We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (339)
Filter reviews
339 results
Traveller rating
238
74
12
9
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
238
74
12
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspope's palacebed and breakfastthe palais des papessitting roomlittle touchesold buildingspent nightsroof terracecentury buildingperfect locationevery morningdinner reservationsfirst floortop floorminute walknice breakfastseparate toilet
Filter
Updating list...
182 - 187 of 339 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2007

My wife and I spent several lovely days in Avignon at La Banasterie. We were in town for a wedding and La Banasterie was a three minute walk to the festivities. The guest house was beautifully decorated - an oasis of calm so close to the main strip.

Breakfast was very good - fresh breads and croissant with tasty spreads, etc. - the perfect way to start the day.

Free internet access was greatly appreciated.

Our hosts went out of their way to be helpful and accomodating, even making a last-minute trip to the train station to return several forgotten items.

Overall it was a wonderful experience and I highly recommend it.

Stayed: September 2007
2  Thank drews347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 19, 2007

We booked this B&B after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor and were not disappointed. The booking process went well and the instructions to the car park and directions to the hotel were clear. We arrived a lot later than expected due to an issue on the freeway and Jean-Michel actually phoned us to see where we were. When we finally arrived he was very polite and gracious and gave us advice on where we might be able to find a good restaurant at that time of night.
The room was very romantic, spacious and well appointed. It goes without saying that it was clean, the bed comfortable, great towels and it had everything you needed in the bathroom. The little gift bag of lavender was a really nice touch to the start of a stay in Provence. There was no noise from other guests or the street and I loved the little votive candles all over the stairways. The breakfast was amazing, from the various different silver tea and coffee pots to the very generous servings. We were served fruit salad, fresh juice, yogurt, pastries and different breads, loads of jam, coffee or tea with lots of milk available. A perfect way to start the day. We were not rushed or hurried and the settling was lovely. Thank you for a lovely stay, we will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank TandGTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 7, 2007

Stayed here July 10-12, in Quetzalcoatl suite with wife and 14 year old son. After climbing narrow steep stone steps, we entered a wonderful room overlooking the narrow street. The large bedroom was a little dark, but the bathroom was huge - although an included shower instead of just a bath would be helpful - and there was a separate sleeping area for our son. A locking door and gate led to the super terrace where it was nice to sit and enjoy a glass of wine in peace and quiet. Watch out for the mosquitoes if you sleep at night with the door to the terrace open with the gate locked - our son was eaten alive! Air conditioning is a good alternative at night to sleeping with the outside door open. Jean Michel is a wonderful host, graciously serving a good continental breakfast, which you let him know the evening before when you would like it. Both the coffee and hot chocolate are excellent. Please note that unless arrangements are made in advance to prepay, payment upon check-out is in cash. La Banasterie is very accessible to all the sights in Avignon, with nothing more than a 10-15 minute walk away. Two days was too short a time to really see the town, and we would be thrilled to return to both Avignon and La Banasterie.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank pallen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 4, 2007

I stayed at La Banasterie with my wife and fifteen year old son.
The building itself is charming and is in a very central location on a quiet side street, with restaurants within a one-minute walk (good ones too!).
The owners, Jean-Michel and Francoise make the old house even more atmospheric by lighting the stairs and halls by candlelight at night. They were extremely pleasant and friendly hosts, always happy to give advice on where to eat, things to see etc.
Breakfast was delicious and was served in a beautiful room at the front of the house, to a quiet musical background.
The room itself was very clean and comfortable, had air conditioning and was furnished in a rustic style. More elderly or infirm visitors may have trouble getting up the stairs.
We encountered no problems at all, however and would recommend this guest house to anyone - in fact we have already done so.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank drjohnChichester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 30, 2007

My husband and I stayed at La Banasterie for 8 days in early June. I would return in a heartbeat. The hosts were exceptionally attentive without being intrusive. The breakfast (hot chocolate/hot tea, lovely yogurt, fresh fruit, butter croissants & jam) was perfect. Our room was terrific and spacious. The bed was really comfortable, the shower in the bedroom was delightful. The ambiance is lovely - antiques, velvet curtains, etc.

La Banasterie offers the perfect blend of quaint furnishings, charm, and comfort. If you are looking for a Holiday Inn experience - this will not be for you. If you are looking for a warm, rich, personal experience in comfortable surroundings, please book here.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank LizaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews