We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique with a real sense of history”
Review of La Banasterie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Banasterie
Ranked #8 of 56 Avignon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 September 2016

My sister and I stayed here for 3 nights in September 2016. We loved it, as did the other guests we spoke to during our stay. The house retains a basic 16th century layout (obviously with some modifications) and it's clear that some reviewers find that difficult but we found the narrow staircases, quite dark rooms and the thought and care that's gone into the decor fascinating and atmospheric - it's relaxing, welcoming, highly individual and totally in keeping with the beautiful surroundings of medieval Avignon (the papal palace is only 5 minutes walk away). Our host was kind and attentive without being intrusive. The French breakfast was excellent - if only I'd eaten more! I wish all B&Bs could be as special as this.

Room Tip: This hotel has very steep narrow stairs. If that's a problem, ask for a room lower down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (323)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 323 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2016

Host welcomed us with a drink upon arriving then helped us with our luggage upstairs. We had 3 rooms in our apartment and felt comfortable during our stay. Decor throughout the house is stylish including the breakfast room. The air conditioning was a bonus as it was very warm when we were in Avignon. The only negative point about the house would be the narrow stairs leading up to the rooms, making things difficult for older guests.

Room Tip: Room on 2nd floor facing Rue Labanasterie
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Rosemarie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

Although the hotel is a bit old, but the decoration is really fashion and modern!

Hotel host is warm and lovely, he know that's my honeymoon trip, he bought me maroon and marshmallow!! And he treat me the Rose champagne as well!!

Meanwhile, he helped me for reserving table for dinner everyday and he recommend his favourite cuisines to us as well!!

That's so touching which he asked the cuisine to give me a surprise dessert, I'll never forget it!!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Oilypig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2016

Don't be put off by the the fact that is easy to walk unknowingly straight past the entrance, once the front door is open it is a complete wow. The place is built up of various small 16th century spaces, each one a different size and level on 3 stories all surrounding the ground floor patio which is open to the sky. Several of the rooms (ours included) had their own terrace looking down to the patio. This alone makes the hotel interesting but the icing on the cake is the decor which is clever, creative and seriously tasteful right down to the art books in the lounge! Tanguy, the proprietor, was friendly, polite and very helpful as well as English speaking. The only warning I would make is that, given the age of the building, the stairs are quite narrow and twisty and could prove a little difficult for older people. We will almost certainly come back at some point and wouldn't hesitate to recommend La Banasterie to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank myreco2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2016

La Banasterie is a wonderful, atmospheric old house, nestling in a pretty street that runs inwards from Avignon's ancient town walls. In my view, the location was perfect – it is not on top of the busy, rather touristy Rue de la Republic area, but is still nearby, just a few minutes' walk, so you can reach all of the sights like the Popes' Palace (only 50m away) very easily. It is also handily placed for arrival from the TGV railway station, only a short cab ride. La Banasterie is very tastefully decorated, and looks almost like it has been set up for a magazine photo shoot. Its layout is rather like a North African riad, in that there is a small central courtyard and fountain, and there are comfortable sitting rooms where you can relax with a glass of wine and one of the excellent complementary pastries thoughtfully set out by the discreet but very friendly owners. Tanguy gave us a very warm welcome, with a glass of wine on arrival, and he couldn't have been more helpful in recommending and booking a couple of excellent restaurants, both very nearby. A note for older travellers: La Banasterie is a very old building, and it does have some quirky staircases – nothing ridiculously difficult, but if you have mobility issues, you should discuss the choice of room with Tanguy. It's quirkiness is one of the reasons for staying there. Our room was at the top of the house, and we had the use of a small terrace with sun loungers, reached via a separate staircase. An excellent breakfast and coffee, and the entire house is very comfortable and spotlessly clean.
One final point. I was very dismayed to see the previous review of La Banasterie, that marked it 'terrible'. It highlights the dangers of writing a review more than a year after a stay: La Banasterie subsequently changed hands, and the review is therefore not only seriously out of date, but entirely wrong. It is also particularly unfair to the new owners, who are clearly working extremely hard to provide guests with the best possible experience. I can't wait to go back...

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank alongden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2016

I didn't know 5 days could pass so agonizingly slowly! We stayed here in May of '15, and are only now able to write about it. We had been led to expect to be hosted by a charming couple; instead, we had their surly son. The moment he would catch sight of us , he'd immediately disappear from view The house cat, in fact, was friendlier. Our room, a suite on the 2nd floor, felt more like a dungeon. It was dark, dirty (the daily cleaning service seemed to stop at the first floor), and the bath/shower was a dangerous nightmare, in which the only safe solution was to sit in the tub and use the hand spray. I can guarantee that remaining unwashed is the better option. There was never any opportunity to meet or mingle with other guests, as our morning food was left outside our door. Security was minimal: there was a key for our room, which we were instructed to hang beside our door on the way out! We couldn't wait to leave----.

Room Tip: We would advise any potential guest to avoid this property completely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Eleanor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2016 via mobile

Charming, artsy, spacious, tucked away on tiny street in the old section. A wonderful sanctuary from the excitement of the city. There is a great sidewalk cafe just steps away. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. But being deep in the warren of narrow streets of the old city, don't even think of trying to drive there.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Chainring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#5 of 68 in Avignon
1,654 reviews
5.4 km away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
0.4 km away
Hotel d'Europe
Hotel d'Europe
#3 of 68 in Avignon
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
La Mirande Hotel
La Mirande Hotel
#9 of 68 in Avignon
438 reviews
0.4 km away
Aux Augustins
Aux Augustins
#2 of 56 in Avignon
272 reviews
0.4 km away
Autour du Petit Paradis
Autour du Petit Paradis
#5 of 56 in Avignon
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Banasterie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Banasterie

Address: 11 rue de la Banasterie, 84000, Avignon, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Avignon
Price Range: $162 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first B&B in Avignon (created in 2001), La Banasterie is a beautiful 16th century residence, 50 meters from the Pope's palace and two steps from the Pont Saint-Benezet which is one of the most romantic places in Avignon.With chocolate, red ochre or Naples yellow colored walls, the Guest House La Banasterie offers 2 rooms and 3 suites with refined decor, appreciable comfort and 2 apartments with full kitchens.We have a library, internet lounge with computer and free acces and depending on the rooms you choose, a shaded terrace, balcony or a patio with fountain.La Banasterie is a warm atmosphere, accentuated at night by the lights and candles you can enjoy comfortably in armchairs and sofas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Banasterie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Banasterie Hotel Avignon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing