We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$131
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$123
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Ibis Budget Avignon Centre(Avignon)(Great Value!)
US$54
US$48
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
US$98
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel de l'Horloge(Avignon)
US$145
US$121
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Le Magnan Hotel(Avignon)(Great Value!)
US$95
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$131
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa(Le Pontet)
US$252
US$211
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Garlande(Avignon)(Great Value!)
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 34% below average rates

The price you found is 34% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$118/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (335)
Filter reviews
335 results
Traveller rating
236
72
12
9
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
236
72
12
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspope's palacebed and breakfastsitting roomthe palais des papeslittle touchesold buildingspent nightsroof terraceperfect locationcentury buildingevery morningdinner reservationsfirst floorminute walktop floornice breakfastseparate toilet
Filter
Updating list...
182 - 187 of 335 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2007

Stayed here July 10-12, in Quetzalcoatl suite with wife and 14 year old son. After climbing narrow steep stone steps, we entered a wonderful room overlooking the narrow street. The large bedroom was a little dark, but the bathroom was huge - although an included shower instead of just a bath would be helpful - and there was a separate sleeping area for our son. A locking door and gate led to the super terrace where it was nice to sit and enjoy a glass of wine in peace and quiet. Watch out for the mosquitoes if you sleep at night with the door to the terrace open with the gate locked - our son was eaten alive! Air conditioning is a good alternative at night to sleeping with the outside door open. Jean Michel is a wonderful host, graciously serving a good continental breakfast, which you let him know the evening before when you would like it. Both the coffee and hot chocolate are excellent. Please note that unless arrangements are made in advance to prepay, payment upon check-out is in cash. La Banasterie is very accessible to all the sights in Avignon, with nothing more than a 10-15 minute walk away. Two days was too short a time to really see the town, and we would be thrilled to return to both Avignon and La Banasterie.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank pallen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 4, 2007

I stayed at La Banasterie with my wife and fifteen year old son.
The building itself is charming and is in a very central location on a quiet side street, with restaurants within a one-minute walk (good ones too!).
The owners, Jean-Michel and Francoise make the old house even more atmospheric by lighting the stairs and halls by candlelight at night. They were extremely pleasant and friendly hosts, always happy to give advice on where to eat, things to see etc.
Breakfast was delicious and was served in a beautiful room at the front of the house, to a quiet musical background.
The room itself was very clean and comfortable, had air conditioning and was furnished in a rustic style. More elderly or infirm visitors may have trouble getting up the stairs.
We encountered no problems at all, however and would recommend this guest house to anyone - in fact we have already done so.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank drjohnChichester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 30, 2007

My husband and I stayed at La Banasterie for 8 days in early June. I would return in a heartbeat. The hosts were exceptionally attentive without being intrusive. The breakfast (hot chocolate/hot tea, lovely yogurt, fresh fruit, butter croissants & jam) was perfect. Our room was terrific and spacious. The bed was really comfortable, the shower in the bedroom was delightful. The ambiance is lovely - antiques, velvet curtains, etc.

La Banasterie offers the perfect blend of quaint furnishings, charm, and comfort. If you are looking for a Holiday Inn experience - this will not be for you. If you are looking for a warm, rich, personal experience in comfortable surroundings, please book here.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank LizaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 24, 2007

My husband and I stayed on the third floor bedroom in the annex. The room was dark and not a particularly pleasant environment. Some of the furnishings were makeshift. For example, the "nightstands" are two folding chairs with portable lights clipped onto the backrest. One of the lights had a short in the wire and kept turning off. The cleaning was not good. We found several dirty articles of clothing from a previous visitor in the bottom of our closet. Our breakfast table was never washed. Also, the basket of breakfast foods was a good idea but our room was so unpleasant we ended up feeling like Cinderella banished to the attic for meals. We much prefered other bed & breakfasts on our trip that had a little more human contact and a lighter, more pleasant environment.

But safety was the biggest draw back. All the windows are either sealed closed or covered with bars so there is no escape if there is a fire that blocks the narrow, three-story spiral staircase to the front door. As is true in most French rooms, you need to use a key to lock and unlock your door and the front door to the building, and there are no visible smoke alarms or sprinkler systems. Everything is set up for disaster if your neighbor smokes in bed.

Note: if you have a rental car, don't try to drive it into Avignon's city center. Park immediately inside the city walls, near the Palais de Pape, for example.

In hindisight, I wish we had made Avignon a day trip instead a weekend event. Later, we went to Aix en Provence, which is ideally located for day trips to Cassis, Marseille, Avignon, the Luberon, the lilac fields and the Gorge de Verdon. There is a wonderful bed & breakfast in Aix called Pavillion de la Torse ([--]), run by an American woman and her French husband. It ihas large, spacious rooms, beautiful gardens, and hosts who offer the perfect balance of friendliness without being intrusive. The 6:30 cocktail hour each day where all the guests planned their next adventures or discussed the events of the day was something we enjoyed alot and will remember fondly for a long time.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank csgc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 10, 2007

This is one of the best places I have ever stayed, it was perfect. I stayed in the annex in the Mancerina apartment which is decorated in reds and yellows. There was lots of space, the living area was great for lounging around in, it had two sofa type things as well as a table and chairs. The tiled bathroom had a big deep bath, and the bedroom a queen sized bed. The owners couldn't have been more helpful, they recommended restaurants and gave us lots of information about the city. The breakfasts were exceptional, croissants, pain au chocolat, breads and flasks of amazing hot chocolate. The whole experience was fantastic.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Morelos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews