads, croissants, apple sauce, cereals, fresh orange juice, fruit, coffee (regular, espresso etc.) and teas. The only criticism I have of the breakfast is the fruit salad was from a can, not fresh. Although there was fresh kiwi. Other than that, the breakfast was very good.
I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mercedesbenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012 via mobile

Location is excellent. It is in one of the main squares and just a 2 min walk to palais du papes, and has plenty of restaurants in the square.

Hotel is small but nice and cute. Staff are helpful and friendly. The room we had was small but very clean and had everything we expected (wifi, tv, aircon). The one downfall was that you could hear a slight hum of the music from the square, (a disadvantage of being within the main area). although if you are on the other side of the hotel I'm sure you wouldn't hear it. it however was not loud enough to keep me awake.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hayleylouisec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

Hotel located in downtown - near "Le Palais des Papes". The hotel itself is nothing special, in old building, but it is clean and cozy. They have a good breakfest and the staff are pleasant (most of time). Parking is a little far from hotel and it's paid (EU$ 14.00/day).

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LDanczuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
0.8 km away
Novotel Avignon Centre
0.2 km away
Hotel d'Europe
Hotel d'Europe
#3 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Avignon Grand Hotel
Avignon Grand Hotel
#9 of 69 in Avignon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
5.7 km away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
#1 of 10 in Le Pontet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
0.5 km away
Mercure Pont d'Avignon Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Horloge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Horloge

Property: Hotel de l'Horloge
Address: Entree 1 1 rue Felicien David | Place de l'Horloge, 84000, Avignon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Avignon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de l'Horloge 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Today, the Hotel de l'Horloge is a 4-star hotel with character. This beautiful 19th century stone building is in a prime location, with its doors opening directly onto the Place de l'Horloge in Avignon. From this base in the city's historic and touristic centre, you'll be able to enjoy an unforgettable break and the gentle elegance of the various rooms. Avignon and its rich and varied heritage awaits you: its legendary Bridge from where you'll be able to admire the panorama of the medieval town dominated by the Pope's Palace, and also the squares, museums, magnificent town houses, antique shops and galleries that will make your stay even more memorable. Also suitable for a business trip, the Hotel de l'Horloge offers One-Night Stopovers as well as a light, well-equipped meeting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel de l'Horloge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l Horloge Hotel
Hotel De l Horloge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing