We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but not the friendliest concierge.”
Review of Le Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Grand Hotel
Ranked #14 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 16 October 2017

Good hotel in great location. Not much service but thats okay for most people. Concierge seems to hate their job.. more or less is like i do it for the salary. That said, I would still recommend this hotel due to its impeccable location - close to shops, restaurants, and global blue VAT . Train station is under 10 minutes walk where you could take a day trip to Monte Carlo. If budget is not too big of an issue, make sure you book the one facing the habour . The "city view" room is not pleasant but it is a matter of budget.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rockchic2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback further to your stay with us.
We are glad to read that you enjoyed our hotel and its location. However, we have taken good not of your comment about an unusual attitude you noticed, this is not representative of the quality of service we use to provide.
We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (579)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 579 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2017

The decor is tres 70s but very nice. The large expanse of greenery in front makes this hotel outstanding. A very nice terrace for relaxing. There are residences at the grand and the best spots seem to be reserved for them. Rooms are very large and comfortable. The usual hotel amenities in the bathroom. Too many in fact that take up limited shelf space for your own stuff. The staff Are friendly and helpful. Room service is too expensive but there are better options a short walk away. Recommendations: hooks in the bath and closet to hang things, a coffee maker and boilerplate make a simple cup of coffee or tea. For the price these are typical in the better hotels I've stayed in (Intercontinental, Fairmont, Pebble Beach e.g.)

Room Tip: High floor and water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MapleAveCrowd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest,

Thanks for this very kind review.
It's a pleasure to read that your enjoyed your stay and our services. However, I have taken good notes of your recommendations, it helps us in our continuous improvement approach.
Hoping to see you back soon,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

Excellent hotel excellent staff the Jaqueline room was beautiful the suite was ideal to see all if cannes I would recommend this hotel to everyone. Just a slice of luxury . I previously stayed in the Martinez which is lovely too however this room was amazing as was my sisters toom on the 11th floor simply wonderful

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank lucyloumawdesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for this wonderful review and your recommendation!
Hoping to see you and your sister back soon.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

Welcome personal, good service, nice room, good atmosphere, excellent location, nearby beach, the one hotel which has garden, during the evening piano music in the bar, flowers in the lobby, quick service upon arrival.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ирен С
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you so very much for your feedback.
We are delighted to read that you truly enjoyed your stay, it's a great feeling for us !
We hope to see you back soon,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

excellent rooms and a balcony with sea view.
breakfast an absolute rip off so went to one of many little cafés round the corner.
beach is advertised as part of hotel but it seems to be a money grabbing affair where you get the back ranks and poorest chairs and can pay up to e80 pppd!
very poor

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aristotle45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thnak you for your time sharing your recent experience.
We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel.
Unfortunately you seem disappointed with the private beach and we very much regret that you found the prices too high. The price of 80 euros for a sunbed is in fact for 2 people and corresponds to a large bed for 2 on the pier. There are indeed the more expensive ones, but in september, prices are from 16 euros.
Despite this, we hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back should you come to Cannes.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

Le Grand Hotel commands a great location on the Croisette so choose a seafront balcony room (on a higher floor) to enjoy it to the full. The rooms with town views won't give you a true sense of being in Cannes. The beach bar is both friendly and fun, with better than average beach food and lively service in front of one of the best sea views in Cannes. The retro-style bedrooms are comfortable and well-equipped, stocked with Bulgari bath products. The gastronomic restaurant offers a very creative choice of menus but if that feels too formal then bear in mind that the good-value BeefBar (on the beach) serves a steak and sushi-based menu and is open in the evening, serving street food too. Anyone who calls the hotel over-priced should judge it by its rivals on the Croisette and realise that it is absolutely in line with Cannes standards in a similar bracket, and that all Cannes prices are high because the destination is in demand all year-round. As for style, the look is retro, which might not be to everyone's taste, but it is "soft" retro and certainly not shabby. Le Grand also boasts the biggest gardens on the Croisette, which adds a charming touch and helps it stand out from its rivals. In short, all the luxury hotels on the Croisette offer something different and Le Grand is up there with the best - if you're looking for a luxury garden and beach hotel with dramatically different dining options and helpful staff.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms with sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

Dear Madam,

It's been a real pleasure to read your feedback further to your recent stay, I wouldn't have expected a better one! Thank you for your time.
We will be delighted to welcome you back for another visit in Cannes,

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

Very surprised this was chosen as an SLH property. Shabby and overpriced. Be sure you aren't being charged in advance for beach use that you didn't request! Bathroom needed more thorough cleaning. Streaks in tub and black stains around faucets. Cracked bedside lamp. Wallpaper peeling. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank LisaPepin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Dear Madam,

Further to your feedback, for which we thank you, we are very sorry to read that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us.
First of all I have checked your reservation in order to clarify why the beach was charged if you didn't requested it. It appears that you have booked a special package through SLH, called "Beach Escape" which includes the breakfasts as well as the sunbeds on the beach. We can provide you with the confirmation we have received should you wish to double check.
Then, regarding the defaults you mention in your room, I have asked the technical service to control the different points you have highlighted as this is not up to our standarts.
Once again I am sorry to read such a disappointment, please feel free to contact me should you wish to discuss this any further.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
0.3 km away
Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion
0.3 km away
InterContinental Carlton Cannes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#3 of 126 in Cannes
568 reviews
1.1 km away
Radisson Blu 1835 Hotel & Thalasso
0.1 km away
JW Marriott Cannes
JW Marriott Cannes
#15 of 126 in Cannes
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grand Hotel

Address: 45 boulevard de la Croisette | Bp 263, 06400 Cannes, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Cannes
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cannes
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#14 Family Hotel in Cannes
#17 Business Hotel in Cannes
#19 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
Price Range: $194 - $776 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true green oasis on the famous Croisette, the Grand Hotel enjoys a unique, exceptional setting. It is the oldest hotel on the Croisette and it has been completely revamped in 60s style. It is a haven of peace for epicureans. A drink in the bar "Le Cercle", lunch on the huge, spacious terrace or simply relaxing in your suite with its panoramic view of the bay. How good it is to stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Travelocity.ca, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Le Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grand Cannes
Hotel Le Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing