We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel, shame about some of the male staff!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Olivier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Olivier
Ranked #49 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, shame about some of the male staff!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2011

Loved the hotel, we had a cosy room on the ground floor, and could sit at the small
table just outside our room. It was so convenient for the beach too. One the whole the staff were wonderful, with the exception of one male staff member. We were out by the pool one day, and I went in and used the toilet in the hotel. On my way back to the pool, he asked me my room number, and why I chosen to use the hotel toilet. I asked him was there a problem, but immediately the lady on reception brushed him aside and said everything was fine!! I felt his comments intrusive and that I was being spied on. There were also too many rules and regulations, what a shame!!.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fishing241247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    57
    19
    5
    7
See reviews for
33
90
11
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2010

This is a three star, nothing more, nothing less. The staff is very nice and helpful.
For those who care about the interior: Traditional design, or should I say old fashion. Definitely stuck in the 90s, and it is a bit worn down, but clean. If you don´t mind the litle hill up through the old city, the hotel has a good location. Close to everything.
Free WiFi, but very slow. E.g. too slow for video.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stoff74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2010

I spent a week with my girlfriend at the hotel Olivier.

It was really, really nice. The owners are really friendly and helpful.
The hotel is beautiful, clean and very well located.

A nice place to stay in Cannes ^^

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheunen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2010

This is a family-run hotel in the heart of Cannes. We stayed here and enjoyed the quaint, French Provence-style decor, outdoor pool and its proximity to the beach, restaurants and shopping. The hotel employees are courteous and accommodating. Plus, with wi-fi we were able to stay in touch with family and friends in the US. We loved our time and highly recommend it to folks!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bohn_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2009

The Hotel has a lot of good things going for it - clean, central, near beaches but too many crazy rules to make it a good Hotel. Rules galore about not eating by the pool or in your room. Notices about checking out before 11 am as you check in. No interaction from owners or staff (apart from being told off). Breakfast was rationed. They only put out 3 croissants at a time - you had to be quick off the mark or wait. A poor affair for 12 euro. Be prepared to pay an extra 3euro/day for a pool towel!
Being near a busy road you did hear traffic when by the pool but the rooms were soundproofed and not a bit noisy. The aircon worked well.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AberdeenBod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelolivier, Propriétaire at Hotel Olivier, responded to this review, 1 August 2011
Hello, thank you for your comment, we regret that no kitchen in the rooms that is why we are a hotel and not a tourist home, actually we do not accept sandwiches by the pool (you can eat it or you buy the concern is that if someone does, do not stop after that) telephone marketing as well as in rooms to prevent damage to carpets and fabrics telephone marketing as well as the arrival of ants and other insects. Regarding the buffet, there are a will with orange juice, white bread, wholemeal bread, brioche, ham, cheese, laughing cow, butter, various jams, Nutella, yogurt, corn flakes, cereal, fruit salad and everything it at will. The check out is 11 am the day of departure
best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannes hotels
1.1 km away
Ideal Sejour Hotel
Ideal Sejour Hotel
#12 of 126 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Belle Plage
Hotel Belle Plage
#43 of 126 in Cannes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
1.8 km away
Clarion Suites Cannes Croisette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Golden Tulip Cannes Hotel De Paris
1.6 km away
Hotel Chateau De La Tour
Hotel Chateau De La Tour
#17 of 126 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
1.1 km away
Best Western Plus Cannes Riviera & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Olivier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Olivier

Property: Hotel Olivier
Address: 5 rue des Tambourinaires, 06400 Cannes, France
Region: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Olivier 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Olive is located in the old town of Cannes said Suquet, 50 meters from restaurants, 300 m from the beach and the old port and 900 meters from the Palais des Festivals, the hotel has a private parking on site, a swimming pool, free wifi, a summer garden and conservatory ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Olivier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing