We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (339)
Filter reviews
339 results
Traveller rating
238
74
12
9
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
238
74
12
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspope's palacebed and breakfastthe palais des papessitting roomlittle touchesold buildingspent nightsroof terracecentury buildingperfect locationevery morningdinner reservationsfirst floorthe heart of the cityminute walktop floornice breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 339 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2016

Host welcomed us with a drink upon arriving then helped us with our luggage upstairs. We had 3 rooms in our apartment and felt comfortable during our stay. Decor throughout the house is stylish including the breakfast room. The air conditioning was a bonus as it was very warm when we were in Avignon. The only negative point about the house would be the narrow stairs leading up to the rooms, making things difficult for older guests.

Room Tip: Room on 2nd floor facing Rue Labanasterie
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Rosemarie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 1, 2016 via mobile

Although the hotel is a bit old, but the decoration is really fashion and modern!

Hotel host is warm and lovely, he know that's my honeymoon trip, he bought me maroon and marshmallow!! And he treat me the Rose champagne as well!!

Meanwhile, he helped me for reserving table for dinner everyday and he recommend his favourite cuisines to us as well!!

That's so touching which he asked the cuisine to give me a surprise dessert, I'll never forget it!!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Oilypig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 16, 2016

Don't be put off by the the fact that is easy to walk unknowingly straight past the entrance, once the front door is open it is a complete wow. The place is built up of various small 16th century spaces, each one a different size and level on 3 stories all surrounding the ground floor patio which is open to the sky. Several of the rooms (ours included) had their own terrace looking down to the patio. This alone makes the hotel interesting but the icing on the cake is the decor which is clever, creative and seriously tasteful right down to the art books in the lounge! Tanguy, the proprietor, was friendly, polite and very helpful as well as English speaking. The only warning I would make is that, given the age of the building, the stairs are quite narrow and twisty and could prove a little difficult for older people. We will almost certainly come back at some point and wouldn't hesitate to recommend La Banasterie to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank myreco2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 22, 2016

La Banasterie is a wonderful, atmospheric old house, nestling in a pretty street that runs inwards from Avignon's ancient town walls. In my view, the location was perfect – it is not on top of the busy, rather touristy Rue de la Republic area, but is still nearby, just a few minutes' walk, so you can reach all of the sights like the Popes' Palace (only 50m away) very easily. It is also handily placed for arrival from the TGV railway station, only a short cab ride. La Banasterie is very tastefully decorated, and looks almost like it has been set up for a magazine photo shoot. Its layout is rather like a North African riad, in that there is a small central courtyard and fountain, and there are comfortable sitting rooms where you can relax with a glass of wine and one of the excellent complementary pastries thoughtfully set out by the discreet but very friendly owners. Tanguy gave us a very warm welcome, with a glass of wine on arrival, and he couldn't have been more helpful in recommending and booking a couple of excellent restaurants, both very nearby. A note for older travellers: La Banasterie is a very old building, and it does have some quirky staircases – nothing ridiculously difficult, but if you have mobility issues, you should discuss the choice of room with Tanguy. It's quirkiness is one of the reasons for staying there. Our room was at the top of the house, and we had the use of a small terrace with sun loungers, reached via a separate staircase. An excellent breakfast and coffee, and the entire house is very comfortable and spotlessly clean.
One final point. I was very dismayed to see the previous review of La Banasterie, that marked it 'terrible'. It highlights the dangers of writing a review more than a year after a stay: La Banasterie subsequently changed hands, and the review is therefore not only seriously out of date, but entirely wrong. It is also particularly unfair to the new owners, who are clearly working extremely hard to provide guests with the best possible experience. I can't wait to go back...

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank alongden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 19, 2016

I didn't know 5 days could pass so agonizingly slowly! We stayed here in May of '15, and are only now able to write about it. We had been led to expect to be hosted by a charming couple; instead, we had their surly son. The moment he would catch sight of us , he'd immediately disappear from view The house cat, in fact, was friendlier. Our room, a suite on the 2nd floor, felt more like a dungeon. It was dark, dirty (the daily cleaning service seemed to stop at the first floor), and the bath/shower was a dangerous nightmare, in which the only safe solution was to sit in the tub and use the hand spray. I can guarantee that remaining unwashed is the better option. There was never any opportunity to meet or mingle with other guests, as our morning food was left outside our door. Security was minimal: there was a key for our room, which we were instructed to hang beside our door on the way out! We couldn't wait to leave----.

Room Tip: We would advise any potential guest to avoid this property completely
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Eleanor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews