We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (339)
Filter reviews
339 results
Traveller rating
238
74
12
9
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
238
74
12
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspope's palacebed and breakfastthe palais des papessitting roomlittle touchesold buildingspent nightsroof terracecentury buildingperfect locationevery morningdinner reservationsfirst floorthe heart of the cityminute walktop floornice breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
97 - 102 of 339 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I return to Provence year after year, and each time I stay at LaBanasterie in Avignon. It must be one of the most uniquely charming places I have stayed at in France. The proprietors, Jean Michel and Francoise are both all you would wish for when you are travelling -- warm, pleasant, helpful -- so that you feel you are staying in their personal care, not just in a hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Spent 6 wonderful nights at la banasterie. Charming and comfortable room and sitting area, lovely breakfast, extra perks such as chocolates, wine, and lavender sachets made us feel special. Our host was gracious and very helpful. His assistance in English was a bonus. Perfect location within the walled city as it is right behind Palais de Papes. Highly recommend it; would definitley stay again.

Room Tip: Our room was small yet very lovely. We had use of a lovely sitting room when we wanted to relax at the end of the day.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rhonda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

We've usually preferred small hotels to B&Bs, so we were eager to try something new. We stayed in the Saõ Tome suite, which was quite spacious for three adults. A generous breakfast (included) was served in the room. The property is located on a quiet street very close to the Palace of the Popes and many excellent dining options. Parking in Avignon is a challenge, but the underground pay lot at the palace was most convenient. Owner Jean-Michel's warm hospitality made our three days at La Banasterie a very pleasant experience, and we recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RCJAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Wonderful stay at la banasterie . Jean Michel was very helpful booking tours at the last minute. Perfect location and charming accommodations. Nice breakfast, chocolates, and lavender sachet at night. Would definitely stay again,.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Peggy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I stayed at La Banasterie for 6 nights in September 2012, 4 nights by myself and 2 additional nights when my daughter joined me. The area where the B&B is located is old, charming, and close to the Pope's Palace. Jean Michel was extremely with local recommendations, and we were able to take a small 8 person tour to surrounding villages. Highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews