We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (441)
Filter reviews
441 results
Traveller rating
298
90
37
7
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
298
90
37
7
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnarrow streetsjunior suitemedieval villagehaut de cagnesbeautiful roombeautiful hotelfairy talethe hotel staffstunning viewsmobility issuessmall carsrestaurant terraceold world charmpicasso suitenespresso machinelower townhotel entrance
Filter
Updating list...
141 - 146 of 441 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2015 via mobile

Chateau Le Canard is simply lovely! The road to get there is, as the other reviews stress, treacherous to say the least. We were in a smart car and *just* fit through the winding street. However the staff at the hotel are extremely nice and accommodating. We didn't call to have them help with the car but no doubt they would have been exceptionally helpful had we called. On the way out an employee helped get us out by running in front of the car to stop oncoming traffic from entering the drive. All in all just getting there is an experience!

Upon arrival the lady in the lobby was so warm and inviting. She seemed so happy to be there and beamed as she showed off the hotel. It's oozing with old world charm but doesn't feel run down or like it's trying too hard.

The room was spacious and clean. The bed was INCREDIBLE. the most comfortable bed I perhaps have ever slept in. The location just close to the town square is fantastic. You take one or two turns from the back of the hotel and you're in the square with great restaurants and beautiful views.

We were there on a Friday night in August. The lady who helped us in the lobby encouraged us to go to the square for dinner as there is live music on Friday nights. It was amazing and immediately became one of our favorite nights of a 8 night vacation in the south of France.

One minor thing - it's unclear whether the lift is just for bags or if people can use it too (our bags were brought up to the room in the lift while we were shown to the room by stairs - unclear whether we took the stairs so that we could be shown the hotel or if the lift is only for bags). We were on the third floor and walked throughout our stay. If you're less mobile and require using an elevator I would confirm in advance that there is an elevator for guests and not just bags.

All in all, so happy we found this gem and think you get a lot for a very reasonably priced hotel.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank DATMAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grégory C, Directeur d'exploitation at Chateau Le Cagnard, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2015
Google Translation

Cher ALMTAD

Tout d’abord merci infiniment d’avoir pris le temps de partager votre expérience au Château le Cagnard, nous sommes plus que touchés par ce commentaire élogieux.

Il est vrai que notre voiturier est à la disposition de nos clients, afin de faciliter l'arrivée et le départ dans les rues très étroites du village médiéval.

Ce fût un plaisir de vous accueillir dans notre Etablissement comme vous l'a démontré notre personnel, nous mettons tous en œuvre pour que votre séjour soit le plus agréable possible.

En espérant vous compter parmi nos plus fidèles clients et vous accueillir de nouveaux très prochainement.

Bien chaleureusement.

Grégory Cousaert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 25, 2015

Difficult to get to, but worth it! The Picasso Room was like having our very own apartment...beautifully appointed and romantic all in one. Great breakfast selection. Atop the village are some very quaint charming restaurants, one of which is a Michelin Star must!!! Not as much shopping atop the village, like Eze, but plenty below.

Room Tip: Picasso is the best room
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mandy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 24, 2015

So our trip to the Le Cagnard, though short was a memorable one. The quaint little address proved to add to its character... first impressions count...

My first was getting there... a lot of hustle and bustle... the team there was gearing up to our untimely arrival...pick up from Restaurant point A or Point B were being discussed for our guests... Having been there over 4 days... to me it really didn't matter as both points were equally challenging to get to... So a pick up for a first timer guest in Cagnes sur mer could be arranged at either point without a hassle.

Lovely welcome drink ! Sophie served us with a warm smile.

We booked out the entire property for a couple of nights for my brothers wedding ... so step by step... the breakfast spread was good, however being an Indian wedding with early risers, could have started an hour earlier....

Not much could be done about the rooms, due to the way they were structured, however a Concierge/ Butler/ Reception/Operator - could be better equipped and be available maybe for a longer duration... be better trained at handling queries (not Sophie though - She was spot on)

Transportation to and fro from the property was a bit of a hassle, as having to move large amounts of guests, some elderly was a challenging feat... The team was a mix of part time and full time staff, some required training, better not to be put front of the house, some were spot on, so was a bit up and down....

Coming from the same industry... attitude is everything... some of the younger more inexperienced staff, could be a better idea not to have them up front dealing with guests... temperament being a skill, that must be mastered prior to facing a guest in any situation or circumstance....

Enough with the criticism now with the kudos .... So some of the team, shone ! Meaning the lady at breakfast though a little stressed dealing with 10 different indian tea/milk concoctions always maintained a pleasant smile and was diligent all through our trip...Thank you.

Sophie at the Front desk... Oh boy were her hands full, one could make out she was an old timer, but a staunch one at that... She was spot on day in and day out, maybe one could recommend having her around overtime :) As her attitude, initiative and helpfulness was infectious !

The Housekeeping team - Had the rooms ready and super clean - the unsung heroes who we never get to meet - Thank you !

Mr. Gregory Cousaert - Oh boy I can't say enough, Ive been an Operations Manager at a point in my life, however he did a fabulous job, was around most of the time, to help out whether it was the bar, the restaurant, loading the cars with luggage. He was polite, well mannered, on the ball and handled some really stressful situations with grace and ease.

Must tell you we Indians are super demanding lot when travelling and are super sensitive as well, Gregory walked a thin line, making sure all was in order, the team functioned, the show went on. 2 Occasions when he outdid himself was one travelling to Alissas home, he volunteered to drive a lot of us there,and the other, on our last day, he helped load my families luggage in the car, got super soaked as it was raining, but never ceased to impress by having a pleasant demeanour - these 2 occasions were not in the average Operations Managers job description, but he went above and beyond the call of duty and obliged with a smile, was truly appreciated. He even offered me a cigarette :) An appropriate stress buster at the point in time :)

Now the star of the show - PETER ! My oh my... I would not be able to describe enough, what a great man he was. First impression a bit up and down, however through the 4 days. PETER was around to help with luggage during check in and check out. He drove us to and fro every day, morning and night. He did over 20 trips a day for us,manoeuvring though Cagnes sur mere super tiny streets, never banged the car once in our 4 days there, valet parked our car a couple of times a day. Peter is Le Cagnards knight in shining armour ! I mean he was spot on, smiling, chatting, not frustrated, super levels of energy, such a pleasant attitude, dealing with such difficult guests and circumstances. Not one day did Peter loose his cool and his job managing expectations was, I tell you, was not an easy feat ! Peter was so good with our elderly guests, my grand mothers my grand aunts, all the elderly folks were super impressed ! He made my life so much easier and never once was expecting any sort of recognition - just doing his job diligently !

Peter one day Ill hire you myself if I can afford to :) Stay well ! Hope your family enjoy their vacation to the US ! The next time I'm there, would love to try some of your BBQ - it looked delicious ! Your a good man Peter - Thank you for everything !

We are so grateful to the team at Le Canard for bending over backwards. Weddings are not an easy affair ! Indian weddings far more challenging than any other! Thank you so much for a job well done ! Do get in touch if you ever wish to visit the Andaman Islands find me on Facebook ! Id be happy to accommodate and assist wherever possible !

To the pretty young General Manager :) Thank you so much we had such an amazing time and it wouldn't have been possible without your help and your teams assistance. I look forward to visiting you someday in the future and will recommend more friends your way.

Look forward to our paths crossing ! An open invitation to India whenever you'd like.

Best Wishes & Regards,

Aman Sabherwal.
amans@outlook.com

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank TheArdentTraveller81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grégory C, Directeur d'exploitation at Chateau Le Cagnard, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2015

Dear TheArdentTraveller81

First of all, we thank you for this comment.

We can’t find our words to tell you how your message make us happy. We know how is difficult to organize a weeding, the best day in a life

We tried to do our best to help you, to make this day just amazing.

It’s not just a work for us, we love our job, it was a pleasure to welcome you for the weeding of your brother.

Hoping to see you soon in Château le Cagnard

Best regards.

Grégory Cousaert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 21, 2015

This is a charming location but needs to improve its customer service pronto. From the start had to call repeatedly to determine what kind of room was available and the answers from the various staff at reception were very vague until,the day we arrived and got an average room. It was small but comfortable with very good quality linen. The wifi is non existent and service at breakfast poor which did not encourage us to try the restaurant for dinner. Parking is also an issue due to lack of space but no guarantees that your car will be safe in the public parking below the village.

Room Tip: Supposed to have wifi but it does not work
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wombatina4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grégory C, Directeur d'exploitation at Chateau Le Cagnard, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2015

Dear Wombatina4

First of all, thank you to take the time to write this commentary.

We are sorry to read that you are not satisfied about our service.

All our room are differents, and we try to do the best to satisfy our guest, giving them a room as they have asked at the reservation, but you can understand, that when we are fully booked, it's difficult to have the choice.

Concerning the wifi, we had some problem with the connexion cause o a big storm few day before your arrival, we called the company and they fixed the problem.

I understand your feeling about our breakfast, and you can be sur, that we changed ouur organisation and our buffet to improve this point.

All parkings we advise to our guest are secure, one is just near the police station, and under video surveillance, the second one, is totally closed, so totally secure.

We hoping to welcome you again in our Hotel and to show you how it’s could be nice to stay at Château Le Cagnard..

Best regards.

Grégory Cousaert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 19, 2015

Lovely hotel up in Haut Cagnes. However, some basics not right- like a missing curtain and poor breakfast (even by French standards). Good location, but not good value. Staff generally helpful, but one or two grumpy moments and a chauffeur service delivered using a filthy battered old car. All rather odd.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Travelasitreallyis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grégory C, Directeur d'exploitation at Chateau Le Cagnard, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2015

Dear Graham M,

First of all we thank you to your comment, i am sorry to read, and you be sure that all meusures are taken so that the services of Le Cagnard are to meet the expectations of our customers.

Hoping to welcome you one more time to show you how it could be amazing to have some holidays at Château le Cagnard

Best regards.

Grégory Cousaert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews