We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, helpful host”
Review of La Banasterie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Banasterie
Ranked #9 of 56 Avignon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2015

We had 5 lovely days/nights at LaBanasterie. The rooms are 'different' so if you are looking for a traditional 'boring' room, look elsewhere. We found our room very comfortable - actually had two rooms. True, no elevator, we were only one level up so not bad for luggage. While we were there, the weather was rather cool, but the temperature in the room/house was very comfortable.

Our host was always available, got restaurant reservations for us each night, made great suggestions and was most helpful with taxi or train information and directions. Breakfast is traditionally European, i.e., not hot, no eggs/bacon, etc, but plentiful - coffee is good too. You don't go to Europe to act/live like USA but to enjoy other cultures.

The location is convenient for all the sites and just walking around, with many lovely small eateries nearby.

All in all, an excellent stay- no complaints.

Room Tip: Check bathrooms, ours had walk in shower, but not all do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank judy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (323)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 323 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2015

We are a USA based tour operator and book France accommodations regularly - this property fell very short of our expectations and we will not book our clients here again. This is a 2 star accommodation at best. We have tried on several occasions to contact the hotel to discuss our concerns and they have not replied. The location is good but that is about it - the owners are not on the property so there is no one on hand if needed. Upon check in there was a staff member available but this person could not speak any English and could not assist with any questions on the area, suggestions on attractions or provide any guidance at all.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank WePlanUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanMichel84, Propriétaire at La Banasterie, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2015

your comment is not fair ! I was not at home for 3 nights during the stay of your clients for personal reasons but there was my son who speaks fluently english and my assistant who speaks english too, I told you by mail how to reach my B&B and said tell your clients "don't enter in the city , it's difficult to drive , go directly to the parking , 60 meters from La Banasterie" maybe you forgot to tell them, they enter in town and everybody can reach me because I stayed with them 20 minutes by phone guiding them when there were in their car, they arrived tired and nervous. They aspect an hotel with lift, room service and found a guest house, they did't like it and you ask me to give you back the money!! Sorry but they stay 2 nights, they have to pay, it 'll be to easy spend 2 nights in an hotel or B&B without paying anything. I didn't give you back the money and now you post a naughty comment! "I" am very disappointed !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2015

As we have done for a number of years, we relied on a well-regarded and established travel author. I could not have been more disappointed in both the author and the property. La Banasterie is referred to in he following manner "...this oh so pretty B&B...is owned by gregarious chocolate lovers ...and their candy-fueled passion permeates throughout. The traditionally decorated rooms are named for varieties of chocolate and decadent cups of cocoa are offered at bedtime. The indulgent breakfast alone (included in the rate) makes this spot unmissable. Note there is no elevator".

Here's my take:
1). The property is historic but I could not call it pretty.
2) The "gregarious owners" were nowhere to be seen during our two night stay. We were greeted by a befuddled woman who could not muster up even one map upon request. She had no tourist information. Nothing. Never offered to help with sightseeing. She did make us a dinner reservation. Three of the four people in our party got food poisoning from that experience.
3) I saw not one piece of chocolate during our entire stay and was never offered even a bad cup of cocoa...never mind a decadent cup.
4) Breakfast was ok but not indulgent by any standards. Tea in pretty pots, a small pot of fruit, lots of bread. Yogurt that had not been in a refrigerator for a bit so I didn't venture to try it.
5) There should be a warning about the "no elevator" status that should read....individuals who have ANY physical limitations should avoid this B&B....the steps are narrow and winding. An athlete would be challenged schlepping bags up those stairs, especially to the third floor.

We were given the room Criollo. I stand 5'5" tall and had to duck to avoid hitting my head when I entered the bathroom. My husband could not stand up straight in the bathroom except for the section immediately under the sky light (which btw didn't open). The bathroom lighting was so dim I wondered what I actually looked like once out in the public domain. The room was so small and claustrophobic that the only term that comes to mind is a garret. I felt like an incredibly poor poet from several hundreds of years ago. There was nothing even remotely pleasant about the room. There was a deck/patio that third floor residents got to share. Thank goodness for that or we would have felt even more trapped. Unfortunately the patio was not terribly well maintained (half dead plants) mixed with a plethora of plastic plants.

Incredibly disappointed.

Room Tip: Avoid the room Criollo at all costs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank kellyfields22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2015

Our family of 4 enjoyed 2 nights in this pleasant, quaint B&B. Very good for families (space wise) but recognize you are not getting all the amenities (e.g. elevator, a/c in each room) of a modern hotel. Right around the corner from the Palace of Popes, good restos and main square. Gives you a very good Avignon experience. The proprietor was very helpful with recommendations and service, and served an excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank UCCDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2015 via mobile

İf, like us, you dont like to stay at modern hotels without any soul, this is a perfect little hotel with 8 rooms in the heart of old Avignon. literally few steps away from Palais de Papes... Building is from eighteen hundreds, decorated accordingly. Different than anything you might have seen before . Owner's nephew Maxim is a fine young gentilmen, very helpful with everything, speaks good english.
Overall, we liked it very much

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Zeynep A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2015

This is an excellent hotel really close to the Popes' Palace but set in a very quiet location. Although our room might be considered a little quirky, we thoroughly enjoyed our 4-night stay and Michael is an ideal host. Breakfasts are delicious. We would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a hotel with a difference, not part of a chain, and set in an ideal location.

Stayed: June 2015
Thank 979AndrewB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2015

The location was great. It was in the heart of the city and close to the Papal Palace. There is no parking near by. You also have to look hard for the door or you might miss the place altogether. The interiors were ok just a little dark and clutter for our taste. The breakfast was adequate. The host's son was helpful upon our arrival with suggestions for restaurants. They have Wifi in the room which as a great plus. We also really enjoyed the fact that they had an Apple computer where we charged our dead Iphone and Ipad. No shower just a tub with hose etc. I like cats but my husband is allergic to them so that was not a good thing. Plus the little fellow sat in the first floor courtyard and meowed in the morning. We stayed 3 nights and think only 1 night would of left us with a better impression. Perhaps we should of stayed in a different room? We stayed in the Guanaja. They have adequate AC in the room.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanMichel84, Propriétaire at La Banasterie, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2015
Google Translation

Merci pour votre commentaire. Les remarques sont toujours positives mais je m'étonne de votre surprise car toutes les informations concernant la chambre Guanaja et sa salle de bains , le parking du Palais des Papes à 50 m puisque sur le site internet à la page accès vous avez toutes ces informations. vous auriez dû préciser que votre mari était allergique aux chats. Un hôtel traditionnel avec un lobby et non une maison d'hôtes à l'image de ses propriétaires vous aurait peut être mieux convenu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#5 of 68 in Avignon
1,654 reviews
5.4 km away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
0.4 km away
Hotel d'Europe
Hotel d'Europe
#3 of 68 in Avignon
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
La Mirande Hotel
La Mirande Hotel
#8 of 68 in Avignon
438 reviews
0.4 km away
Aux Augustins
Aux Augustins
#2 of 56 in Avignon
272 reviews
0.4 km away
Autour du Petit Paradis
Autour du Petit Paradis
#5 of 56 in Avignon
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Banasterie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Banasterie

Address: 11 rue de la Banasterie, 84000, Avignon, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Avignon
Price Range: $166 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first B&B in Avignon (created in 2001), La Banasterie is a beautiful 16th century residence, 50 meters from the Pope's palace and two steps from the Pont Saint-Benezet which is one of the most romantic places in Avignon.With chocolate, red ochre or Naples yellow colored walls, the Guest House La Banasterie offers 2 rooms and 3 suites with refined decor, appreciable comfort and 2 apartments with full kitchens.We have a library, internet lounge with computer and free acces and depending on the rooms you choose, a shaded terrace, balcony or a patio with fountain.La Banasterie is a warm atmosphere, accentuated at night by the lights and candles you can enjoy comfortably in armchairs and sofas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Banasterie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Banasterie Hotel Avignon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing