We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful b&b”
Review of La Banasterie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Banasterie
Ranked #9 of 56 Avignon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 December 2007

My wife and I and 2 other couples stayed at La Banasterie for four nights in early October. In all respects we were completely satisfied with our accommodations. The location is perfect, just a few minutes walk from all of the major sites in Avignon. The host was very helpful but not intrusive and the breakfasts were wonderful. The rooms are well furnished, quiet and exceptionally comfortable.We also appreciated the free internet access.
I would strongly recommend La Banasterie for anyone visiting the wonderful town of Avignon.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank cubist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (323)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 323 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2007

My wife and I spent several lovely days in Avignon at La Banasterie. We were in town for a wedding and La Banasterie was a three minute walk to the festivities. The guest house was beautifully decorated - an oasis of calm so close to the main strip.

Breakfast was very good - fresh breads and croissant with tasty spreads, etc. - the perfect way to start the day.

Free internet access was greatly appreciated.

Our hosts went out of their way to be helpful and accomodating, even making a last-minute trip to the train station to return several forgotten items.

Overall it was a wonderful experience and I highly recommend it.

Stayed: September 2007
2  Thank drews347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2007

We booked this B&B after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor and were not disappointed. The booking process went well and the instructions to the car park and directions to the hotel were clear. We arrived a lot later than expected due to an issue on the freeway and Jean-Michel actually phoned us to see where we were. When we finally arrived he was very polite and gracious and gave us advice on where we might be able to find a good restaurant at that time of night.
The room was very romantic, spacious and well appointed. It goes without saying that it was clean, the bed comfortable, great towels and it had everything you needed in the bathroom. The little gift bag of lavender was a really nice touch to the start of a stay in Provence. There was no noise from other guests or the street and I loved the little votive candles all over the stairways. The breakfast was amazing, from the various different silver tea and coffee pots to the very generous servings. We were served fruit salad, fresh juice, yogurt, pastries and different breads, loads of jam, coffee or tea with lots of milk available. A perfect way to start the day. We were not rushed or hurried and the settling was lovely. Thank you for a lovely stay, we will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank TandGTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2007

Stayed here July 10-12, in Quetzalcoatl suite with wife and 14 year old son. After climbing narrow steep stone steps, we entered a wonderful room overlooking the narrow street. The large bedroom was a little dark, but the bathroom was huge - although an included shower instead of just a bath would be helpful - and there was a separate sleeping area for our son. A locking door and gate led to the super terrace where it was nice to sit and enjoy a glass of wine in peace and quiet. Watch out for the mosquitoes if you sleep at night with the door to the terrace open with the gate locked - our son was eaten alive! Air conditioning is a good alternative at night to sleeping with the outside door open. Jean Michel is a wonderful host, graciously serving a good continental breakfast, which you let him know the evening before when you would like it. Both the coffee and hot chocolate are excellent. Please note that unless arrangements are made in advance to prepay, payment upon check-out is in cash. La Banasterie is very accessible to all the sights in Avignon, with nothing more than a 10-15 minute walk away. Two days was too short a time to really see the town, and we would be thrilled to return to both Avignon and La Banasterie.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank pallen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2007

I stayed at La Banasterie with my wife and fifteen year old son.
The building itself is charming and is in a very central location on a quiet side street, with restaurants within a one-minute walk (good ones too!).
The owners, Jean-Michel and Francoise make the old house even more atmospheric by lighting the stairs and halls by candlelight at night. They were extremely pleasant and friendly hosts, always happy to give advice on where to eat, things to see etc.
Breakfast was delicious and was served in a beautiful room at the front of the house, to a quiet musical background.
The room itself was very clean and comfortable, had air conditioning and was furnished in a rustic style. More elderly or infirm visitors may have trouble getting up the stairs.
We encountered no problems at all, however and would recommend this guest house to anyone - in fact we have already done so.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank drjohnChichester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2007

My husband and I stayed at La Banasterie for 8 days in early June. I would return in a heartbeat. The hosts were exceptionally attentive without being intrusive. The breakfast (hot chocolate/hot tea, lovely yogurt, fresh fruit, butter croissants & jam) was perfect. Our room was terrific and spacious. The bed was really comfortable, the shower in the bedroom was delightful. The ambiance is lovely - antiques, velvet curtains, etc.

La Banasterie offers the perfect blend of quaint furnishings, charm, and comfort. If you are looking for a Holiday Inn experience - this will not be for you. If you are looking for a warm, rich, personal experience in comfortable surroundings, please book here.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank LizaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2007

My husband and I stayed on the third floor bedroom in the annex. The room was dark and not a particularly pleasant environment. Some of the furnishings were makeshift. For example, the "nightstands" are two folding chairs with portable lights clipped onto the backrest. One of the lights had a short in the wire and kept turning off. The cleaning was not good. We found several dirty articles of clothing from a previous visitor in the bottom of our closet. Our breakfast table was never washed. Also, the basket of breakfast foods was a good idea but our room was so unpleasant we ended up feeling like Cinderella banished to the attic for meals. We much prefered other bed & breakfasts on our trip that had a little more human contact and a lighter, more pleasant environment.

But safety was the biggest draw back. All the windows are either sealed closed or covered with bars so there is no escape if there is a fire that blocks the narrow, three-story spiral staircase to the front door. As is true in most French rooms, you need to use a key to lock and unlock your door and the front door to the building, and there are no visible smoke alarms or sprinkler systems. Everything is set up for disaster if your neighbor smokes in bed.

Note: if you have a rental car, don't try to drive it into Avignon's city center. Park immediately inside the city walls, near the Palais de Pape, for example.

In hindisight, I wish we had made Avignon a day trip instead a weekend event. Later, we went to Aix en Provence, which is ideally located for day trips to Cassis, Marseille, Avignon, the Luberon, the lilac fields and the Gorge de Verdon. There is a wonderful bed & breakfast in Aix called Pavillion de la Torse ([--]), run by an American woman and her French husband. It ihas large, spacious rooms, beautiful gardens, and hosts who offer the perfect balance of friendliness without being intrusive. The 6:30 cocktail hour each day where all the guests planned their next adventures or discussed the events of the day was something we enjoyed alot and will remember fondly for a long time.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank csgc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#5 of 68 in Avignon
1,653 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel d'Europe
Hotel d'Europe
#3 of 68 in Avignon
808 reviews
5.4 km away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Aux Augustins
Aux Augustins
#2 of 56 in Avignon
271 reviews
0.4 km away
Autour du Petit Paradis
Autour du Petit Paradis
#4 of 56 in Avignon
386 reviews
3.4 km away
Domaine de Rhodes
Domaine de Rhodes
#3 of 56 in Avignon
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Banasterie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Banasterie

Address: 11 rue de la Banasterie, 84000, Avignon, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Avignon
Price Range: $162 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first B&B in Avignon (created in 2001), La Banasterie is a beautiful 16th century residence, 50 meters from the Pope's palace and two steps from the Pont Saint-Benezet which is one of the most romantic places in Avignon.With chocolate, red ochre or Naples yellow colored walls, the Guest House La Banasterie offers 2 rooms and 3 suites with refined decor, appreciable comfort and 2 apartments with full kitchens.We have a library, internet lounge with computer and free acces and depending on the rooms you choose, a shaded terrace, balcony or a patio with fountain.La Banasterie is a warm atmosphere, accentuated at night by the lights and candles you can enjoy comfortably in armchairs and sofas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your La Banasterie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Banasterie Hotel Avignon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing