We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Amazing location, old hotel... nice staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez
Ranked #17 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Amazing location, old hotel... nice staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Ah, the Martinez. I travel to Cannes on business every year, and had never stayed there, but wanted to.. this year, threw caution to the wind (and used all of my Amex points). The staff let me check in early, upgraded my room to Ocean view. The room was very large by French standards, the balcony was lovely.
The hotel, though, is old. And some things were odd, no replacement of amenities, for one. Small, old towels (yes, it is France, but this is the Martinez!). The restaurant is not as wonderful as advertised!

Room Tip: Well, the view of the Med cannot be beat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cartlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,566 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    665
    434
    263
    113
    91
See reviews for
275
664
49
321
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

I stayed at that hotel for a week. It is well located and walking-distance to the most important places.
It is in front of the sea and 10min waling fron the city center.
The Room was big but not clean enought. I stayed at the 1st floor and i could listen the music from the bar at the ground

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Datravaler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
60 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

I traveled to the Martinez on business for the Cannes Film Festival in May 2011. At arrival (after traveling from the states and getting to Cannes at about 11p) I was informed that my room was not available, and that they would be putting me up at the Carlton for the night (this is despite being booked months in advance). I was informed that there was a computer error -- I later discovered that this was a fabrication, and that in reality, they had VIPs who decided to extend their stay "and they just couldn't kick them out." In any event the manager made up for this the next day by personally apologizing, sending a very expensive bottle of champagne and wine to my room, and giving me a hefty credit to be used at the restaurant and or spa. From there out, everything was flawless. Rooms are immaculately crisp, clean and large by european standards. Bar and restaurant were superb. Concierge had great non-touristy recommendations for dinner. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Snag a high-level sea view room if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kmh200886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biella
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

Excellent service, room a bit small and furniture not up to standard (hill view room) but certainly a very good buy when off season with the second room half the price and brakfast included.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rompini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

I stayed here for business one night.
Is this a 5 star hotel? Really?
Where are the stars?
Pretty poor quality of the room, no sound proofing, no temperature control.
Service? No turn down, no welcome amenities as requested by the fidelity program I am member of.
Overall, many improvement opportunities.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fedeati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nomad
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2011

This hotel redeems itself from the fact that it is not a five star hotel by providing great service. But then again one could stay at a B&B or a 3 star and receive good service so alas it does not justify the price.
The rooms are generous in size but old and worn. They are however clean. It is a large hotel so most of the rooms do not have a view of the ocean and unfortunately the majority look over the railway line at the back of the hotel.
The restaurant is OK, the gym is small but has a kinesics machine and various other techno gym equipment.
Ultimately would I stay again, probably not because one expects value for money. Be warned The Carlton is in a worse state of repair so avoid this one even more so.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SamsonNIte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2011

I stayed here for a few days and it was the prefect base to see Cannes and Monaco. The Hotel as it;s own private beach and it is centrally located for the best that Cannes has to offer.

During our stay we had the pleasure of meeting Sean Connery and I'm sure many other celebs stay here, as it is the perfect base for a weekend away.

Drinks are expensive, but service was good and overall I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph-Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cannes
0.3 km away
InterContinental Carlton Cannes
0.9 km away
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
1.5 km away
Radisson Blu 1835 Hotel & Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
JW Marriott Cannes
JW Marriott Cannes
#12 of 126 in Cannes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
1.0 km away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#2 of 126 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
24.9 km away
Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez

Property: Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez
Address: 73 boulevard de la Croisette, 06400 Cannes, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cannes
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cannes
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#23 Business Hotel in Cannes
#30 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
#32 Family Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez 5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the exclusive Boulevard de la Croisette, overlooking the Mediterranean Sea, the Grand Hyatt Cannes Hôtel Martinez is one of the most iconic hotels on the French Riviera. Built in 1929, this legendary Art Deco hotel has 409 elegant rooms and suites, including a 1 000sqm Penthouse suite with breathtaking views over the Bay of Cannes. Renowned for its exquisite gourmet cuisine, the Grand Hyatt Cannes Hôtel Martinez boasts a variety of restaurants including the only 2-Michelin star restaurant in Cannes. During summer, the iconic Zplage private beach offers a beach club with a large pier, a bar and a restaurant. Leisure and activities include a outdoor heated swimming pool, a spa and a fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and Hyatt Hotels Corporation so you can book your Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martinez Hotel Cannes
Hotel Martinez Cannes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing