We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez
Ranked #18 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Classy”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I spent 6 nights here whilst in Cannes for business and I really enjoyed the hotel. The staff are extremely pleasant and helpful, the building is beautiful and the interior has a great feel. Rooms are pretty spacious and facilities are good - great gym, spa for those inclined, nice restaurant and the location is beautiful.

You always get a good idea of what a hotel experience will be like at check-in, and mine was exceptional. After 30 hrs of travel from Sydney to CDG via AUH, then a cab from CDG to OLY and then from OLY to Nice (with a cab from Nice to Cannes) I was exhausted. I checked in 3 hrs before the scheduled check-in time (3pm) and they were completely accommodating. It made such a difference.

Really want to come back here in vacation mode not work mode! Ideally during an European summer not a frigid unseasonably cold Winter.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shepherdieu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,754 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    760
    477
    283
    132
    102
See reviews for
311
761
55
346
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Ah, the Martinez. I travel to Cannes on business every year, and had never stayed there, but wanted to.. this year, threw caution to the wind (and used all of my Amex points). The staff let me check in early, upgraded my room to Ocean view. The room was very large by French standards, the balcony was lovely.
The hotel, though, is old. And some things were odd, no replacement of amenities, for one. Small, old towels (yes, it is France, but this is the Martinez!). The restaurant is not as wonderful as advertised!

Room Tip: Well, the view of the Med cannot be beat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cartlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

I stayed at that hotel for a week. It is well located and walking-distance to the most important places.
It is in front of the sea and 10min waling fron the city center.
The Room was big but not clean enought. I stayed at the 1st floor and i could listen the music from the bar at the ground

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Datravaler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

I traveled to the Martinez on business for the Cannes Film Festival in May 2011. At arrival (after traveling from the states and getting to Cannes at about 11p) I was informed that my room was not available, and that they would be putting me up at the Carlton for the night (this is despite being booked months in advance). I was informed that there was a computer error -- I later discovered that this was a fabrication, and that in reality, they had VIPs who decided to extend their stay "and they just couldn't kick them out." In any event the manager made up for this the next day by personally apologizing, sending a very expensive bottle of champagne and wine to my room, and giving me a hefty credit to be used at the restaurant and or spa. From there out, everything was flawless. Rooms are immaculately crisp, clean and large by european standards. Bar and restaurant were superb. Concierge had great non-touristy recommendations for dinner. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Snag a high-level sea view room if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kmh200886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biella
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Excellent service, room a bit small and furniture not up to standard (hill view room) but certainly a very good buy when off season with the second room half the price and brakfast included.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rompini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2011

I stayed here for business one night.
Is this a 5 star hotel? Really?
Where are the stars?
Pretty poor quality of the room, no sound proofing, no temperature control.
Service? No turn down, no welcome amenities as requested by the fidelity program I am member of.
Overall, many improvement opportunities.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fedeati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nomad
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2011

This hotel redeems itself from the fact that it is not a five star hotel by providing great service. But then again one could stay at a B&B or a 3 star and receive good service so alas it does not justify the price.
The rooms are generous in size but old and worn. They are however clean. It is a large hotel so most of the rooms do not have a view of the ocean and unfortunately the majority look over the railway line at the back of the hotel.
The restaurant is OK, the gym is small but has a kinesics machine and various other techno gym equipment.
Ultimately would I stay again, probably not because one expects value for money. Be warned The Carlton is in a worse state of repair so avoid this one even more so.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamsonNIte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.9 km away
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
0.3 km away
InterContinental Carlton Cannes
1.0 km away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#3 of 126 in Cannes
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
JW Marriott Cannes
JW Marriott Cannes
#14 of 126 in Cannes
847 reviews
1.5 km away
Radisson Blu 1835 Hotel & Thalasso
0.9 km away
Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez

Property: Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez
Address: 73 boulevard de la Croisette, 06400 Cannes, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cannes
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Cannes
#16 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#23 Business Hotel in Cannes
#30 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
#32 Family Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez 5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the exclusive Boulevard de la Croisette, overlooking the Mediterranean Sea, the Grand Hyatt Cannes Hôtel Martinez is one of the most iconic hotels on the French Riviera. Built in 1929, this legendary Art Deco hotel has 409 elegant rooms and suites, including a 1 000sqm Penthouse suite with breathtaking views over the Bay of Cannes. Renowned for its exquisite gourmet cuisine, the Grand Hyatt Cannes Hôtel Martinez boasts a variety of restaurants including the only 2-Michelin star restaurant in Cannes. During summer, the iconic Zplage private beach offers a beach club with a large pier, a bar and a restaurant. Leisure and activities include a outdoor heated swimming pool, a spa and a fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martinez Hotel Cannes
Hotel Martinez Cannes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing