We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with friendly staff”
Review of Ruc Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ruc Hotel
Ranked #31 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
Tallinn, Estonia
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with friendly staff”
Reviewed 17 August 2010

Great and very cozy hotel, with small but nice rooms and comfortable beds.
We've got room with french balcony and lovely view to hotel's patio.
All toiletries in bathroom were from local perfumery named Fragonard and the quality was really impressive.
WiFi was missing all the time of our stay, but there was some technical problem which they promised to be fixed.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deeedl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    66
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
6
59
10
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 September 2009

This is a wonderful boutique hotel. Great clean rooms, amazing staff and the owner is an 86 year old delight. Merci, Madame!! Everything about this place is perfect. It is nestled in a residential area, but within walking distance to the train station, the beach and all the shops of Cannes. For now on, we will call Ruc Hotel home while we are in Cannes.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mle24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2009

I thought this hotel was better than expected based on the price. It is one of the cheapest 3 star hotels you'll find in Cannes so I wasn't expecting much but I was pleasantly surprised. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The decor is old-fashioned and not the most appealing but I really don't care what the decor looks like... It doesn't affect my opinion on a hotel. When I first entered the room I thought it looked a little dingy but as I walked around, I found that it was clean. The bed was comfortable and the rooms were tended to every day. The rooms aren't soundproofed but it was never too noisy. It is in a good location. It is only a 5 minute walk to the beach/restaurants/shops but it is not right in the heart of Cannes which makes it less noisy (no clubs around which is nice). I am planning on staying at this hotel again when I return to Cannes this summer. It is great value for the cost.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mk18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2009

We checked in for 4 nights and were honestly shocked the place was actually called A HOTEL! Looks more like a guesthouse since it is tiny and the reception staff were not profesionals. Had a twin room with barely enough space for luggage (good we didn't have much) and dust all over the shelves... It might be a common thing in France, but they use body soap sachets for hair too.. When I called to ask for some shampoo we just got more of the same stuff!:)
However, we did not ask for a room change and were not too bothered about it - You won't spend your time in the hotel after all - there is so much to do and see in Cannes!!!

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RutterflyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2008

We booked in to the Ruc Hotel for a week as we were attending a conference. We checked in and I must say the stafff were very helpful and friendly but that is the end of the good comments. Our room smelt was tiny and the bathroom was a complete disgrace. The decor was old with broken furniture throughly depressing. The room was dark and dirty. It was so bad we checked out the same day forfeting our deposit. The Ruc is in desperate need of renovation and redecorating. It should not be a three star hotel 1 star at best - backpackers quality. Also the photos availble on the net are nothing like the reality.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything- room decor appauling
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sazBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
1 review
Reviewed 16 April 2007

Went to Cannes Saturday till Monday, a last min dash as a friend of mine had spare tickets, our intention: to party. The Ruc hotel was lovely despite what you may read here.

The staff were very helpful and the little old lady is a treasure. We did not have breakfast here - we simply purchased food from the very near by supermarket (called 'Casino', litterally, walk down the lovely street and turn left). The staff were very nice about that - and even opened the balcony for us to eat. The balcony has fantastic views of Cannes. The downstairs garden is a nice place to relax aswell.

Ruc hotel is in an ideal location. Literally under 5 min walk to the bars and square. We came here on a budjet.

The hotel was clean, spacious, massive closet, clean bathroom. In room safe, TV with 14 channels etc. And good quality products in the bathroom for men and women.

For the money paid, the place is very good and in a great location.

If the Ruc isnt your kind of seen, then why not stay in the Ritz Carlton?!?!?!?!

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sg1471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2006

Went to Cannes for business and my secretary reserved a room for me in the Ruc.

The place is very old-fashioned (as is the staff).
I got a room in the "annexe" which was about 6m2, very poorly decorated, with a bed smell but without hotwater in the morning. Strangely the place got a free wifi connection.

Breakfeast, which is not free, is served in the dodgy basement of the hotel. A no thrill experience which is definitively not worth the money.

The only good thing about this hotel is the location not to far from the Croissette. However, I would choose ANY other location than this even though it means an extra walk or even involves renting a car!

  • Liked — Nothing really
  • Disliked — No hot water, dodgy staff and breakfeast
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't go there!
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank BlondParisian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Pruly
Hotel Pruly
#25 of 126 in Cannes
138 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Cannes Gallia
Hotel Cannes Gallia
#35 of 126 in Cannes
292 reviews
1.5 km away
Ideal Sejour Hotel
Ideal Sejour Hotel
#6 of 126 in Cannes
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Hotel Albert 1er Cannes
Hotel Albert 1er Cannes
#24 of 126 in Cannes
215 reviews
1.8 km away
Ibis Styles Cannes le Cannet
1.0 km away
Hotel Renoir
Hotel Renoir
#13 of 126 in Cannes
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruc Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruc Hotel

Property: Ruc Hotel
Address: 13 Boulevard de Strasbourg, 06400 Cannes, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ruc Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Logis RUC Hotel welcomes you for your stay in Cannes, in the department of Alpes-Maritimes on the Cote d'Azur. You will be seduced by this lovely house, combining tradition, calm and simplicity. Its 29 different rooms will ensure you a 4 stars hotel comfort and will make you breath tranquility and well-being. Indeed, you will be able to choose between a Superior Room, a Comfort Room or a Standard Room in the main part of the building, as well as rooms giving access to a little Mediterranean garden. The hotel also has a lounge bar, a buffet breakfast, a library space and a meeting room for 20 people. The Logis Ruc Hotel is ideally situated in the residential suburb << La Californie>> : 5 minutes away from "La Croisette", "La rue d'Antibes" (the commercial street), "Le Palais des Festivals et de Congres" and from beaches. A sportive resort with swimming pool and tennis is only 2 minutes away from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ruc Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing