We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not take your children to this place”
Review of Le Jardin du Mas

Le Jardin du Mas
Ranked #3 of 51 Restaurants in Biot
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed August 10, 2018

When we entered the restaurant we were told that our children were not allowed to leave the table once seated, the grass area was most certainly out of bounds. Our children were very well-behaved and did not leave the table as required, however they were a little too noisy for this restaurant. The waiter told us that we need to keep the children more quiet. Anyone with children will know that hungry five-year-olds are not easy to keep quiet. The food was good yet a little expensive for what it was certainly not the fine dining food you would expect from a top-class London restaurant for example. A little style over substance and certainly not enough tolerance. There was three families in total and we all left so angry that one member of the family felt he had to call the restaurant to let them know how unwelcome they had made us feel. The owner of the restaurant replied if you don't like our rules don't come to the restaurant. A really nice guy! I think they should consider not catering for families with children.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Vince M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDM-Biot, Directeur général at Le Jardin du Mas, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2018

Dear M. Vince,
Thank you for taking the time to write this nice comment. After you threatened us to write a bad comment on TripAdvisor (how elegant), we were expecting something meaner. So thank you! :)

First of all and very important : we do not blame the children, we blame the parents.
When we asked you to keep the children at your table, it was mainly for security reasons (we have a swimming pool, a waterfall, stairs etc.) as you were the first customers. So there was no one to be bothered by the noise - at first.

Please understand that we work hard to create a relaxing atmosphere and offer a peaceful experience to our customers.
When we asked you (not only the children but also the parents) to talk a bit more softly, you took it very personally and started to be unkind - almost rude - with the staff. It was not an attack at all and it was not because you had children. It was only because your table was too noisy for the customers sitting next to you.

Last but not least, please note that your children shattered two handmade glasses and broke a vintage pepper grinder. We also had to clean hundreds of small pieces of paper on the floor. We do not believe that "well-behaved" children and responsible parents would do something like that.
We didn't force you to stay. You said we shouldn't have accepted your table : but how are we supposed to predict such a bad behavior? You might ignore it but some families know exactly how to behave in restaurants without disturbing other customers.

To conclude :
1) We are sorry that you felt offended when we asked you to keep the children quiet
2) We are very sorry that we still need to have this kind of conversation with some parents - please do not bring your children in places were they won't feel comfortable :)

Have a nice summer.
Le Jardin du Mas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 243 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2018 via mobile

We spent a lovely evening next to the pool. The food was excellent. We took the octopus and the pata negra and they were both delicious.

We found a wine we love (Le chemin de mouscou)... uhm.

The staff was nice. They accepted us late (10pm).

The only thing we could complain for was the bred which was to dry.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank legreg79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 24, 2018 via mobile

Came with my wife for dinner.
We had trip advisor recommendation.
The place is beautiful and quiet. The atmosphere is nice.
Very good restaurant

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Eybiis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 15, 2018 via mobile

Lunch after long drive this place was recommended by our local host, nice place good service, definitely visit again

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Sturla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 28, 2018

After reading the review we were expecting a very nice experience for our taste buds... we were a group of 7 and were all mostly DISAPOINTED with her appetiser and Main, I had the lamb I can honestly say that I cook it better...their ''Mas'' cocktail is a real rip off...its a big raspberry ice cube with some proseco on the top...it coast 14 euros, and its served with very little proseco for that price and the fruity ice cube is so big that you are left with it, it does not taste anything special.

the setting is quite nice, but I would not recommend this place if you are looking for great food...there are better places around Mougins...

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Jardin du Mas also viewed

Biot, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Biot, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Biot, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Biot, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Biot, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Antibes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Le Jardin du Mas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing